We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“There are better budget hotels but the location is good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel
Ranked #37 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“There are better budget hotels but the location is good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

There are budget hotels which work and ones that don't. This is one of those that does not. The welcome is fine but that is where it ends, noisy poorly aired rooms that smelt of epoxy resin, constant bashing of doors that needed silencing. Rooms just big enough, double bed with one bedside table simple amenities such as hair dryer missing. Soap…not a chance. Towels small and threadbare. Service non existent. Overheard the manager saying he only had 7 staff on tap due to corporate cuts! This was shown in performance. Pay a little more and stay at a Premier Inn'

Room Tip: Book rooms on the upper floors facing the rear of the property for a quiet nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Peter D, we’re really sorry to hear about the issues you had at our hotel. We would like to further understand the concerns you have highlighted to find a resolution. Please could you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to provide us with more details and when doing so please specify you have left a TripAdvisor review. Unfortunately we do not provide hair dryers in the rooms although they can be borrowed from reception, subject to availability. Although we do not provide toiletries in the rooms as part of our brand standard, customers have the option to purchase toiletries from vending machines at reception should they need to, this allows us to continue to offer great rates in great locations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    346
    361
    244
    226
See reviews for
232
611
106
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

This hotel was dirty and shabby!
Vent in bathroom was filthy
Toilet seat broken and on the floor
Bathroom dirty. Floor very dirty
Ceiling paint peeling over the bed
Noisy and sounded windy
Room dull
Bedroom unit drawers full of wood shavings!
Place needs a revamp !

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lipstick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Care at Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Lipstick1. We are sorry to learn that your room was not up to the usual high standards which we expect in all of our hotels. We do expect our rooms to be clean and fresh and all facilities should also be in good working order. Please can you give us some more detail of your stay so we can address your concerns. To help us contact you please can you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to give us more detail and be sure to click on the ‘link from TripAdvisor’ option when submitting your details.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

The price for the room I received was an absolute bargain. The room didn't overheat, nor was it cold. It was spotless as was the bathroom.
I had a charming view of a roof covered in dirty clothes and rubbish. It did smell a bit. The bed was comfortable.

But you ultimately get what you pay for. This isn't a seaside resort, it's merely a room.

Room Tip: Try and get one with a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Svengalii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

No frills, bathroom is basic clean enough though, allows pets (£20/night). 50m up from the sea front in the thick of it for shops, pubs. Busy street for night life. Cost wise - was reasonable for Saturday night, Brighton is an expensive place to stay. Car park is NHS with 20% discount, £18.50 for 24 hours.


  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Mitch T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

Location is just a 2 mins walk from Churchill square .

It is also beside a club and a number of bars. It was really noisy that even on higher floors, one can be woken up.

All the staffs seemingly lack training in customer service. They were totally not interested in meeting customers' needs or requests. They were extremely reluctant to help and counters were empty at times. However , a group of girls (non guests who seem to be locals) came in to the counter to enquire about some events locations and the staffs were showing A lot more interest as it was not work related. Service level from the counter staffs that morning ( Saturaday ) will be zero. Better staffs should be selected by travel lodge
for this franchise to save its name.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimidichi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Sophie from Customer Care at Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear 639639, we are really sorry to learn that you were unhappy with the serviced you received at our Brighton Seafront Hotel. We do expect all of our staff members to be polite and helpful at all times. All customer feedback is invaluable to us and we will ensure that the hotel is made aware of the comments that you have made so that staff can be reminded of the importance of proving a quality service to all guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Paid £37 per night, great value for a seafront location in Brighton. Basic, as all Travelodges are, so no worries there. Only downside was there is not much ventilation, and I needed a fan, couldn't get one anywhere in Brighton. Will take my own next time. Will stay again. Tip for the noise, it was freshers week when we were there, wax earplugs from Boots, blocks out all noise, but you will still hear an alarm, perhaps the hotel could sell them ?

Room Tip: Ask for a high room, and the 01 rooms are sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donnaconiglen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Care at Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for your review Donnaconiglen C. We are really sorry to learn of your disappointment during your stay. Regrettably our hotels do not provide air conditioning as part of our brand standard however in an attempt to make our guest stay more comfortable we do offer fans which are available in reception on a first come first serve basis. This hotel is also in the hustle and bustle of the city however we attempt to reduce noise by having double glazing and insulated walls. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHESTERFIELD
Level Contributor
501 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

A fairly typical Travelodge. Good clean comfortable rooms, and a very reasonable price too. We went by train, so had no problems having to park but i guess that could be a problem if you went by car.

One major gripe though. On checking out, we asked if we could leave our bags while we had a walk round Brighton and was told no, they dont have that facility. I've never encountered that before, and meant we had to lug our bags round for several hours

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ARKAYESS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Brighton City Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
0.5 mi away
Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Britannia Study Hotel
Britannia Study Hotel
#22 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,420 reviews
0.4 mi away
Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
#27 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel

Property: Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel
Address: West Street, Brighton BN1 2RE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing