We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wicked fun by the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Artist Residence Brighton
Ranked #3 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
london
1 review
“wicked fun by the beach”
Reviewed 8 February 2010

Each hotel room has its own style and is designed by a different young artist.
You can even give a preference to the room you'd like to stay in based on the pictures you can see on their website.
The art gallery was cool tool.
We had a very good sleep in our room, and the breakfast brought up was particularly good as well..

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diddykongtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    671
    291
    47
    25
    21
See reviews for
136
577
45
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 February 2010

We arrived in Brighton and were completely lost so called the hotel to ask for directions and got friendly, useful advice.

On arrival we got friendly welcome and were led into a beautiful little gallery. We checked in and were led into our fourth-floor-room, all stairs no lift.

The room was spacious and unusual painted white with a modern mural of Brighton painted on the walls but most importantly a round, extremely comfortable bed.

The view out of our window was of the old pier- this was by far the best bit about the hotel!

You get a small collection of organic products in the small bathroom, which had a corner bath and a powerful shower.

The location is fantastic-just a short walk from the shops and sea front.

The down sides are the breakfast, a pastry juice and apple left in a brown bag outside your door in the morning (we popped around the corner for a cooked breakfast), no real place to sit and relax outside of your room, and it does feel a bit like a hostel.... but overall I still do recommend this hotel for a relaxing, fun place to stay. The staff our young, but friendly and really helpful.

(We payed for deluxe double, which was just renovated the extra £10 is really worth it)

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kebaffled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2010

A new boyfriend booked this hotel for us. I was worried because I had stayed here before and, although I liked the concept as it is very refreshing to stay in a room that goes beyond your basic , boring, white-walled room, I had been unimpressed with the maintenance.

This time I was astounded by the improvements. The room was impeccably clean, as was the rest of the hotel. I absolutely loved the artwork in my room - a calming blue and white panorama of Brighton. The staff were incredibly friendly. I also enjoyed the small gallery that had been set up in front of the hotel.

This is now a great hotel, well worth the visit.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aidevoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catmaford
1 review
Reviewed 18 January 2010

Not sure about the previous reviews but the hotel seems to be in a different state to what has been reported. The rooms were clean and the staff were friendly. Would definitely recommend to others

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catmaford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2010

I booked this hotel for two nights on cost and location before reading the reviews so was interested to see what it would be like. The welcome was very warm and all the (very young) staff I came into contact with were as polite and helpful as could be. It's not often one gets to play art critic writing a hotel review but this was a bit disapointing. The art in my room was an odd mismatch of objects and designs on the wall. It wasn't well painted and seemed a bit childish to me. But I didn't go to Brighton to look at the walls. The room was warm when it was arctic outside and I found the giant iron bedstead and thick old fashioned mattress jolly comfortable. The view over the square to the sea was stunning.

There has been a change in the breakfast policy since some the other reviews here were written. There is now no hot breakfast provided but a brown paper bag is left outside of the room door containg a pastry, a muesili bar, a piece of fruit and some organic fruit juice. I quite liked being able to take this back to bed but I also kinda hankered for full English, which I only ever do when staying in hotels and is part of the treat. Seemed a bit cheap.

Not a usual hotel this one, quite Brightonesque, you know lazy and a bit arrogant. Childish really and the thought crosses my mind that maybe the teanagers who seemed to be running the place really were! But I had a nice stay, and a wicked weekend but that is another story..

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jonath1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
artistresidence, Founder at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this review, 22 January 2010
I am sorry you don’t feel the hotel lived up to your expectations. I would like to apologise that you felt the hotel was disappointing and that the art work wasn’t up to your level of expectation. Most of our artists are very well recognised in the industry so I accept it’s a matter of opinion whether you appreciate the art or not. The purpose is to provoke some emotion and your “childish” description rings true as in this particular case the artist uses cartoon imagery.
In response to the change in breakfast policy we have never served a hot breakfast. We have however, made huge improvements in the quality of breakfast. The “breakfast in the bag” idea has been very well received by most guests so I am sorry we couldn’t provide you with the hot breakfast. Our breakfast bags contain a fresh pastry, locally produced orange or apple juice, cereal bar and a piece of fruit. As this is still relatively new we would appreciate it if you could contact us directly with any comments on how we may improve our breakfast.
I can only apologise if you felt that the hotel felt childish but Brighton is a young and vibrant hub. Artist Residence is still a unique hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2010

A cute idea and like the Bohemian vibe. However, the room was filthy - years' worth of dust on the side table and the floor had not been cleaned in a long time.

The room was very small for a double. The bathroom had a clear glass door, making things interesting to say the least. Not somewhere to stay early in a relationship!

In summary, our room was filthy. We have never stayed anywhere so badly maintained (including hostels).

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mbpimlico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2009

I stayed at this hotel after turning my nose up at a nearby hostel. I wanted something that would inspire me at a bargain price and it did just that.

The hotel was a wonderland of quirky and original art. Some of the artwork I found truly inspiring, some amusing, all of them surrounded me with colour and warmth. The hoteliers are artists themselves and were friendly and helpful.

The room I stayed in had a perfect view of the sea across Regency Square and it was a joy to stay in such an originally decorated room.

In the interests of a fair and objective review I must point out some minor flaws; breakfast was a bit basic (toast or cereal) and wi-fi and shower didn't work in my room (but there was a bath and the wi-fi worked downstairs).

But it comes down to what you are looking for in a hotel. If you expect everything to be functional and perfect, then an artist residence is probably not what you would be looking for anyway.

This is a wonderful, cosy retreat from the humdrum sterility of modern life and is a perfect complement to the feel of Brighton's North Laine – with a sea view.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GiulioSica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.9 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,052 reviews
0.9 mi away
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Drakes Hotel Brighton
#4 of 44 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Una
Hotel Una
#2 of 44 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
My Brighton
My Brighton
#12 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artist Residence Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artist Residence Brighton

Property: Artist Residence Brighton
Address: 33 Regency Square, Brighton BN1 2GG, England (Formerly Malvern Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Artist Residence Brighton 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fun and quirky rooms with imaginative design, featuring award-winning cocktail bar and two restaurants in a unique double-fronted townhouse hotel in the heart of Brighton. Located on the seafront in historic Regency Square this hotel is a 10 minute walk from Brighton train station. Dine at one of Brighton's best restaurants The Set, which features seasonal British tasting menu's, or opt for the more casual Set Cafe for a selection of small plates and craft beers. Each of the 23 guest rooms at Artist Residence are either individually designed by an artist or by the house and feature vintage and retro furniture, limited edition prints, graphic murals, flat screen TVs and en-suite bathrooms. Some rooms have sea views overlooking the West Pier. All rooms and communal areas have free Wi-Fi and there is also a ping-pong room which doubles as a meeting room. In addition to being a home-from-home and unique place to sleep, The Artist Residence serves as a gathering place and hub of community activity for locals and visitors alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Artist Residence Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artist Residence Brighton Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing