We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect haven for creative minds! (& awesome staff!!)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Artist Residence Brighton
Ranked #3 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect haven for creative minds! (& awesome staff!!)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

I took my girlfriend down to Brighton for a few days for her birthday & as she is a designer we decided to book a room at Artist Residence.

We have stayed in some really stylish, beautiful hotels over the years & they all have one thing in common - attention to detail! Artist Residence was no different! Fantastic sense of style & with some wicked unique furniture & a great location to top it off.

The staff were absolutely on point with their service (in particular Chamane) & nothing was too much for them. I requested if they could get hold of some flowers & a cake to put in the room for when we arrived & of course they were both taken care of.

Finally, the breakfast was delicious (& great quality) - an excellent addition to booking with them directly.

I'm sure we will be back some time soon!

Matt & Nina

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank MBjumps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtistResidenceTeam, Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear MBjumps,

Thank you for taking the time to write us such a lovely review.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us in Brighton and hope that we can welcome you again in the near future. We are glad that you enjoyed the birthday cake!

Best Regards,
Amber, Chamane, Mel and the AR Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    660
    289
    46
    25
    21
See reviews for
132
571
45
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed at AR on 1st & 2nd August when we visited Brighton for my cousins wedding. The service is good and friendly with a cracking cocktail bar just next door. Excellent location in a pretty regency square, short walk from the main shopping area and far enough away from the noise of busy bars and restaurants. We stayed in room 22 which overlooked the back of the hotel so not the best view, the room was a small double but just big enough for what we needed. Decoration was great with quirky paintings and the most amazing tiles on the bathroom floor - I'm now trying to source some because I want them at home!!! Breakfast was excellent - good choice and cooked to order. Will definitely be staying again but will have a front facing, larger room with balcony.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yvette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtistResidenceTeam, Front Office Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Yvette S,

Thank you for writing us a review.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. The tiles in room 22 bathroom are rather lovely!

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Best Regards
Mel, Chamane, Amber and the AR Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We only stayed for one night but we really could not fault this hotel at all. It is in a convenient location, almost right on the sea-front, ten minutes easy walk to the lanes. The staff are all extremely friendly and helpful. There is a ping-pong room and cocktail bar as well!

We had a sea-view room with a balcony, which was big and comfortable, with a nice bathroom. The room was quite warm but you can ask for a fan if required - we actually didn't need to. The breakfast was really nice and we did not wait any longer than we would expect for food cooked to order.

We would definitely stay here again and you get 10% discount for return bookings. You also get breakfast included if you book direct with the hotel,

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gillynet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtistResidenceTeam, Front Office Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear gillynet1,

Thank you for writing us a review.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Brighton.

We hope to see you again in the future so you can make use of the 10% returning guest discount!

Best Regards
Mel, Chamane, Amber and the AR Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here on a Friday & Saturday night. My group of 4 had 2 rooms both very cool, clean with good quality bedding, towels, in room drinks & snacks (tea/coffee/chocolate/biscuits) and toiletries.
The cocktail shack in the hotel is a delight we drank beautifully made cocktails and really felt like we were on holiday with the shack feel and reggae beats.
Breakfast was great too with a good choice of quality food, coffee and juices.
The staff were lovely and everything just perfect!!! Thanks all for a fantastic stay :)

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank H15EVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtistResidenceTeam, Front Office Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear H15EVB,

Thank you for writing us a review.

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you sampled a few cocktails made in our Cocktail Shack.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon in Brighton or Artist Residence in Cornwall.

Best Regards,

Celia, Mel, Amber, Chamane & The AR Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights for Brighton pride weekend. Situated 10 mins walk from the center of town; close enough but also far enough away lol. Booked through online agent, no issues at all. Parked in underground secure car park directly opposite the hotel which cost £20 for 24hrs. Hotel cost £140 a night so about average for the area. Small boutique type hotel. Extremely clean with user cool interior design features. We didn't eat in we had other plans so can't comment on the food. Cocktail bar looked busy both nights and staff were friendly. Room was small but excellently decorated. Flat screen TV and free water, biscuits etc made it feel welcoming. I would agree with creaky floorboards from room above but considering the age of the building it's to be expected. Would highly recommend and would definitely stay again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank charrison77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtistResidenceTeam, Front Office Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Charrison77,

Thank you for writing us a review.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Artist Residence.

We hope to see you again in the future in Brighton or Artist Residence in Cornwall.

Best Regards,
Mel, Amber, Chamane and the AR Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

I was hear with two friends and we had a suite which could take up to six people with some funky, pull-down beds hidden into the wall and disguised with some nice reclaimed wood so you'd never know they were there. The place is located just 15 minutes walk from the train station/main town and a two minute walk to the beach, which the hotel overlooks. Another ten minutes further and you're on the famous pier. The service was warm, welcoming and informative. We asked for recommendations on a good, local, non-chain Italian and out came a map and directions, and they were spot on with their choice! The suite was stunning with everything you need, beds were comfy and the decor throughout was stylish yet cozy. The breakfast, which was included, was smart and delicious however with such a small kitchen and with a boutique style, we had to wait a long time for our food. Nevertheless, it was tasty once it arrived. We were also able to drop out luggage off early before check-in time, and were allowed to leave our luggage there after checking out so we didn't have to lug our cases around Brighton before our train home. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wooller84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtistResidenceTeam, Front Office Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Wooler84,

Thank you for writing us a review.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in the suite. We are sorry that you had to wait for your breakfast, we do cook everything fresh to order, so there can sometimes be a wait.

We hope to see you again in the future in Brighton or Artist Residence Cornwall.

Best Regards,
Mel, Chamane, Amber and the AR Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

We have recently returned from a lovely holiday at the Artist's Residence. The staff were lovely and very helpful, especially one lady who always was so very polite and helpful. We often stay at five star hotels and are used to good accommodation. The breakfast was so good! We enjoyed trying out most of the menu. We stayed at room 5 with very interesting paintings with a round bed. The view was great if you love the sea view and the hot water for the shower was excellent. The only thing that I would say is that the lift was out of order and after a long day of walking around the lanes it might be difficult for the less fit to climb up and down the stairs. We would without a doubt return again. The cocktail bar had some fab drinks, sometimes a bit confusing as to what time it closed.. supposed to be 11:00 but sometimes if no customers they would shut down earlier. and while we were on hols we also sat in the lounge area for an hour and was able to play board games and was brought a lovely cup of tea. Love this hotel you must stay.

Room Tip: We would choose a balcony room next time as they would have a great place to sit and look at the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtistResidenceTeam, Front Office Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Lynette R,

Thank you for such a lovely review. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed our service and most of all our breakfast menu.

We hope to welcome you back again soon to try a balcony room and hopefully when our lift is repaired.

Best Regards

Chamane, Mel, Amber & The AR Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.9 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,888 reviews
0.9 mi away
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Drakes Hotel Brighton
#4 of 44 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Una
Hotel Una
#2 of 44 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
My Brighton
My Brighton
#12 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artist Residence Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artist Residence Brighton

Property: Artist Residence Brighton
Address: Brighton 33 Regency Square, Brighton BN1 2GG, England (Formerly Malvern Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Artist Residence Brighton 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fun and quirky rooms with imaginative design, featuring award-winning cocktail bar and two restaurants in a unique double-fronted townhouse hotel in the heart of Brighton. Located on the seafront in historic Regency Square this hotel is a 10 minute walk from Brighton train station. Dine at one of Brighton's best restaurants The Set, which features seasonal British tasting menu's, or opt for the more casual Set Cafe for a selection of small plates and craft beers. Each of the 23 guest rooms at Artist Residence are either individually designed by an artist or by the house and feature vintage and retro furniture, limited edition prints, graphic murals, flat screen TVs and en-suite bathrooms. Some rooms have sea views overlooking the West Pier. All rooms and communal areas have free Wi-Fi and there is also a ping-pong room which doubles as a meeting room. In addition to being a home-from-home and unique place to sleep, The Artist Residence serves as a gathering place and hub of community activity for locals and visitors alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Artist Residence Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artist Residence Brighton Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing