We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cleanliness is shocking!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel
Ranked #36 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Cleanliness is shocking!”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I understand it's a budget hotel but there are still certain standards you expect; a clean room and clean towels being paramount. We eventually got clean towels but they should have been there and checked by the time we arrived.

The cleanliness of the room was awful and it did seem like they cleaned where they could see and reach easily but put no more effort in than that. Down the side of my bedside table was a gap of about 20 inches and there was loads of dust and mess that clearly hadn't been cleaned in a while. Under the bed was also bad. Dust was an issue to.

We had an end room yet we had one tiny window that hardly let in any light and the wind howled through it. The window was not in great condition and had an extra sliding window thing because of it but it didn't really help.

However, the bed was really comfy and though the shower lacked power there was hot water.

Very noisy at night from outline and inside the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Care at Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
We are really sorry to learn of the problems you encountered at our hotel Nicolle E. We expect all of our rooms to be clean and fresh and to be set up with the correct amount of towels, so it is regrettable to learn the cleanliness of your room fell below our high standards on this occasion. We will ensure to pass on your feedback to our hotel staff to that they are able to make repairs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    367
    377
    254
    242
See reviews for
240
634
109
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Clean, cheap basic hotel which provides good value for money for a one night stay. If you just want somewhere to sleep for the night then this is adequate. If you want any other facilities then look elsewhere. Check in is late at 3pm and to arrange an earlier check in (I asked at 2pm) will cost extra. For my stay this would have been and extra 25%. I've never been asked to pay for this before. On arrival there was no one at reception and I waited a good 10 minutes for someone to arrive. They were cheerful enough but not particularily helpful. Unfortunately the bar doesn't open until 5pm so getting a drink is difficult. No advice given as to local facilities. The reception area is very basic and there are minimal seating facilities. Parking was a walk away, great in the bad weather we had on the day, and also very expensive at £18.00 for the 4 hours I left the car there. No complimentary WiFi, this is an extra £5.00 for an hour.
It is close to the sea front and good if you want to walk in the summer.
Overall I have no complaints on the cleanliness, the room was basic but served a purpose. The water in the bathroom did take a while to get warm however.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Sophie from Customer Care at Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thanks for your review Julie J. Our check in time is 3pm in all of our hotels however our customers the option to check in from 12 noon. This early check in service costs £10.00. We are sorry to learn of your disappointment with the service you received, we do expect our staff to be helpful and friendly at all times and we will ensure that the hotel are made aware of the feedback that you have left so that staff can be reminded of the importance of providing a quality service to all guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This is a fairly standard travelodge, a bit run down but cheap. What they didn't tell me when I was booking is that the cost of parking locally is £25 per night. I asked staff for info about alternative parking and they said that was what I could expect to pay in Brighton. A good place to stay for the sea front but don't bring a car!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Hcbettyboop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Sophie from Customer Care at Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
We are sorry to learn of your disappointment Hcbettyboop. Unfortunately there is no on site parking at our Brighton Seafront hotel. The nearest car park is a chargeable NCP car park where Travelodge customers receive a 25% discount. All parking information for each individual hotel can be found on our website in our Hotel Overview section.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Greece
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I have booked this hotel during my short visit to Brighton with my daughter, and I am very happy about it. The location is superb, near the pier but also to the main shopping area, with many buses passing by. It is really a value for money, but also the receptionists were very helpful to advice us where to go and how. We will certainly go back again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank rv97trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Room windows badly fitted meaning they're unsealed even when closed so you can hear everything outside. Despite misleading title, hotel is NOT on seafront. Packed with hen and stag groups at weekends.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Rochestersbigeater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Care at Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you for your review Rochestersbigeater. We are sorry to learn about your disappointment with your recent stay. This hotel is situated less than 200 metres from the sea, and within walking distance. It is regrettable to learn you were disturbed by other guests during your stay, we do ask all of our guests to be courteous to other guests and we do try to avoid larger groups by allocating them rooms together away from other guests to avoid disruption. We also expect all our facilities to be in working order and the windows to be able to shut properly. We would like to take this opportunity to investigate the concerns that you have raised, please use the contact us button on our website to provide us with more information which will allow us to offer a resolution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

The most important thing to know is that the hotel will be noisy at night during the weekend. Located right outside a bunch of night clubs, pubs, and bars, it is kind of a nightlife haven. We don't have problems sleeping when it is noisy out, but those who are easily disturbed might want to invest in ear plugs.

Secondly, the hotel does not store the luggage for you and charges for early check in. Both are deal-breakers for any future visits since check-in is not until 3pm. I have seen in previous reviews, management cites lack of storage space for this. Perhaps that is something to look into since it appears to be a recurring complaint.

If we had paid more than 50-something pound, this review would have tipped firmly into 'poor' territory. It is a 'no frills' hotel, meaning it is a place to sleep. Everything is very basic (i.e. no phone in the room, no toiletries, WiFi not free unless in the lobby, etc) which is okay for a cheap price. I could not imagine paying close to 130 pound to stay here on a Saturday night.


The beds are incredibly comfy, though. So after a long day of shenanigans throughout Brighton, the sleep will be a good one. They're also much bigger than the beds in other hotels we have stayed at, so that is a definite bonus.

The location is superb. You can hear/see the ocean. Everything is less than a 15-min walk in either direction. The nightlife is very active. If anything, the location redeems a lot of the unsatisfactory qualities.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderingElla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Visited during summer for sons graduation. Room was ok but air conditioning very poor. Good location but hotel gets busy with stag and hen party's . Breakfast nice buffet style. Car parking very expensive and a bit of a walk but you do get a discount.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dominic D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Brighton
Travelodge Brighton
#24 of 44 in Brighton
603 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
0.1 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
2,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel

Property: Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel
Address: West Street, Brighton BN1 2RE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing