We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”
Review of Pomegranate - CLOSED

Pomegranate
Price range: US$22 - US$29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Was recommended by the bar maid in the pub opposite. Really lovely find. Beautiful food, had babaganoush and then swordfish. Staff were lovely and other people dining were really friendly and we chatted with them. Will definitely go back! Only thing, they add service on which luckily was brilliant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Philly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

442 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    109
    37
    16
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
218 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Wonderful Surprise”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Pomegranate turned out the be a wonderful surprise. My wife and I read a review that peaked our interest. With a little hunting we found the restaurant. Its located on a rather non-descript little street; but worth looking for.

The restaurant is pleasantly simple and clean. About five or six tables on the ground floor and more upstairs? We got there about an hour before closing so it was not busy. Our hostess was very nice and helpful.

The food is a nice mix of middle-eastern influences. We had the filo floret starter, roasted lamb and creamy salmon mains. We shared the stuffed figs for desert. We really enjoyed the creative use of spices and seasonings.

Everything was wonderful. We would be happy to go back if we are ever in Brighton again. Probably about 4 and a half pips but I gave them a 5.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Kurdish Surprise!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stumbled across this restaurant before going to see The Treason Show at Brighton Fringe and what a fantastic find it was.

A subtle little restaurant with the lovely, friendly staff. We had only 70 minutes before the show started and the Kurdish lady owner accommodated us quickly and efficiently and was very friendly. Her staff attended to us promptly and when we couldn't decide between sizzling chicken or lamb kebabs she offered to mix them for us. Fantastic.

This lovely little restaurant is unassuming has a wonderful ambience, superb food and lovely staff.

I will definitely visit again when I am next in Brighton.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“what a lovely evening!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I strongly recommend this restaurant. We went a couple of years ago as we came down for the weekend to Brighton to celebrate a friends birthday. It was really great and this time it was great again. The owner Zelal is a real pleasure, she's extremely attentive and nothing is to much trouble either. I had the grilled prawns with dates, nuts & pomegranet sauce as a starter, absolutely delicious! then as a main I had grilled chicken breast with walnuts, what a dish! thoroughly recommend it too! Our party of 5 all had different meals and everyone said how fantastic this restaurant is. The food is well presented and hot and really tasty. The atmosphere is great, cosy and warm. We will go back in September as we're going back to Brighton for another friends birthday!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank freddie100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely food and great service”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We went to this restaurant based on a recommendation and probably wouldn't have gone otherwise as it's a tiny restaurant tucked away on a side street.
The restaurant is small but comfortable with a lovely lady serving all the tables - she couldn't have been friendlier or more welcoming but was never obtrusive.
We shared a selection of starters and each had a skewer of meat for our main served on a huge flatbread with lovely dips, courgette and aubergine. No room for dessert....and we always have dessert! Great wine too.
Can't fault the food or service; the only reason I'm not giving five stars is because of the music - it is sooooo depressing and bleak. It's probably very authentic but it's not great for dining to. My husband noted that if you went in there feeling a bit low you'd be slitting your wrists before your main arrived.
However, don't let that deter you - lovely restaurant, great food, great service

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harnty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pomegranate also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing