We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as bad as some folk have wrote!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel
Ranked #35 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed here from 10th-16th August 2014.
First impressions were 'oh dear, what have we done'. The reception area was very basic and dated but the staff were lovely and friendly and helpful. We asked for a room on high floor as advised by other reviewers and asked for a fan. Both were given with no problems. We were in room 716.
The room itself was quite small and dark as there was only a small window with thick net curtains, but we just pulled them back as the only things able to look in our window would have been the seagulls lol! Oh, and we had a sea view as well. Bed was comfortable, room was clean, tv was a bit of a let down ( not a lot of channels), bathroom had been refurbished with non slip flooring and nice red tiles with clean white grouting. Room service was exceptional, if we left a 'do not disturb' sign on door, we would find a pile of clean towels, a bag of coffee, tea, sugar etc and at least one toilet roll left outside the door for us.
Breakfast was good, selection of cereals, fruit, toast, hot food and drinks every morning and you just helped yourself.
As for all the gripes about noise from clubs nearby, when our window was closed we never heard a thing and what do you expect if you choose to stay in the middle of clubland??? We also never experienced any groups of young people hanging round the doors of the hotel.
The staff were all lovely and although the place could do with a major refurb, it was cheap and cheerful and in a great location for getting out and about.
Only thing I would say is that without the fan in our room, am not sure I could have stayed there for too long as it was very warm and stuffy in our room when we closed our window.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the top of the hotel if you want a bit of peace and quiet. We were in room 716 w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank MagicWriter2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,682)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,367 - 1,373 of 1,682 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Booked two rooms for two nights for myself, my husband and two daughters, which was £550. After traveling 3 hours to get there we were greeted with a dirty, tiny room with the shower hanging off the wall. We did complain and the staff moved us to another room equally as dirty, stank of stale smoke and had discusting stains all over the walls and ceiling. I have attached the pictures of our view, which consisted of hundreds of fag butts, beer cans and a pair of pants that someone had previously thrown out of the window! The towels were dirty, covered in stains and smelt of smokey bacon crisps! This is a hotel I wouldn't recommend and hope we never have the misfortune of having to wasted £550 to go there again!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rascal100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Having read some of the reviews on here who describe this hotel as 'excellent and great hotel' I'm not sure if they were staying in the same place as us.
Our honest and objective view as a mid forties couple staying here midweek to attend a wedding, is as follows:
1. Parking
NCP parking at a rate of £18.50 a day which includes a 25% discount. 500 yard walk down an industrial type street which could be a bit ropey late at night.
2. Reception
First impressions of the hotel was the copious amounts of bars and clubs adjacent to the hotel and with that the associated crowd of young people hanging outside the front doors of the hotel. Probably waiting for their friends who might be staying at the hotel.
The décor and furniture of the reception and bar was shabby and dated. Reception staff were very polite and efficient who obliged us when we requested a quiet room....thank goodness.
3. Lifts
More akin to something you would find in a car-park - dread to think what liquids had been spilt on it over the years...yuk!
4. Corridor
We were on the 2nd floor and when we got out of the lift what met us was a smell of stale smoke and extremely old doors chipped paint and stained carpet.
3. Room
Where do we begin - the door was covered in greasy marks and stains which looked like 'fluid' had been sprayed over it on both sides? The room itself was small, badly lit and smelt stale. Bedding looked new and fresh but we didn't want to examine it for too long! The rest of the room was generally shabby with a lot of dubious stains on the carpet and marks on the walls and furniture....it also looked like someone had picked their nose and wiped it on the wall. T.V had only one channel tuned and the remote didn't seem to do much.
The bathroom was like something out of a 1970's hospital, much in need of improving. Chipped and cracked sink area with hairs in the sink. Mould stains on the ceiling due to having no extraction, hence the funny smell. Shower was actually quite good, pressure was good and lots of hot water..however the cubicle was grimey with a cheap shower curtain.
We found a hair grip on the floor thick with dust and hair and a general state of poor cleanliness...I think the housekeeper must have been my teenage daughter who is not renouned for her hoover skills.
We didn't feel happy with the poor standard of this hotel and went down to reception to air our concerns. We explained that the photo we saw promoting the hotel and the poster in the corner of reception was indeed very different to the hovel that we had seen upstairs. Imagine our shock and surprise when she told us that those rooms had indeed recently been refurbished. Now call me stupid and Im no Jasper Conran but a lick of paint and a new bed isn't a refurb!!!!
If it hadn't been 9.45pm and we'd just driven 4 and half hours we probably would have left...in a hurry. As it was so late and we had to attend a wedding the next morning our only option was to stay. However we were meant to stay for 2 nights but decided to go home the next day after the wedding rather than stay there again.
Glad we had been given a quiet (er) room than the others which were badly affected by the thumping loud music from the clubs next door.
Fan was requested because you couldn't sleep with the window open because of the street/ bar noise and the room was very stuffy and hot. Slept ok (ish) and was quite relieved to have woken up unscathed and unbitten in the morning.
Voiced our concerns to the Asst. Manager in the morning and she was very apologetic as were all the staff and kindly offered us a full refund which we thought was very reasonable but felt slightly sorry for the staff as we weren't the only ones complaining. I think the Company should invest in their older buidlings especially the prices they are charging for such a poor standard.
In summary this hotel might be 'excellent' if you are a young ish person wanting a bed after a boozy night out in Brighton with your mates...if you don't fit into this group book with caution.... you have been warned!

Room Tip: If you cant find another hotel to stay in then request a quiet room at the back we had room 211.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank lesstatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

A tired looking and feeling Travelodge which is ideally situated near to all the attractions Brighton has to offer. Easy 10 minute walk from the station. Plenty of places to eat and drink nearby. A good bed for the night but not a place to hang around in. Noisy and busy club next door which is a problem when it is hot and you open the window.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Very average for an expensive Travel Lodge. Small gloomy room due to poor lighting and very basic bathroom. Noisy due to location and only off site parking offered which was very expensive. Good location for centre.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank lynwhite555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Stayed at this travel lodge with family on a short stay in Brighton .

Our experience at this hotel was very satisfactory ... reception staff were friendly and did everything we asked for , Reception area itself was not very well lit and dark .

2 Rooms we had were clean . good shower facility in double , shower/bath in Family room , comfortable beds . both room with AC fully functional .

We didn't spend much time in the rooms , As location was amazing, both sea front , shopping area and lanes were just within walking distance . we were out most of the time .

Wifi access was only GBP3.00/24 hours

The price of the stay was very good for place to sleep at night in central Brighton .

At the time of checking out we got a discount on our parking from the reception .

I would definitely return again .

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ali_sm99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

The hotel is excellently located, it is on the same road as the train station and it is all but on the sea front, our room in fact even had a sea view! As with all Travelodge's the service was cheap and cheerful!
The highlight would have to be that their was aircon in the room, which seeing as we went over on an incredibly hot week was much needed and a nice change from the sweaty hotel room's I am used to!
My only complaint would be that it is located in the vicinity of many night clubs and on the Friday and Saturday nights it was hard to sleep with the noise, this noise was all but gone all other days I was there (until Wednesday) and I slept perfectly those days in the quiet!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Colin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Brighton
Travelodge Brighton
#20 of 43 in Brighton
707 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Brighton City Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 43 in Brighton
2,421 reviews
0.5 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
864 reviews
1 mi away
Imperial
Imperial
#27 of 43 in Brighton
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel

Address: 14 West Street, Brighton BN1 2RE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Price Range: £37 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Brighton Seafront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing