We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not a good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel
Ranked #35 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Arrived in Brighton only to find that the recommended NCP car park is £25 a day ! Not so cheap a deal , Hotel would not cancel prepaid breakfast ( requested at 1pm the day before)
Hotel scruffy in reception area , reception staff all east Europeans with no customer interest.
In the evening outside like the wild west with hordes of drunken foul mouthed clubbers passing ( immediately next to two night clubs)
Will not be going back , pay more for hotel with its own parking as it would have been cheaper

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank graham5952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Care at Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your recent stay graham5952. Unfortunately not all of our hotels have on site parking however we do offer a 25% discount for customers wishing to use the nearby NCP car park. We do expect our staff to offer a warm and friendly welcome to all of our guests so we are sorry that this did not happen during your stay. The hotel is located in a busy location so regrettably some external noise may be heard however we do attempt to reduce noise by having double glazing and insulated walls. We’d like to be able to contact you to find a resolution. In order for us to do this please could you visit our website and use the Contact Us button to tell us more and when doing so please indicate you have left a TripAdvisor review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,679)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,551 - 1,557 of 1,679 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2013

We were in Brighton for a writing convention and stayed around the corner at the Travelodge. The reception staff were friendly, helpful and efficient, the room was tidy and when I had an issue - with a broken bulb and a dirty towel - both were replaced quickly and with apologies. The restaurant was small but clean and the buffet breakfast was hot and tasty and well replenished.

My only issue was that I had a room at the front (705) and the nightclub across the road was very noisy, which even the fitted double glazing couldn't completely block (which isn't, of course, the fault of the hotel but something to take into consideration - a friend with a room overlooking the back of the hotel didn't really have a problem with noise). Pleasant, friendly and comfortable, if we were going back to Brighton, I'd use the hotel again (though I'd ask for a rear facing room!).

Room Tip: Get a room facing west if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark_West_43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I understand it's a budget hotel but there are still certain standards you expect; a clean room and clean towels being paramount. We eventually got clean towels but they should have been there and checked by the time we arrived.

The cleanliness of the room was awful and it did seem like they cleaned where they could see and reach easily but put no more effort in than that. Down the side of my bedside table was a gap of about 20 inches and there was loads of dust and mess that clearly hadn't been cleaned in a while. Under the bed was also bad. Dust was an issue to.

We had an end room yet we had one tiny window that hardly let in any light and the wind howled through it. The window was not in great condition and had an extra sliding window thing because of it but it didn't really help.

However, the bed was really comfy and though the shower lacked power there was hot water.

Very noisy at night from outline and inside the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicolle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Care at Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

We are really sorry to learn of the problems you encountered at our hotel Nicolle E. We expect all of our rooms to be clean and fresh and to be set up with the correct amount of towels, so it is regrettable to learn the cleanliness of your room fell below our high standards on this occasion. We will ensure to pass on your feedback to our hotel staff to that they are able to make repairs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Clean, cheap basic hotel which provides good value for money for a one night stay. If you just want somewhere to sleep for the night then this is adequate. If you want any other facilities then look elsewhere. Check in is late at 3pm and to arrange an earlier check in (I asked at 2pm) will cost extra. For my stay this would have been and extra 25%. I've never been asked to pay for this before. On arrival there was no one at reception and I waited a good 10 minutes for someone to arrive. They were cheerful enough but not particularily helpful. Unfortunately the bar doesn't open until 5pm so getting a drink is difficult. No advice given as to local facilities. The reception area is very basic and there are minimal seating facilities. Parking was a walk away, great in the bad weather we had on the day, and also very expensive at £18.00 for the 4 hours I left the car there. No complimentary WiFi, this is an extra £5.00 for an hour.
It is close to the sea front and good if you want to walk in the summer.
Overall I have no complaints on the cleanliness, the room was basic but served a purpose. The water in the bathroom did take a while to get warm however.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Sophie from Customer Care at Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Thanks for your review Julie J. Our check in time is 3pm in all of our hotels however our customers the option to check in from 12 noon. This early check in service costs £10.00. We are sorry to learn of your disappointment with the service you received, we do expect our staff to be helpful and friendly at all times and we will ensure that the hotel are made aware of the feedback that you have left so that staff can be reminded of the importance of providing a quality service to all guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This is a fairly standard travelodge, a bit run down but cheap. What they didn't tell me when I was booking is that the cost of parking locally is £25 per night. I asked staff for info about alternative parking and they said that was what I could expect to pay in Brighton. A good place to stay for the sea front but don't bring a car!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Hcbettyboop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Sophie from Customer Care at Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

We are sorry to learn of your disappointment Hcbettyboop. Unfortunately there is no on site parking at our Brighton Seafront hotel. The nearest car park is a chargeable NCP car park where Travelodge customers receive a 25% discount. All parking information for each individual hotel can be found on our website in our Hotel Overview section.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I have booked this hotel during my short visit to Brighton with my daughter, and I am very happy about it. The location is superb, near the pier but also to the main shopping area, with many buses passing by. It is really a value for money, but also the receptionists were very helpful to advice us where to go and how. We will certainly go back again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank rv97trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Room windows badly fitted meaning they're unsealed even when closed so you can hear everything outside. Despite misleading title, hotel is NOT on seafront. Packed with hen and stag groups at weekends.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Rochestersbigeater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Care at Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Thank you for your review Rochestersbigeater. We are sorry to learn about your disappointment with your recent stay. This hotel is situated less than 200 metres from the sea, and within walking distance. It is regrettable to learn you were disturbed by other guests during your stay, we do ask all of our guests to be courteous to other guests and we do try to avoid larger groups by allocating them rooms together away from other guests to avoid disruption. We also expect all our facilities to be in working order and the windows to be able to shut properly. We would like to take this opportunity to investigate the concerns that you have raised, please use the contact us button on our website to provide us with more information which will allow us to offer a resolution.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Brighton
Travelodge Brighton
#20 of 43 in Brighton
707 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Brighton City Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 43 in Brighton
2,416 reviews
0.5 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
864 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel

Address: 14 West Street, Brighton BN1 2RE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Price Range: £38 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing