We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Artist Residence Brighton
Ranked #3 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The Artists Residence situated in Regency Square is a superbly run, very comfortable and terrific value for money. Our room was spotlessly clean with lovely crisp linen and a beautiful view over the sea. Breakfast is home cooked and excellent and the cocktail bar is a relaxing way to spend some time relaxing before hitting the many restaurants Brighton has to offer. If you want something a little different go there

Room Tip: Room 25 on the 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank KentWorldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtistResidenceTeam, Front Office Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear KentWorldtraveller,

Thank you so much for writing us a review.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We take great pride in our freshly cooked breakfast, so we are very happy that you enjoyed it.

We hope to see you again in Brighton or maybe in Artist Residence in Cornwall.

Best Regards
Mel, Chamane, Amber and the AR Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

668 - 674 of 1,134 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

Last minute booking, but a great find. Well laid out room with comfy bed to sink into. Municipal carpark just outside very convenient. Breakfast (included) delicious - i had the pancakes, other half had the mini English.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silverorlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtistResidenceTeam, Front Office Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Silverorlando,

Thank you very much for writing us a review.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and you found the bed comfortable.

We hope to see you again in Brighton or maybe Artist Residence in Penzance, Cornwall.

Best Regards
Mel, Chamane, Amber and the AR Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

I chose to stay here based upon TA reviews and having seen it star on Hotel Inspector with Alex Scritti Politti... It was the right choice!
From the helpful advice regarding car parking to the welcome in reception I stayed in a top (4th) floor room with a sea view and an amazing mural. The bar is friendly and serve a great selection of cocktails and beers.. Can't speak for the breakfast yet as I'm writing this the night before in a comfy bed with clean crisp bed linen. You won't be disappointed if you choose the Artist Residence :)

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Goonerguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtistResidenceTeam, Front Office Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear Goonerguy,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a lovely review.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in Brighton or Artist Residence in Cornwall.

Best Regards
Mel, Chamane, Amber and the AR Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

A unique spin on the usual seaside hotel recipe. Very friendly staff, excellent service, great tips on what to see and do. A big shout out to the brilliant cocktail bar which serves some tasty variations on the classics as well as some delicious new ideas.

It just feels like the perfect place to stay in Brighton.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graymaybe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtistResidenceTeam, Front Office Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Graymaybe

Thank you for writing us such a kind review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your cocktail's in our in house cocktail shack.

We hope to welcome you again should you be back in Brighton, don't forget the 10% returning guest discount.

Best Regards

Chamane, Amber, Mel & The AR Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Last minute i was asked to go to work on our anniversary so we had to book something for that night. I called AR and Mel answered and was more than accomodating. She made the whole booking very clear and welcoming and sounded excited to have us stay with them. When we got there there was a very cheery young lady on the front desk who showed us to our room and was very helpful when we asked for a bucket of ice for our bottle of wine. We stayed in Room 2 which was a king size balcony sea view room. It was just perfect! It was peaceful , there was tea and coffee in the room (and hot chocolate!) We went to the regents restaurant at the end of the street for dinner and the cocktail shack ( Next door) for a drink. In the morning the (mini full English) was just wow. Amber served us who was fab and the food unbelievable it was so fresh and tasty. We couldn't believe how nice the whole experience was. We would highly recommend this place, its a well looked after and such great energy. The rooms are so different and full of character.

Room Tip: Room 2 has a balcony overlooking the old pier! Beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ai0ke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtistResidenceTeam, Front Office Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Aioke,

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you visit us again in the future for another drink in the hotel's cocktail shack.

Best Regards

Marketa & The AR Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We had a brilliant stay here. The service was fantastic, and the reception were always able to give good recommendations for places to eat and drink, with directions. The breakfast was delicious and the quirky hotel cocktail bar was a lovely place to wind down after a day out sightseeing, with very knowledgable bar staff. The room was small but perfectly formed, and was very clean with great decor, I felt very at home there!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bekki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtistResidenceTeam, Front Office Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Bekki G

We are happy to hear your enjoyed your stay with us and your time in Brighton.

Hope to see you again in the future for another cocktail or two..

Best Regards

Chamane, Amber, Mel & The AR Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Love this little boutique hotel! Lots of charm! Our room was small, but the sea view def. made up for the room size! We had breakfast included in the price by booking the room directly with the hotel. The breakfast was a reinvented traditional english breakfast which looked/tasted amazing! Very friendly and helpful staff! We parked on the road just outside the hotel, which is free of charge from 8pm-9am.

Room Tip: We had the small room with sea view. I was fine for for 1 night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtistResidenceTeam, Front Office Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Fiona T

Thank you for your lovely review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you again in the future, remember your 10% returning guest discount, maybe you can try one of our larger sea view rooms next time.

Best Regards

Chamane, Amber, Mel & The AR Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.9 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,236 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
8,076 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Una
Hotel Una
#2 of 43 in Brighton
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Drakes Hotel Brighton
#4 of 43 in Brighton
1,041 reviews
2.2 mi away
Malmaison Brighton
Malmaison Brighton
#14 of 43 in Brighton
1,540 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#11 of 43 in Brighton
1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artist Residence Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artist Residence Brighton

Address: 33 Regency Square, Brighton BN1 2GG, England (Formerly Malvern Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Price Range: £90 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Artist Residence Brighton 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fun and quirky rooms with imaginative design, featuring award-winning cocktail bar and two restaurants in a unique double-fronted townhouse hotel in the heart of Brighton. Located on the seafront in historic Regency Square this hotel is a 10 minute walk from Brighton train station. Dine at one of Brighton's best restaurants The Set, which features seasonal British tasting menu's, or opt for the more casual Set Cafe for a selection of small plates and craft beers. Each of the 23 guest rooms at Artist Residence are either individually designed by an artist or by the house and feature vintage and retro furniture, limited edition prints, graphic murals, flat screen TVs and en-suite bathrooms. Some rooms have sea views overlooking the West Pier. All rooms and communal areas have free Wi-Fi and there is also a ping-pong room which doubles as a meeting room. In addition to being a home-from-home and unique place to sleep, The Artist Residence serves as a gathering place and hub of community activity for locals and visitors alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Artist Residence Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artist Residence Brighton Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing