We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location lovely staff”
Review of Kempfield House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kempfield House
Ranked #33 of 94 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 December 2013

If you want to be near everything in Brighton for a very reasonable price this is the place for you.
Lovely helpful staff little touches in the room for the price are excellent. We would definately stay here again and recommend to friends for a trip to Brighton you could not be better placed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (350)
There are newer reviews for Kempfield House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 350 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2013

The Kempfield House is only 1 block off the beach & looks onto the Brighton Beach Ferris Wheel. It's nearby the Pier, the Brighton Pavilion, and not far from the Casino. If you're going to be there near a weekend, ask for rooms that don't face the street. It is located next to a very busy street for nightlife & the locals could make significant noise. The KH provides a permit for parking, but you have to find it on the street. That could be easy or hard depending on the time of your visit.

Our first room was very large and faced the street. Fortunately, the local noise ended at a reasonable hour. We decided to stay an extra night & the next room was much smaller, but very satisfactory.

Room Tip: Stay away from the street side near weekends.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mac H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Stayed in the Hanover room, large room, wet room not bad. Comfy bed... Huge actually! Only 1 tea bag and 1 milk... Could of asked for more... Just an observation really. Staff were lovely as was my perfectly cooked full English breakfast. Would I stay again! Yes for the good value price on booking.com! :)

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julioPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We only spent one night here and unfortunately it was cold and wet so we didn't see much of Brighton but we appreciated the warmth and comfort of this hotel. The room was really big with a king size bed and modern bathroom and it's a great location just off the Esplanade. The extras like the little bottle of wine were a nice touch.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Stayed at Kempfield House for just one night for a recent conference. Arrived early but reception staff very welcoming and looked after luggage which they later put in the room. Room I had was huge and very clean. Really comfortable bed, tea and coffee making with a small bottle of wine. Large towels, good bed linen, window you can open, good bathroom. In all very comfortable and I would recommend the hotel for business or pleasure. Unfortunately had to miss breakfast for an early meeting.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RandDtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Stayed here for one night whilst visiting relations. Our room and bathroom were spotless clean and comfortable but could maybe do with a make over as quite dated and tired looking. Very nice breakfast all cooked fresh with nice coffee. Staff friendly and would stay here again.

Room Tip: If staying more than one might a for a larger room. Our room was called Patchings and was small.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claudie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Top class establishment. The three rooms were clean, quiet (all at back of hotel), good tea making etc. and decent towels. No problems with security code entrance, able to contact reception via intercom over room change. Good breakfast, large selection. Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: Get room at back.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobBaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.3 mi away
Paskins Town House
Paskins Town House
#20 of 94 in Brighton
512 reviews
0.0 mi away
One Broad Street Guesthouse
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#41 of 94 in Brighton
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Charm - Brighton Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Strawberry Fields
Strawberry Fields
#27 of 94 in Brighton
379 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brighton Marina House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempfield House

Address: 18 Madeira Place, Brighton BN2 1TN, England (Formerly Genevieve Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range: £46 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kempfield House 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quality grade II listed, RAC 4 Diamond regency hotel with a friendly and relaxed atmosphere located in the fashionable area of Kemptown, close to all main attractions and the city centre. All our rooms are well appointed with en suite bathrooms and we have luxury four poster and super kingsize balcony rooms available for that special occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Kempfield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempfield House Hotel Brighton
Kempfield Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing