We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Kempfield House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kempfield House
Ranked #31 of 95 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stayed for two nights here, absolutely lovely hotel! Central location, clean rooms and a wonderful breakfast. Special mention to Scarlett on reception who was so welcoming. Would definately recommend and hopefully will visit again

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 355 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2013

We took our daughter and our niece for an over night stay,and as our niece was visiting from USA,it was important to get right location for such a short trip.ahe loved the house and the location was perfect with everything within walking distance.The staff were very efficient and polite.we would defiantly have no hesitation in retuning in the future!

Room Tip: For an extra few pounds you can get a superior room which was very spacious and comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnieRobBushey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Our experience at Kempfield House was absolutely wonderful. We had a superior room, which was spacious, with a refrigerator and a great shower. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was fantastic. Our room was on the first floor facing the street, which was noisy, but since we always bring earplugs it wasn't a problem for us.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Psychmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

A fantastic place to get away with very well appointed rooms, cheap rates and a lovely all you can eat breakfast with a choice of fried or continental.

Rooms are very nicely decorated and contain everything you'd expect, hairdryer, towels, shampoo and bodywash etc., flat screen T.V., (fast) wifi for no extra cost and the location is brilliant. The only slight downside was the noise at night sometimes, but that is going to be common to ANY hotel in this area and they do provide complimentary ear plugs. It's a tradeoff for being in a brilliant central location minutes away from many of Brightons attractions.

Service is very informal but I found that a plus; they were extremely helpful and very nice to talk to.

I would stay again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side of the building would be quieter as the west side face onto the road with pub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

No welcoming staff at the entrance just a young girl in jeans and a cardigan with her hands in her pockets who appeared from somewhere when I rang- and who then slouched off to find keys to the room. During speaking to her- the manager phoned her and I heard him shouting at her which I found embarrassing and put us off the place as it became a morose atmosphere.The rooms are OK,clean enough but a bit old fashioned ,dark furniture and old fashioned dark carpets -not at all boutique and fresh with no wow factor. Bathroom nice. Probably a bit over rated.Good location near the wheel but parking may not be outside as the token is for nearby streets not necessarily the one you are in.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drecklydreckly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

What a nice little place to stay in the heart of Brighton. Although my room was small and on the top floor with no lift is was clean and bright. The bathroom, although a little on the small side was clean and efficient.
Breakfast was as you would expect and actually quite good.
Parking is always a problem in Brighton and they were kind enough to offer me a parking permit, for an extra charge of £10 but well worth it as you can park right outside if you are lucky

Room Tip: pay a bit more and get a larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WD23TRAVELLER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Stayed at his very pleasant hotel recently and was impressed. Lovely room with a romantic four poster bed enhanced by wine and chocolates on the pillow. The room was spacious and clean and breakfast was excellent. Parking was on the local street but we found a place easily and we obtained a parking voucher from the hotel at a cost of £10. Located within a couple of hundred metres of the sea and close to the Lanes and shopping centre. Very nice hotel and we will visit there again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Royalist16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.3 mi away
Paskins Town House
Paskins Town House
#21 of 95 in Brighton
519 reviews
0.1 mi away
Strawberry Fields
Strawberry Fields
#27 of 95 in Brighton
391 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Breeze Brighton
Sea Breeze Brighton
#36 of 95 in Brighton
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Westbourne Hotel
Westbourne Hotel
#45 of 95 in Brighton
168 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waynes Place
Waynes Place
#55 of 95 in Brighton
33 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brighton Surf
Brighton Surf
#24 of 95 in Brighton
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempfield House

Address: 18 Madeira Place, Brighton BN2 1TN, England (Formerly Genevieve Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range: £44 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kempfield House 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quality grade II listed, RAC 4 Diamond regency hotel with a friendly and relaxed atmosphere located in the fashionable area of Kemptown, close to all main attractions and the city centre. All our rooms are well appointed with en suite bathrooms and we have luxury four poster and super kingsize balcony rooms available for that special occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kempfield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempfield House Hotel Brighton
Kempfield Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing