We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Artist Residence Brighton
Ranked #3 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2010

I had a thoroughly enjoyable stay, the hotel is situated just minutes walk from the beach and town centre which is ideal. The brightness and quirkiness caught my attention straight away and the room that I was staying in was beautifully decorated, comfortable and included a sea-view balcony. As an artist myself I would highly recommend this hotel as an imaginative, relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imogenmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,111)
There are newer reviews for Artist Residence Brighton
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,056 - 1,062 of 1,111 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2010

A real surprise, this hotel really took my interest. With beautiful artwork from artists who actually live and work from within the hotel, I really felt like I was staying somewhere special. Our room had a lovely view of the old pier, and was decorated with great art, well picked furniture and ornamentation. I was also impressed to find an exhibition of student work from the nearby University while we stayed, it's nice to know that they support artists both from the local community and further afield. All in all, a comfortable, interesting stay!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robinbarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2010

Each hotel room has its own style and is designed by a different young artist.
You can even give a preference to the room you'd like to stay in based on the pictures you can see on their website.
The art gallery was cool tool.
We had a very good sleep in our room, and the breakfast brought up was particularly good as well..

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diddykongtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2010

We arrived in Brighton and were completely lost so called the hotel to ask for directions and got friendly, useful advice.

On arrival we got friendly welcome and were led into a beautiful little gallery. We checked in and were led into our fourth-floor-room, all stairs no lift.

The room was spacious and unusual painted white with a modern mural of Brighton painted on the walls but most importantly a round, extremely comfortable bed.

The view out of our window was of the old pier- this was by far the best bit about the hotel!

You get a small collection of organic products in the small bathroom, which had a corner bath and a powerful shower.

The location is fantastic-just a short walk from the shops and sea front.

The down sides are the breakfast, a pastry juice and apple left in a brown bag outside your door in the morning (we popped around the corner for a cooked breakfast), no real place to sit and relax outside of your room, and it does feel a bit like a hostel.... but overall I still do recommend this hotel for a relaxing, fun place to stay. The staff our young, but friendly and really helpful.

(We payed for deluxe double, which was just renovated the extra £10 is really worth it)

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kebaffled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2010

A new boyfriend booked this hotel for us. I was worried because I had stayed here before and, although I liked the concept as it is very refreshing to stay in a room that goes beyond your basic , boring, white-walled room, I had been unimpressed with the maintenance.

This time I was astounded by the improvements. The room was impeccably clean, as was the rest of the hotel. I absolutely loved the artwork in my room - a calming blue and white panorama of Brighton. The staff were incredibly friendly. I also enjoyed the small gallery that had been set up in front of the hotel.

This is now a great hotel, well worth the visit.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aidevoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2010

Not sure about the previous reviews but the hotel seems to be in a different state to what has been reported. The rooms were clean and the staff were friendly. Would definitely recommend to others

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catmaford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2010

I booked this hotel for two nights on cost and location before reading the reviews so was interested to see what it would be like. The welcome was very warm and all the (very young) staff I came into contact with were as polite and helpful as could be. It's not often one gets to play art critic writing a hotel review but this was a bit disapointing. The art in my room was an odd mismatch of objects and designs on the wall. It wasn't well painted and seemed a bit childish to me. But I didn't go to Brighton to look at the walls. The room was warm when it was arctic outside and I found the giant iron bedstead and thick old fashioned mattress jolly comfortable. The view over the square to the sea was stunning.

There has been a change in the breakfast policy since some the other reviews here were written. There is now no hot breakfast provided but a brown paper bag is left outside of the room door containg a pastry, a muesili bar, a piece of fruit and some organic fruit juice. I quite liked being able to take this back to bed but I also kinda hankered for full English, which I only ever do when staying in hotels and is part of the treat. Seemed a bit cheap.

Not a usual hotel this one, quite Brightonesque, you know lazy and a bit arrogant. Childish really and the thought crosses my mind that maybe the teanagers who seemed to be running the place really were! But I had a nice stay, and a wicked weekend but that is another story..

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jonath1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
artistresidence, Founder at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2010

I am sorry you don’t feel the hotel lived up to your expectations. I would like to apologise that you felt the hotel was disappointing and that the art work wasn’t up to your level of expectation. Most of our artists are very well recognised in the industry so I accept it’s a matter of opinion whether you appreciate the art or not. The purpose is to provoke some emotion and your “childish” description rings true as in this particular case the artist uses cartoon imagery.
In response to the change in breakfast policy we have never served a hot breakfast. We have however, made huge improvements in the quality of breakfast. The “breakfast in the bag” idea has been very well received by most guests so I am sorry we couldn’t provide you with the hot breakfast. Our breakfast bags contain a fresh pastry, locally produced orange or apple juice, cereal bar and a piece of fruit. As this is still relatively new we would appreciate it if you could contact us directly with any comments on how we may improve our breakfast.
I can only apologise if you felt that the hotel felt childish but Brighton is a young and vibrant hub. Artist Residence is still a unique hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.9 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,205 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
7,691 reviews
0.9 mi away
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Drakes Hotel Brighton
#4 of 43 in Brighton
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.4 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#18 of 43 in Brighton
2,203 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#12 of 43 in Brighton
1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artist Residence Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artist Residence Brighton

Address: 33 Regency Square, Brighton BN1 2GG, England (Formerly Malvern Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Price Range: £92 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Artist Residence Brighton 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fun and quirky rooms with imaginative design, featuring award-winning cocktail bar and two restaurants in a unique double-fronted townhouse hotel in the heart of Brighton. Located on the seafront in historic Regency Square this hotel is a 10 minute walk from Brighton train station. Dine at one of Brighton's best restaurants The Set, which features seasonal British tasting menu's, or opt for the more casual Set Cafe for a selection of small plates and craft beers. Each of the 23 guest rooms at Artist Residence are either individually designed by an artist or by the house and feature vintage and retro furniture, limited edition prints, graphic murals, flat screen TVs and en-suite bathrooms. Some rooms have sea views overlooking the West Pier. All rooms and communal areas have free Wi-Fi and there is also a ping-pong room which doubles as a meeting room. In addition to being a home-from-home and unique place to sleep, The Artist Residence serves as a gathering place and hub of community activity for locals and visitors alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Artist Residence Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artist Residence Brighton Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing