We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced for Travelodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel
Ranked #35 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Had to book at last minute and as a result room was very overpriced - unusual for Travelodge in my experience. Probably should have looked elsewhere.
Unfortunately, when I stayed one of the main lifts wasn't working so rather too much waiting around. Room was shabby, and even high up, (fourth floor I think) there was a lot of noise from street. Hotel is right next door to club which kept going until early hours - 4 ish.
Hotel is on busy street in Brighton. Good security on the door. Lots of people having a good time - it was a Saturday in height of summer.
Contacted Travelodge to complain. They awarded me a £30 voucher to use in my next Travelodge booking (20% of cost of booking) so not that impressive.

Room Tip: Ask for a quieter room if you don't like noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VER315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Sophie from Customer Care at Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Dear VER315, we understand you are unhappy with your room rate, we are still committed to offering competitive rates and advise customers to book as far in advance as possible to access the cheapest rates. We are sorry to learn you were inconvenienced during your stay as one of the lifts were not working, we will always request for an engineer to attend and fix lifts as soon as possible. Unfortunately due to the central location of the hotel, noise may be heard however we try and reduce external noise by having insulated walls and double glazing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,630)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,563 - 1,569 of 1,630 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed a few times here. Not far from the seafront, very cheap, clean, service excellent too.
Arrived late, staff very friendly, asked for iron board and extra pillows, was no problem.
Reception very busy of a night as it is on a main street full of takeaways but we had no problems with noise of drunk passers by.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank photosimon52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

We arrived a couple of hours before check in so paid the extra £10 for early check in, that was fine not a problem.
The reception area looks a little dated but relatively clean.
We stayed on the 6th floor. Our room was terrible, firstly the windows can only be opened a couple of inches, I understand that this is the usual practice in hotels for health and safety reasons, but when it's very hot and stuffy in the rooms, the window situation does not help, especially when there is no A/C or fan in the rooms! The ceiling could do with having a bit of TLC, and probably replace the wardrobes (they are literally falling apart)
The bathroom was terrible. Dirty and just generally run down, not expecting it to be 5* but just clean would be something!
Good location nice and central, but that really was the only good part.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmaG1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Sophie from Customer Care at Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

We’re really sorry to learn of the issues you have raised EmmaG1979. Unfortunately we do not offer air conditioning in this hotel however we do offer fans which can be obtained from reception on a first come first serve basis. We do expect our rooms to be cleaned to a specific standard, and we’d like to be able to contact you to find a resolution. Please could you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to tell us more and when doing so please indicate you have left a TripAdvisor review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Booked rooms in January, stayed this weekend for the mod weekender. The reviews are variable, some quite poor. But our experience was really good.
Friendly staff, nice greeting, easy check-in.
Rooms on 7th floor, nice comfy beds, could have been cleaner, carpet dusty and dirty behind door. But everything else ok, Good shower and windows that open too.
I would recommend this hotel the situation is excellent for seeing all of Brighton
Even the security staff were friendly and effective
Thank you

Room Tip: Try for higher rooms, 7th or 8th floor. There are several night clubs very near, but we did not exp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Firstly, I have stayed in travelodges across the country - so I'm not a travelodge snob. In fact the Covent Garden branch in London is pretty great! They keep their costs down by being basic, so I would never expect granduar!

This room however was REALLY BASIC. The bathroom was a little grimey, and the room pretty dingy. The hotel was noisey, which I would expect in Brighton on a weekend but this was a Tuesday night. We opened the window as the room was so stuffy, but then couldn't sleep due to the noise of the seagulls which do not sleep!

Had got caught in the rain the day, and desperatley wanted a hairdryer to sort my fringe out before dinner/evening - but they loan them out and then who knows when they get them back? There was no phone in the room so I had to send my boyfriend down to reception several times to check!

The price was great and I loved Brighton - but next time I think I'd rather pay a little more and get a better nights sleep!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kazi87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

helpful staff comfortable beds ,nice rooms ,central to everything couldnt ask for more. just nice to go away and everything is taken care of. they have loan hairdryers so dont need to pack one just a pleasent place to stay.






  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Came here for a 2 night mid week stay with friends from work. The check in was good, helpful & efficient. Although the room is basic, it is adequate for a short stay,it was clean, the bedding clean & the bed very comfy. For £25.00 a night you cant expect a 5 star stay. Accept what it is & enjoy. Tip. DO take a hairdryer if it is a vital necessity to your life as it is to me. The one negative, could be that the hotel is very close to nightclubs etc so noise could be an issue with young people coming & going out & from the nightclubs themselves. I would imagine weekends could be very lively & noisy but we were there tues-thurs & noise was too much of a problem. The seagulls were noisy though!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindseylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

We’re so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us lindseylou. Whilst we do not provide hair dryers in the rooms, they can be borrowed from reception on a first come first serve basis as we fully appreciate that this is a necessity for some of our guests. This hotel is in the hustle and bustle of the city however we attempt to reduce noise by having double glazing and insulated walls. However controlling the noise of the sea gulls may be slightly challenging. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Brighton
Travelodge Brighton
#20 of 43 in Brighton
683 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
1.0 mi away
Imperial
Imperial
#28 of 43 in Brighton
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#17 of 43 in Brighton
2,317 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 43 in Brighton
2,326 reviews
0.5 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel

Address: West Street, Brighton BN1 2RE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Price Range: £39 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing