We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An interesting, quirky experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Artist Residence Brighton
Ranked #3 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Farnborough, Hampshire
1 review
“An interesting, quirky experience!”
Reviewed 2 June 2010

Great location, nice bed and interesting décor.
Breakfast in a bag was nice and quite a cute idea. Apologies now for getting chocolate in the bed…. Perhaps a small table and chairs might be a good idea to prevent this!
Receptionists were very friendly and helpful – Thanks again for a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K2LNG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,054 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    671
    290
    47
    25
    21
See reviews for
135
577
45
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2010

Don't waste your money. It is more like a hostel than a hotel. The room was alright, the location is good, but you could hear all of the drunk people outside, it needs double glazed windows.

The people in the room next to us had a party from 11pm through to 4am. They were very noisy and made our room stink of smoke. We were not able to phone reception, because there wasn't one and there were no phones in the room to ring down to anyone.

The tea facilities were on rations and the mugs were dirty.

The breakfast in a bag, the next day, was okay, but not really worth it. Overall, it was horribly expensive for what it was.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Starpink2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
artistresidence, Guest Relations Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this review, 28 July 2010
We are extremely sorry that you had such a bad experience staying with us. It is unfortunate that you stayed when there was noise coming from the room next door. The hotel is non smoking and it is unusual for people to break the rules.
I would like to state that we have taken on your complaints seriously and have recently introduced phones on each landing so that guests can call the reception if they need to.
With regards to the double glazing the hotel itself is a grade 2 listed building so it is not possible for us to change any of the front facade features. As with any town with nightlife there will be times when people have had one too many drinks and it was unfortunate that on this occasion you were made aware of it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tyne and wear
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2010

after crawling up 72 stairs to get to our room we were a bit disappionted. there was no where to hang clothes for two people,bathroom was no bigger than a small cupboard, and refreshment facilities were a bare minimum. the next day breakfast was left outside our room but was unsuitable for my husband as he is diabetic, also breakfast was sporadic, on some days we recieved it for only one person, despite the fact that there was two people in the room. customer service was non-existent as we never saw anyone after we booked in for the rest of our stay.we were told that there was no lift as the property was to small to hold one.we definitely will not be staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littlemeercat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
artistresidence, Guest Relations Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this review, 28 July 2010
Firstly I would like to apologise for you disappointing stay. In response to your comments:
The hotel itself is a 5 storey grade 2 listed regency townhouse which as you can imagine has many stairs to reach the top. We do not advertise that the hotel has a lift on our website or any website. As much as we would love a lift we are still only a very small hotel and it will probably be unfeasible financially for us to ever invest in one. I can however, understand that you may not have expected so many stairs and for this I apologise. We now ensure that every guest that books a room on the upper level floors is informed in advance of their booking.
I am sad that you experienced non-existent customer service as this is something we pride ourselves on. Although we have no real services available at the property all our staff are trained to be as helpful as possible.
You state that on one occasion you only had one breakfast. We have now designed some breakfast hooks so that they hang outside your door ready for you in the morning.
I am sorry you will not be returning to stay with us but I can assure you that if you return in the future you will have a much better stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 24 May 2010

This is a great hotel in a central location. Staff were friendly and helpful and the room was quirky and charming.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 99Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
1 review
Reviewed 24 May 2010

Nice place!
Great location!
will stay again!
I like the fact I don't have to get up for anyone, but they leave a treat outside my door!

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank usa2uk22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2010

Our stay at arist residence was overall pleasent,however the breakfast was rather dissapointing, as a pastry, piece of fruit and a drink was not our preference for breakfast. Other than that the hotel is very modern, very clean and has a bight and airy feel. Each room is decorated by a different artist making the hotel not only different but Iintresting and pleasent to walk around and stay in.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lincoln007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2010

Myself and five friends stayed at the Artist Residence just for a weekend but it was fab. The girls on Reception are really helpful and welcoming. The rooms/bathrooms were lovely and clean and the little breakfast in a bag of a morning was a great little touch. The location was fab too...practically on the seafront....five minute walk to shops/lanes/pubs/clubs/restaurants! Cannot fault the price either! Highly recommended to anyone looking for a quirky alternative to a Travel Lodge without compromising on price.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jax_webs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.9 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,038 reviews
0.9 mi away
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Drakes Hotel Brighton
#4 of 44 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Una
Hotel Una
#2 of 44 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
My Brighton
My Brighton
#13 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artist Residence Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artist Residence Brighton

Property: Artist Residence Brighton
Address: 33 Regency Square, Brighton BN1 2GG, England (Formerly Malvern Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Artist Residence Brighton 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fun and quirky rooms with imaginative design, featuring award-winning cocktail bar and two restaurants in a unique double-fronted townhouse hotel in the heart of Brighton. Located on the seafront in historic Regency Square this hotel is a 10 minute walk from Brighton train station. Dine at one of Brighton's best restaurants The Set, which features seasonal British tasting menu's, or opt for the more casual Set Cafe for a selection of small plates and craft beers. Each of the 23 guest rooms at Artist Residence are either individually designed by an artist or by the house and feature vintage and retro furniture, limited edition prints, graphic murals, flat screen TVs and en-suite bathrooms. Some rooms have sea views overlooking the West Pier. All rooms and communal areas have free Wi-Fi and there is also a ping-pong room which doubles as a meeting room. In addition to being a home-from-home and unique place to sleep, The Artist Residence serves as a gathering place and hub of community activity for locals and visitors alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Artist Residence Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artist Residence Brighton Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing