We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The feel of the North Laine - with a sea view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Artist Residence Brighton
Ranked #3 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The feel of the North Laine – with a sea view”
Reviewed 10 November 2009

I stayed at this hotel after turning my nose up at a nearby hostel. I wanted something that would inspire me at a bargain price and it did just that.

The hotel was a wonderland of quirky and original art. Some of the artwork I found truly inspiring, some amusing, all of them surrounded me with colour and warmth. The hoteliers are artists themselves and were friendly and helpful.

The room I stayed in had a perfect view of the sea across Regency Square and it was a joy to stay in such an originally decorated room.

In the interests of a fair and objective review I must point out some minor flaws; breakfast was a bit basic (toast or cereal) and wi-fi and shower didn't work in my room (but there was a bath and the wi-fi worked downstairs).

But it comes down to what you are looking for in a hotel. If you expect everything to be functional and perfect, then an artist residence is probably not what you would be looking for anyway.

This is a wonderful, cosy retreat from the humdrum sterility of modern life and is a perfect complement to the feel of Brighton's North Laine – with a sea view.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GiulioSica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    677
    293
    48
    25
    21
See reviews for
137
583
45
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2009

The website is totally misleading. This is not a hotel, it is a HOSTEL. And a poor one at that. Artists Residence my [--]. For £85.00 a night this is a total rip off. The rooms are dirty. The carpet threadbare. The bathrooms filthy. The television didn't work. And the at is like a GCSE show. It reminds me of a squat but without the charm. Stay in a nearby b and b nearby for half the price. An awful place. Revolting.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank notthehotelinspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2009

We booked in and paid 80 pounds in advance, big mistake, we were given their "best room" After sitting in the room and realizing that the toilet is all but next to the bed which had a mattress that was born in 1955 and no one would ever get a nights sleep on it , we then checked their other rooms for a bed you could sleep on, they were all worse. We had been there for a total of 1 hour when we stated that we could not sleep there due to the mattresses and asked politely for a full or partial refund. We were smugly told that it was not company policy to give refunds, and flatly refused.The place is run like a uni drop in centre and anyone that thinks there is anything arty or clever in the decor is wrong- it's just cheap. Do yourself a favour stay at the Prince Regent 10 metres to the left, their best room is 3 times the size, proper ensuite, 4 poster Kingsize feather bed, freindly helpful hostess , 85 pound a night , sea views and parking at the back door for 5 pound a night, the other mob suggested we leave our car in the dubious public park for 12 pound a night.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank edmundadelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornwall
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2009

We knew what to expect from the website - eclectic bohemian and different. It was! Room was colourful - good furnishings comfy bed and clean. On the downside cheap towels and toiletries and one member of staff who was so laid back she was horizontal. The breakfast was truly horrible - cheap nasty bread and cereals with fruit juice charged as extra for £1. Friends stayed at other B & B's around the square all were superior giving full breakfasts - they were also cheaper. I love art, make jewellery, go to festivals and wasn't expecting a trouser press in the room. I was however expecting value for money, good food and staff who wanted to be there. The one exception was the girl who met us on the first night she was lovely and very apologetic that the television didn't work. Won't be going back !

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cornwalllass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2009

Despite being in a great location I would stear clear of this monster at all costs! The staff were as unhelpful and unfriendly as humanly possible. There was bottle tops and what looked like the monthly clippings from a hairdressers under our bed, along with god knows what else. The place cost over the odds per night, they tried to squeeze cash out of you at any opportunity. Breakfast was rubbish - the girl who was working there hid a carton of spar orange juice in the kitchen and would only give you a glass if you asked for it - otherwise it was squirreled away - at £120 a night I think that is tight!
Stay here at your own peril!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank honestgov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2009

I was a bit worried after I read some of the reveiws of this place, but was immediatly releived when we arrived. The staff were really firendly and welcoming. The place is like a wonderland. Our room was really nice - very ornate, a decent size, clean, really pretty, nice big shower, a big bright window, a comfy bed. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and I would definitely go again.

Don't book this place if you are after 5* luxury - it is unconventianal and bohemian and i think the bad reveiws are from people who weren't expecting this. I loved this place - great location, really good value, fantastic atmosphere and they have the guts to be totally different.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EG-BCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2009

while the arts are quite good, the experience of staying in the hotel (or i wonder if it is indeed a hotel) wasnt nice at all. we booked two double rooms with sea side view and one room standard via the late rooms.com, but the "hotel" failed to honor our booking since they said we got the rooms cheap. instead they gave us one junior room, one double room without the sea side view and one basement room. they should regularly update their agents regarding the prices of their rooms to avoid confusions. moreover, the rooms are dirty, carpets are old, toilets with molds (and the bowl wasnt even flushed with all the crap when we got there). and the breakfast, for £4.50, all youve got to eat is bread and cereals..the only nice bout it is the location and the staff that showed us the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank igoy33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.9 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
1,144 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 44 in Brighton
7,175 reviews
0.9 mi away
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Drakes Hotel Brighton
#4 of 44 in Brighton
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.0 mi away
Hotel Una
Hotel Una
#2 of 44 in Brighton
967 reviews
0.5 mi away
My Brighton
My Brighton
#13 of 44 in Brighton
2,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artist Residence Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artist Residence Brighton

Property: Artist Residence Brighton
Address: 33 Regency Square, Brighton BN1 2GG, England (Formerly Malvern Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Artist Residence Brighton 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fun and quirky rooms with imaginative design, featuring award-winning cocktail bar and two restaurants in a unique double-fronted townhouse hotel in the heart of Brighton. Located on the seafront in historic Regency Square this hotel is a 10 minute walk from Brighton train station. Dine at one of Brighton's best restaurants The Set, which features seasonal British tasting menu's, or opt for the more casual Set Cafe for a selection of small plates and craft beers. Each of the 23 guest rooms at Artist Residence are either individually designed by an artist or by the house and feature vintage and retro furniture, limited edition prints, graphic murals, flat screen TVs and en-suite bathrooms. Some rooms have sea views overlooking the West Pier. All rooms and communal areas have free Wi-Fi and there is also a ping-pong room which doubles as a meeting room. In addition to being a home-from-home and unique place to sleep, The Artist Residence serves as a gathering place and hub of community activity for locals and visitors alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Artist Residence Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artist Residence Brighton Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing