We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trust me this was just 'OK'.”
Review of The Beach Pad

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Beach Pad
Ranked #56 of 95 Brighton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 May 2010

The place is of average decor and cleanliness, but it's run by a man and you can see it lacks a woman's touch.There are signs of things detoriating.The communal shower door was off its rail and cumbersome, and no rail for towel or anything to put your clothes.Breakfast was fine, but because it's served in the cafe next door, they didn't offer extra coffee or toast.Good location if you like Kemptown.Not the best, but not the worst.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrRobert1446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2010

The location of this place was great really near the see. After paying quite a high rate we were hoping the room would be perfect, but the tv was from the 1990s and half of the digital chanels didnt work. My partner had to go and see the owenr after we had settled in the room and he tried to make us feel guilty for complaining, after 10 mins of debating he gave us money off the room but I was not inpressed.
Also to make the kettile work I havd to keep my hand on it!!

The uoside was the breakfast but I wouldnt recomment this place to anyone.

Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SHOAPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2010

For the money, this place is an total must. I've stayed in so called Boutique hotels in Brighton before and the Beachpad is simply better for its simplicity. The rooms were very clean, the en-suite spacious and going to the corner coffee shop for breakfast unobtrusive and relaxed. The service was considerate and professional and e will be staying there again. I'd recommend the Beachpad for all these reasons and more!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank genkimac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2010

We came to Brighton to spend a romantic weekend for valentines. We booked with the Beachpad which was a great place to stay, because the location was turned out to be ideal for the getting out and about. The room was modern and very clean, The owner was friendly and recommended a couple of local places to eat. I would happily stay here again as I believe its good value for the standard. Thanks for a very relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HertsPaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2009

We absolutely loved the Beach Pad and would definitely recommend it for a weekend or hopefully longer next time. It's in the perfect location, a few steps from a beautiful view over Brighton Pier and the seafront in one direction and an excellent choice of bars and fantastic restaurants in the other. The rooms are basic but really clean, comfortable and stylish. The service is relaxed and reliable - not at all over the top or intrusive - just what you want when escaping together. It's so near to the shops etc it's a great choice for couples and families or singles and really good value for money. If only there were more places to stay around the country like this! It's ideal!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OliveAnna27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

Stayed here for two nights with two friends. Had a family room which was clean and very well decorated. The hotel manager met us outside and came with us to find a parking space and helped us fill out the parking permit. He carried our bags back to the hotel and gave us some helpful advice about things to do in the area. He gave us his number in case we had any problems. The location was ideal just two minutes from the pier and all the local shops. Only a ten minute walk into the main town where all the bars and clubs are. It was quiet when we stayed there the only noise was people coming in and out but wasnt enough to warrant a complaint and in no way spoilt our weekend. I have stayed in hotels which have cost much more than this hotel and not had the service we received. I cannot fault the hotel, staff or location. Will definitely be coming back to stay here when I am next in Brighton. Great time!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angelm76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2009

We were quite disappointed when we arrived at the beach pad to find that we could not get in, there was nobody to greet us, all we saw was a mobile number hand-written on the door, so we called the owner and he said he wouldn't be long, we found ourselves waiting in our car for 45 mins before he arrived. One thing you also need to be extra careful about is parking here, they charge £10 for a permit which you have to fill out with precision otherwise like us you will get a ticket! we parked our car outside the hotel and scratched out all the details that we were told but still got a £50 fine, so be aware. Back to the hotel itself, we were given room 1, the room itself was clean, modern and had tea/coffee making facilities, these are the positives. Now for the negatives, the bed was extremely uncomfortable, the worst part of the room was that it was the closest to the front door so we heard everything and everyone coming in or out at various times, which in a way we should come to expect from a b and b however it was highly annoying. Not however, as annoying as the alarm that went on and off and random intervals, giving off a loud buzzing noise, the most inconvenient was probably the one at 3.30am! Overall we were quite disappointed with the beach pad and certainly will not be returning, thank fully we did not let this spoil our fun in Brighton. We would recommend to anyone who wants a nice place to stay in Brighton, try Drakes, the two are on a completely different level!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blueskies11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
847 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
7,990 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 43 in Brighton
2,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
0.3 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#17 of 43 in Brighton
2,319 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach Pad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach Pad

Address: 18 Broad Street, Brighton BN2 1TJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range: £73 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beach Pad 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your The Beach Pad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing