We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place and perfect location!”
Review of Kempfield House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kempfield House
Ranked #32 of 94 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kosice, Slovakia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice place and perfect location!”
Reviewed 17 November 2012

The location of the hotel is great.. not on the noisy street but still in the centre of action, a step from the seafront, pier, pavilion, 10 minutes from the shopping area.. the restaurants, bars are all around. room was small but clean and nice, cozy, equipped with hairdryer, iron, coffee&tea facilities, biscuits, mint chocolates, bottled water and so on.. the only thing we found disturbing was that the room was pretty cold, we could feel the wind blowing through the old window.
the breakfast was 4stars, full english, also cereals, yoghurt, juices, pastry, and lots more..
would definately come back to stay at this hotel when visiting Brighton again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyskaHryzka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    111
    55
    15
    10
See reviews for
27
207
20
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012 via mobile

Great location, had a superior room with four poster which was huge and all the extra,s wine, biscuits, chocolates on bed, peanuts, water and coke were great! friendly helpful staff which all made for a good break. so good in fact we returned the following week when attending an event at the dome. Would recommend.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felpham, England
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

An awesome room, plus lovely wet room en suite with powerful shower and elegant fittings; top quality service and super breakfast. We will be back! Highly recommended for centrality, view, service and value for money. Could not fault anything!

Room Tip: Our room was "Hanover", on the first floor with a big bay window over the street and a vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dml20962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We booked very late and got a great deal on a superior double room. The room was spacious very clean and appeared to have been recently decorated. The owner Chris was very helpful on arrival and even helped take our bags up to the room. The room was full of lovely little touches, a few chocolates on the bed, small bottle of wine and proper wine glasses, two bottle of water and two cans of cola in the fridge. The hotel was situated just of the front near the pier, walk back a minute and you'll find lots of great bars and restaurants. Breakfast was a buffet of cereal, fruits, yoghurt's etc, plus a freshly cooked full English which was very good. Staff where all very friendly.

Parking is on street, we managed to find a spot close by and the Zone C permits can be purchased for £10 for 24hrs.

The only minor criticisms we had, are these are very minor where that the bathroom was a little tired and had little in the way of shelves to unpack all our toiletries. We also found the mattress a little springy as it was not pocket sprung. These did not spoil our stay in any way and hope the owner takes this as constructive criticism.

We would recommend the Kempfield and would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gyles67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We recently had a mid week break and chose this hotel from the good reviews on TA. In summary we would have no hesitation in returning for the following reasons:

Location - excellent. It is a 3 minute walk from the pier and is surrounded by a variety of good restaurants and bars.
Staff - very polite and helpful. Our bags were carried up the long flights of stairs (we were on the top floor). we were also asked if our bedroom was warm enough .
Bedroom - we had a small room however it had a very comfortable bed and all the amenities we required. It was quiet, exceptionally clean, well decorated and furnished to a very good standard. There was a wide variety of hot drinks, chocolates and biscuits and even an ironing board and iron.
Breakfast - again this was excellent. You could help yourself to a wide range of drinks, fruit, yoghurt, cereals and croissants. Following which you could then order a cooked breakfast from the menu which also included kippers, eggs benedict and the usual bacon, sausage etc.
Cost - we paid £60 per night and thought this very good value.
(Tip - there is an excellent pub at the end of the road which serves a huge range of specialist rums and very good Thai food, cooked by Thai people).

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the-marmite-kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

I stayed at Kempfield House on a business trip to Brighton which unfortunately coincided with the Lib Dem Conference, perhaps this was why the room, a small double with a tiny shower room that had seen better days was so expensive. I paid £85 which seemed to be a much higher rate than the tariff rates displayed at the hotel. But aside from that the room was very comfortable, pillows were soft enough for my fussy neck and the chocs and biscuits provided were very tempting. The breakfast was very efficiently and speedily provided with a good range of options and a selection of teas which were welcome.
The staff were very helpful and courteous so I would recommend the hotel as a basic but convenient place to stay in a good location

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We got our room via Late rooms for £55 a night. For this price it was great. Clean and spacious room and a very large breakfast selection. The location is excellent also. At full price I would say it is very overpriced as there are no frills. This somewhere to get your head down and get a good breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taraamanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#38 of 94 in Brighton
142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Strawberry Fields
Strawberry Fields
#24 of 94 in Brighton
374 reviews
0.0 mi away
One Broad Street Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Brightonwave
Brightonwave
#14 of 94 in Brighton
329 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Charm - Brighton Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hudsons Guest House
Hudsons Guest House
#53 of 94 in Brighton
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempfield House

Property: Kempfield House
Address: 18 Madeira Place, Brighton BN2 1TN, England (Formerly Genevieve Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Kempfield House 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quality grade II listed, RAC 4 Diamond regency hotel with a friendly and relaxed atmosphere located in the fashionable area of Kemptown, close to all main attractions and the city centre. All our rooms are well appointed with en suite bathrooms and we have luxury four poster and super kingsize balcony rooms available for that special occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kempfield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempfield House Hotel Brighton
Kempfield Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing