We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Artist Residence Brighton
Ranked #3 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent boutique hotel”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I had a fabulous stay at the Artists' Residence. My room was superb (I was upgraded), the communal areas are really well kept - the standard of decor throughout is excellent. The cocktails in the Beach Bar are delicious, as was my breakfast (included). Only downside - the bar can be a bit noisy if you're trying to get an early night.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 646Jbolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtistResidenceTeam, Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear 646Bolton,

Thank you for your lovely review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast and one of the cocktails in our new Cocktail Shack. I apologise that you experienced a little noise during your stay but do hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.

Best Regards,

Amber, Chamane, Mel and The AR Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    700
    297
    50
    26
    21
See reviews for
142
603
46
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Great B&B this is our third stay and each time it gets better. Having gone through some refurbishment last time we were delighted with the improvements.
Rooms are quirky, breakfast in the new dining room is freshly cooked and the atmosphere, welcome and service second to none.
The new cocktail shack and small reading area is a brilliant new touch. Loved it so much have booked to go again in June.

Room Tip: try to get a sea facing room if you can with balcony - however really one goes to Brighton for the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtistResidenceTeam, Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Jane B,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our new additions to the hotel since your last stay. I hope that you had a chance to try one of our delicious cocktails in the new Cocktail Shack. We are looking forward to seeing you again in June.

Best Regards,

Amber, Chamane, Mel and The AR Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chalfont St Peter, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Stayed overnight following a family reunion in Brighton and so a very brief stay. We took 3 rooms which were all uniquely quirky and different. Rooms were clean, beds were very comfortable and breakfast was excellent. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtistResidenceTeam, Front Office Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Don M,

Thank you for your review.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at The Artist Residence. Hopefully you will be able to stay with us again in the future and for a little longer. Don't forget your 10% returning guest discount.

Best Regards

Amber, Chamane, Mel & The AR Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

As another reviewer said "It's about the people" and in this case they are excellent. My wife and I stayed together with my son and his fiancee on the weekend of the Brighton marathon. Both our rooms were quirky but well-appointed - in fact the whole hotel is quirky - and the youthful staff were always welcoming, attentive and helpful. The breakfast is excellent with interesting variations on the standard hotel fare. The hotel itself is in a quiet area but within easy walking distance of all the restaurants, shops and tourist areas and there is a handy underground car park directly opposite. My stepson joined us on the Sunday night and had a beautiful room with a sea view and has already booked to return with some friends for a concert. There are some minor issues. The lighting in some of the hallways needs improving for people, like me, of a certain age but you get the feeling that the staff are always on the look-out for ways that your stay can be improved. I hope they are as successful as they deserve to be.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martiand45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtistResidenceTeam, Front Office Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear martiand45,

Thank you for your wonderful review.

We are so happy to hear how much you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that your step son enjoyed the beautiful sea views, we are very lucky to be in such a beautiful spot.

Thank you for your feedback, as you said we are always looking for ways to improve the hotel further.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future and look forward to your step sons stay!

Best Regards

Amber, Chamane, Mel & The AR Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Pains me to write this as the vast majority of this B&B is excellent - the friendly staff, very cool decor, great food and coffee, location, bar, rooms, shower, art..... but sadly it really let's itself down when one tries to sleep. The noise is terrible! We heard every foot step above us, every foot step!, water trickling down the pipes in the walls and other guests rooms doors being open and shut. A real shame as purely based on this I will not stay again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank ben b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtistResidenceTeam, Front Office Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Ben B

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review.

We are pleased to hear that you have many positive things to say about The Artist Residence. We are very sorry to hear that you had some noise issues during your stay and can only apologise for the inconvenience. We are constantly making improvements to the hotel and take all comments on board.

Best Regards

Amber, Chamane, Mel & The AR Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I had a wonderful weekend in Brighton and much of it was because of this adorable boutique bed and breakfast. The decor in this hotel was lively and fun, the room decor was the same, and the breakfast was delicious and certainly not the ordinary breakfast you receive at such places. But what truly set this hotel apart was the customer service. Noami was so nice, taking the time to let us know what sites to see and giving us a tour of the hotel upon arrival (to include a sneaky peek of the in-house pub). Lastly, we did experience one minor issue; our radiator had an issue and we did not have heat during part of our stay. The hotel addressed the issue immediately and also provided us a credit on our bill which was extremely generous. We highly recommend the Artist Residence and will definitely be back.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank M Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtistResidenceTeam, Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear M Z,
thanks a lot for taking the time for writing us a review. We appreciate it very much. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and experienced a welcoming and helpful customer service.
We are very sorry about the small issue with the heating, we are looking into it. There are also additional heaters available, in case.
Hope to see you again soon, it was lovely to meet you.
Kind Regards
Noemi, Chamane, Mel and The AR Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We chose this hotel because it appeared quite quirky and different to our normal choice of mainstream chain hotels. We were not disappointed. I agree with another guest review that states it is more shabby than sheik but it really is quite charming and very unusual. We had a balcony room and the view was spectacular. The personal touch was apparent throughout our 3 day stay and we were treated very well. Nothing was too much trouble and service was second to none. The staff genuinely seemed to love working together and enjoyed making our stay special. The breakfasts were excellent too. Thank you AR team, our stay in Brighton was very memorable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtistResidenceTeam, Front Office Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Karen H,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay we have recently re vamped our breakfast menu- so we are very glad you enjoyed you breakfast!

We hope to see you again in Brighton or our sister hotel in Cornwall.

Best Regards
Mel, Chamane, Noemi and the AR Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.9 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
1,184 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
7,529 reviews
0.9 mi away
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Drakes Hotel Brighton
#4 of 44 in Brighton
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#12 of 44 in Brighton
1,340 reviews
0.8 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 44 in Brighton
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artist Residence Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artist Residence Brighton

Property: Artist Residence Brighton
Address: 33 Regency Square, Brighton BN1 2GG, England (Formerly Malvern Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Artist Residence Brighton 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fun and quirky rooms with imaginative design, featuring award-winning cocktail bar and two restaurants in a unique double-fronted townhouse hotel in the heart of Brighton. Located on the seafront in historic Regency Square this hotel is a 10 minute walk from Brighton train station. Dine at one of Brighton's best restaurants The Set, which features seasonal British tasting menu's, or opt for the more casual Set Cafe for a selection of small plates and craft beers. Each of the 23 guest rooms at Artist Residence are either individually designed by an artist or by the house and feature vintage and retro furniture, limited edition prints, graphic murals, flat screen TVs and en-suite bathrooms. Some rooms have sea views overlooking the West Pier. All rooms and communal areas have free Wi-Fi and there is also a ping-pong room which doubles as a meeting room. In addition to being a home-from-home and unique place to sleep, The Artist Residence serves as a gathering place and hub of community activity for locals and visitors alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Artist Residence Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artist Residence Brighton Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing