We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best hotel in brighton!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Artist Residence Brighton
Ranked #3 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2009

we stayed here after the london to brighton bike ride so just wanted to be looked after and relax and we felt totally cared for the whole time, the staff were lovely. This hotel was beautiful inside and out, you can see how much effort has been made to make this hotel unique in its art and decoration. for the duration of our stay we felt extremely well looked after, the food was fantastic! the concept of the hotel is brilliant, no two rooms alike, our room had a colonial indian theme with an enourmous bed and huge shower.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lightedded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,090 - 1,096 of 1,130 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2009

We had a long weekend here and will definitely be returning. The bedroom was small but well equipped, and had a balcony with lovely views that on a sunny day more than made up for the small room. The artworks all over the hotel were interesting and eyecatching, and definitely makes the place stand out. The staff were very helpful and friendly, and the location was extremely convenient for getting around Brighton.

Parking in the council car park opposite/underground was a bit of a nightmare, due to it being a weekend, but we avoided this by parking in the multistorey opposite Hove Town Hall (much cheaper & plenty of spaces) and got a bus to Preston St.

If you aren't intending to spend much time in your room, and don't need a luxury suite, Artist Residence is a good choice. If you prefer marble bathrooms and room to pamper yourself, this probably wouldn't be the place for you. It was perfect for us though.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank countrylass99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2009

This has to be one of the worst hotels I ever stayed in. Throughout my stay I didn't feel comfortable at all, the bed had broken springs, the carpets were old and stained, furniture was broken and the whole place just had a feeling of uncleanliness about it. The breakfast although acceptable was not good value. However the staff were pleasant and friendly and it was situated in convenient location.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate3990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2009

This place should NOT even be called a hotel!
It was the worst place I have ever stayed in all my life, the people that run the hotel are arrogant and rude and don't have a care in the world for the people that actually pay good money to stay in this hell hole! they take your money and you are left to sort out any problems you have on your own!
The place was grubby, falling apart and smelt!
They gave us tea bags, coffee and sugar but nothing to actually make a drink with, the mugs were brown and dirty, the sink and shower would block as soon as any water touched it and was then left, with no-one around to help with the problem!
Brighton is a great place to be but avoid staying at this hotel at all costs, the pictures only show the few good parts (if you could call it that) of the hotel!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paddy84London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2009

Brighton is a fabulous place to go to anyway, but my stay in artist residence brightened up my leisurely weekend in brighton immensely!!! The hotel is adorned with wacky and interesting objects and paintings, never running out of things to look at. The staff are very friendly, making you feel very welcome and relaxed and you could not ask for a better seaview overlooking brighton pier. I would definitley reccommend to stay here if you want something better than the norm, and instead want something refreshing and a bit different. also check out the exhibitions in the gallery on the main floor... i was lucky enough to see a printimaking exhbition displaed by 1st years at Brighton art college, and the standard was excellent!!!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charlieLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2009

Wonderful stay here! I decided to come visit on recommendation from a friend. He had told me there wasnt any where like it and I wasnt disapointed. There was art work everywhere on the stairs in the rooms. The separate art gallery was a nice touch too. The room was clean and I had a perfect view of the sea. This is definately one of the quirkier places I have stayed at in recent times. Great location too so Easy access to clubs! I was even allowed to bring my dog Bow bow.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vanillachance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2009

Had a great time down in Brighton, greeted very warmly by a friendly lady who went through our check in. Room was a little small, and I was slightly put off by the French doors into the bathroom - was not a problem as loo was in an alcove within the room and the shower was ample for our needs. We were on 4th floor up lots of narrow stairs which gave it a homely feel but were difficult to struggle up with luggage. TV worked ok and tea and coffee facilities were provided as promised. Towels large and fluffy. Room was clean but basic. Would recommend this hotel for those on a budget or who don't plan to spend much of the holiday in their room. Perfect as a place to crash out after a hard day or night in Brighton. Great location with lovely views.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s64a61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.9 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,229 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
7,960 reviews
0.9 mi away
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Drakes Hotel Brighton
#5 of 43 in Brighton
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Una
Hotel Una
#2 of 43 in Brighton
1,009 reviews
2.2 mi away
Malmaison Brighton
Malmaison Brighton
#14 of 43 in Brighton
1,516 reviews
0.8 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artist Residence Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artist Residence Brighton

Address: 33 Regency Square, Brighton BN1 2GG, England (Formerly Malvern Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Price Range: £92 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Artist Residence Brighton 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fun and quirky rooms with imaginative design, featuring award-winning cocktail bar and two restaurants in a unique double-fronted townhouse hotel in the heart of Brighton. Located on the seafront in historic Regency Square this hotel is a 10 minute walk from Brighton train station. Dine at one of Brighton's best restaurants The Set, which features seasonal British tasting menu's, or opt for the more casual Set Cafe for a selection of small plates and craft beers. Each of the 23 guest rooms at Artist Residence are either individually designed by an artist or by the house and feature vintage and retro furniture, limited edition prints, graphic murals, flat screen TVs and en-suite bathrooms. Some rooms have sea views overlooking the West Pier. All rooms and communal areas have free Wi-Fi and there is also a ping-pong room which doubles as a meeting room. In addition to being a home-from-home and unique place to sleep, The Artist Residence serves as a gathering place and hub of community activity for locals and visitors alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Artist Residence Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artist Residence Brighton Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing