We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average at best” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel
Ranked #37 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Average at best”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

The reception staff at this hotel are what prompted me to add a star, they are friendly and efficient and full of knowledge.

First impressions were not brilliant, the exterior is in dire need of attention and the seafront mentioned in the name is slightly misleading because there is an Odeon cinema between the hotel and the front.

We were allocated a room on the 7th floor, there are two lifts (one was broken) and the one in use was old and rickety, you definitely need to wash your hands after touching the buttons!

The room was compact and dark but fairly clean. The bathroom was dingy and the shower was very basic. The toilet flush was extremely hit and miss! The room was worth the reduced price we paid, but not a penny more (around £40 mark.) There was a bedside table missing.

The worst part was the whistling breeze due to the broken window in the corridor outside, we used the bed runner and a pair of trainers as a makeshift draught excluder but it wasn't particularly effective.

All in all, the experience was ok. There are plenty of more inviting hotels and guest houses around that would be better value for money and provide a more pleasant experience.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Janey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    339
    345
    236
    218
See reviews for
222
595
102
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
herts
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Booked last minute have been before found reception staff more friendlier on 8th floor this time room at back small but adequate just a wall for view but hey only needed room to sleep corridors need bit of updating would stay again as only £37 for 2 for one night

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gemHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

Great location. Short walk to the pier and The Laines. I paid £96 for 2 nights B&B during half term, for me and my 5 year old to visit some friends.

We shared a double room on 6th floor. The room was comfortable and my only complaint would be the shower curtain not keeping the water in the shower. Breakfast was good, not much choice, but enough and kids ate free.

The hotel is right opposite Vodka Revolution, and I was a bit shocked as to how rowdy it was on the Friday evening (around 9pm, returning after a meal out). The taxi driver though to be fair, did escort me and my daughter to the reception instead of dumping us outside leaving us to clamber through the drunken bodies and vomit!

Would stay here again, but might avoid the weekend nights!

Room Tip: The higher up the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toni T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

I stayed here with family just for one night. It was clean and tidy. The room was an ok size. There was a TV in the room (not that we really used it) and there were tea/coffee making facilities. It is really central and right on the seafront. It's about a 10 minute walk from the train station so easy to get to if that's how you're travelling. I would come here again for future short stays.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

The hotel looks run down, checking in there was no one on reception to greet us, had to call out, the room was at the end of the corridor so all we heard all night was hailing wind as their hall window was broken, the toilet seat looked clean until you peered down the side and saw thick ( I mean thick ) yellow wee stains so obviously they clean where you can visible see, your poor trousers if they are rested round your ankles is all I can say, the carpets were hairy.
Beds, shower etc fine no complaints.
The hotel comes to life at around 3-4 in the morning so expect to be woken and included in the game knock down ginger. As no one has consideration for others. Now I was there on a girly weekend but we were considerate of others when coming in.
Saturday night was worse.
All I can say is expect the worse and you will be fine.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Services at Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
We are sorry to learn of your disappointment with your stay at our Brighton Seafront hotel Sharon L. Our staff are expected to be available at all times; sometimes they may not be at the reception desk as they may need to complete other tasks however we can confirm there will be a buzzer which will alert them and they will be expected to be able to assist in a timely manner. It is regrettable to learn of the condition of your room as our housekeeping staff are expected to ensure our rooms are clean and fresh and up to our high standards. We can confirm that our customers are asked to keep their noise to respectable levels and our staff are expected to regularly patrol the hotel so that they can be made aware of any guests who are being disruptive. We’d like to be able to contact you to find a resolution. In order for us to do this please could you visit our website and use the Contact Us button to tell us more and when doing so please indicate you have left a TripAdvisor review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
298 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

This is the third time we have stayed at this Hotel and each time it never disappoints!

The Hotel is in a fantastic location on the sea front which you would have thought would have demanded a premium price tag but we managed to get a one-night stay for 2 people including breakfast for £38.30!! Bear in mind that the Travelodge frequently does offers so if you are planning on visiting, keep an eye on their website and you might find a bargain like we did!

Upon arrival, you can check-in using the quick point kiosks but as the front desk was quiet we checked in at reception. We were greeted very warmly by a lovely Lady called Itzi who was very friendly.

Our room was on the 7th floor (room 710). It was along the far end of the corrider and afforded us a partial sea-view with the rest of the view over buildings. It was a quiet room (being away from the lift and the ‘ping’ that indicates people are arriving on the floor – try to ask to have a room away from the lift as we imagine that it could be annoying especially when the Hotel is particularly busy).

When we stayed previously we had room 702 (the same floor but the other side) and we had extensive ‘sea-views’ and could see both the new and old piers and it was fantastic!

The rooms had recently been refurbished and so we had a great nights sleep on the new comfortable mattreses, admittedly the bathroom could have done with a bit of TLC but, it was clean and tidy so for an overnight stay, that’s all you really want! Another perk of the room is that you have tea and coffee which is a nice touch.

Breakfast was great and quite extrensive for the price we paid (you get an online booking discount if you pre-book this at the same time as booking the Hotel) and it consisted of eggs, bacon, sausages, tomato, toast, bread and spreads, croissants and muffins (which they will happily heat for you), fruit, yogurts and cereals. This is accompanied by a choice of teas, coffees and juices.

I would thoroughly recommend staying here as you are right on the seafront (as the name implies) as well as being only 5 minutes away from the town and approximately a 10-15 minute walk to the train station.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KMAnonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

the hotel is in the centre of Brighton at the sea front. Nothing to look at from the outside, however the staff cannot be more welcoming. the room was spotless and the chambermaids extremely efficient. I had a good deal and stayed 7 nights. There is a restaurant but I must say, I only ever saw one person eating in it, which is not surprising as it is surrounded by eating places. Certainly is a credit to the chain of budget hotels

Room Tip: ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Brighton City Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
0.3 mi away
Britannia Study Hotel
Britannia Study Hotel
#20 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
#26 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,342 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel

Property: Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel
Address: West Street, Brighton BN1 2RE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing