We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent as ever”
Review of La Capannina

La Capannina
Ranked #33 of 1,124 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent as ever”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Excellent meal, Excellent service, must be one of the best Italian in Brighton

4 friends, 3 starters 4 main course, 1 bottle of wine and 1 coffee £95 all served with a friendly smile

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Classicboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    341
    185
    46
    24
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
Level Contributor
340 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant ”
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

Walked past this place by accident and there was no one in. So we decided to go in anyway all the tables were reserved but we got in and we were not disappointed not expensive but the service is good and so is the food

Helpful?
Thank ormsklad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Well worth it”
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

This gem of a bistro in the heart of Brighton is 5 mins from the seafront and specialises in Sardinian fare - rarities, such as malloreddus (a rustic sausage and tomato pasta dish) are mixed in with perennial favourites. We were warmly welcomed and there's a cosy atmosphere great for couples and small groups. The food is excellent (try the crab and lobster soup) and very reasonably priced. Recommended.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lovely, quiet, family-run Italian restaurant”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We went in for an early dinner - we were the first guests that night - and had good food in a pleasant atmosphere. The staff were friendly without being pushy and the laid-back atmosphere was helped along by Dean Martin playing quietly in the background. Recommended by our hotel, and I understand why.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HelenMcCarthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etchingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Friendly, traditional Trattoria”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Haven't been here for a long time, still the same reliable , friendly Trattoria. Ate here for lunch with some friends. A Good choice of Pizza's , Pasta and standard Trattoria fare all freshly cooked. Service is very friendly and the surrounding comfortable. Won't leave it so long for the next visit.
La Capannina is just a short stroll from the beach at the top end of Madeira Place on the junction of St James street.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrisBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Capannina also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to La Capannina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing