We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just what we were looking for”
Review of Kempfield House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kempfield House
Ranked #30 of 94 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just what we were looking for”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

My wife and I took a 2-night holiday to Brighton earlier this week, and we had a lovely stay at Kempfield House. The decor is simple, but classic, and very clean, and the staff is very friendly. Breakfast was also hearty, with a choice from full English to lighter, healthier options. The location is excellent, with the Brighton Wheel, SeaLife Aquarium and the beach only a few seconds walk away, at the bottom of the street. And though my wife and I didn't utilise them, there's a choice of Tesco, Morrison's and Sainsbury's right around the corner.

One small issue was that there was a little bit of noise in the street at night, but the staff were happy to move us to a room toward the back of the building if we so desired. Great service, tidy and well-stocked room, and perfect location. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room toward the back of the building if you're a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    101
    52
    14
    9
See reviews for
26
195
17
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

My Partner and I stayed for 4 nights from 24th Jan 2014. We had the superior double at the front on the first floor, and as we expected very noisy but still slept well. Room extremely spacious and en-suite excellent, with a wet room. Dining Room is in the basement, and is very light and airy. An excellent choice of buffet style cereals etc. and a cooked breakfast just to your liking. All the staff are very polite, friendly and very welcoming. Overall, an ideal place to stay if you wish to be in the heart of everything, providing you don't mind noise during the night/morning which is to be expected in the centre of town.

Room Tip: We presume the more you are prepared to pay, the better the room is, in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry_Williams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

This was our second Saturday night stay and last time we were in a superior double on the first floor. Very spacious and really quite nice although Saturday night revellers spilled well over into Sunday morning.
This time we didn't have a superior and it wasn't! Not so much tired as exhausted. Tiny bathroom and shower cabin with a macerated loo which seemed to have a mind of its own. The clothes hanging space was pretty poor. Being a second floor we had hoped it would be quieter. It is reasonable value for money but we might not be back.
Great breakfast though.

Room Tip: Only choose superior. Go as high as you can without a lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AncientMariner24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Had to stay in Brighton for one night at short notice and came across this little gem, from the moment i and my partner entered the property we were put at ease by the charming, young and very pretty woman whom greeted us, showing us to our room and been really helpful and chatty.
Me and my partner stayed in the en-suite room with a four poster bed, there was a small bottle of wine and chocolates awaiting us and the frige had soft drinks and bottles of water, all provided within the price.
The bed itself was comfortable and led to a good nights sleep, the room was very clean and had a bath.
In the morning i was very pleased with the selection of cereals, fruit juices, fruit and the full english breakfast and the friendliness of the staff.
Would definently recommend and stay again

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gary12342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 December 2013

If you want to be near everything in Brighton for a very reasonable price this is the place for you.
Lovely helpful staff little touches in the room for the price are excellent. We would definately stay here again and recommend to friends for a trip to Brighton you could not be better placed.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frisco, TX
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The Kempfield House is only 1 block off the beach & looks onto the Brighton Beach Ferris Wheel. It's nearby the Pier, the Brighton Pavilion, and not far from the Casino. If you're going to be there near a weekend, ask for rooms that don't face the street. It is located next to a very busy street for nightlife & the locals could make significant noise. The KH provides a permit for parking, but you have to find it on the street. That could be easy or hard depending on the time of your visit.

Our first room was very large and faced the street. Fortunately, the local noise ended at a reasonable hour. We decided to stay an extra night & the next room was much smaller, but very satisfactory.

Room Tip: Stay away from the street side near weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mac H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portsmouth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Stayed in the Hanover room, large room, wet room not bad. Comfy bed... Huge actually! Only 1 tea bag and 1 milk... Could of asked for more... Just an observation really. Staff were lovely as was my perfectly cooked full English breakfast. Would I stay again! Yes for the good value price on booking.com! :)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julioPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Strawberry Fields
Strawberry Fields
#27 of 94 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.0 mi away
One Broad Street Guesthouse
0.3 mi away
Brighton Marina House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grey's Hotel
Grey's Hotel
#16 of 94 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
0.2 mi away
No. 27 Brighton Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Guest and the City
Guest and the City
#3 of 94 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempfield House

Property: Kempfield House
Address: 18 Madeira Place, Brighton BN2 1TN, England (Formerly Genevieve Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Kempfield House 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quality grade II listed, RAC 4 Diamond regency hotel with a friendly and relaxed atmosphere located in the fashionable area of Kemptown, close to all main attractions and the city centre. All our rooms are well appointed with en suite bathrooms and we have luxury four poster and super kingsize balcony rooms available for that special occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Kempfield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempfield House Hotel Brighton
Kempfield Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing