We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large Rooms Friendly Staff”
Review of Kempfield House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kempfield House
Ranked #30 of 94 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2014

This hotel is very inviting situated within easy walking distance of both the beach and centre of Brighton with many amenities just minutes away. I was greeted by a very nice young lady and shown to my room which was much bigger than most hotel rooms in Brighton. I went for a superior room as it was not much difference in cost to the other rooms but had the added benefit of a free bottle of wine and complimentary soft drinks besides the tea and coffee. The room was very clean and had a lovely walk in shower. I would definitely recommend this hotel and have since been back there myself staying in a different room which was equally as good as the original room.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sussextriper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (363)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 363 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2014

First the positive, convenient for all of Brighton without being too in the centre, lovely helpful staff, breakfast very good, the quality and choice better than many hotels, room and bathroom very clean and tidy with a larger than usual bed. Whole hotel beautifully clean, I even saw the steps to basement swept and cleaned.
Negatives, bathroom being a wet room makes it very wet ( obviously ) after showering, but also rather dangerous regards using and risk of slipping, I'm not sure but I don't think correct flooring has been used, this also means door has got damaged by water ingress. Some of the electric sockets very loose. Outside noise at night is a problem when in the front bedrooms, not of course hotels fault but be aware, the back bedrooms quieter, so recommend if you like sleeping with a window open. Parking on street, if you are lucky and get one right outside is great, but otherwise it's a large zone to find a space in. Beware of correct completion of parking permit, obtained from hotel, price £10 per 24 hours, as our friends missed one thing and received a ticket! With the wheel at the end of the street it makes finding the hotel very easy. We will stay again next time in Brighton.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank smiler52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

A lovely bed and breakfast close to all the local attractions in brighton. The room was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was really nice and the staff very friendly and helpful. Lots of pubs and restaurants within walking distance. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emma h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed in March 2014. We were in a superior room. The Staff were most helpful and the premises was spotless. Breakfast was first Class. The guest house is in a very central location close to the pier and about 15 minutes walk to the railway station.We will certainly return

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

First the good points. We were met very warmly by all the staff at Kempfield House, the location was very central and the breakfast was very good as well. However, in no particular order, are the bad points.

1) Very noisy particularly from other guests due to poor sound proofing.
2) Bathroom ceiling peeling away.
3) Bathroom plumbing very bad. Even though we only – per instructions – put nothing other than human waste and toilet paper down the toilet, it never flushed properly and made awful noises.
4) Hairy bath towels.
5) Bedding smelt stale as if duvet hadn't been laundered or aired for a long time.
6) No door handle on door between our room and main lobby - a makeshift screw and masking tape were less than ideal.
7) Main security system to front door broken.
8) We were in The Regency Room on the ground floor and could see into the hotel garden. The fence in the garden between the hotel and the pub next door had clearly fallen down some time before and no attempt had been made to fix it so with the curtains to our room open, people in the pub garden could see into our room.
9) Our room smelt of cigarette smoke from time to time which I think was coming from the pub garden.
10) Wifi connection very poor.
11) Generally the bedroom décor was tired and old with a very squeaky bed, stained furnishings and in need of a complete refurbishment.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alimarcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I loved this hotel, no matter what the last reviewer said, i certainly didn't look at the toilet fittings or loose wallpaper, what do you expect ! this little hotel is a gem, we had a superior room with a queen size bed all the extras iron, hair dryer tea and coffee making facilities, the breakfasts were superb the staff friendly.What does it matter if the receptionist had only a little desk to sit on ! Mario the concierge couldnt have been more friendly or helpful. we booked this hotel 6 months ago and we got what we asked for. It was little noisy from the hostelry further up the street and from pissheads passing by from their night out, but the hotel managment did dish out ear plugs, what more do you want! keep it up KEMPFIELD HOUSE we shall return

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terry h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Having seen the other reviewers use words like "Faultless" and "Hidden Gem" I am wondering if I stayed in the same hotel!
we booked a "standard" double, I would seriously advise you to go for the "superior" options, "standard was for me very much below standard!. First of all I don't find that being welcomed by someone sitting at a shelf with a laptop great service, there is nobody available after 6pm and the owner/manager lives 15 miles away! The room was ok but overall disappointing, as soon as I saw earplugs being provided the warning bells started ringing, The bathroom had lots of tiny flies of some sort on the first day but we swatted most of them., really unappealling, the toilet had some weird box at the back which was very loud and would go off after flushing or after using the sink, I imagine this was irritating to other guests as well. Strangely when we were unpacking we found correspondence and clothing belonging to someone else in one of the drawers! Double glazing might be an idea, we actually thought our window was open during the night, it wasn't, but at least we realised what the earplugs were for :)On the bright side the location is decent enough and breakfast was excellent with friendly service. The girls who work there were friendly.

Room Tip: Don't book a standard double room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottishSue0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
870 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 43 in Brighton
2,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Avalon Guest Accommodation
Avalon Guest Accommodation
#50 of 94 in Brighton
185 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coward's Guesthouse
Coward's Guesthouse
#24 of 94 in Brighton
117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Breeze Brighton
Sea Breeze Brighton
#38 of 94 in Brighton
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempfield House

Address: 18 Madeira Place, Brighton BN2 1TN, England (Formerly Genevieve Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range: £43 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kempfield House 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quality grade II listed, RAC 4 Diamond regency hotel with a friendly and relaxed atmosphere located in the fashionable area of Kemptown, close to all main attractions and the city centre. All our rooms are well appointed with en suite bathrooms and we have luxury four poster and super kingsize balcony rooms available for that special occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kempfield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempfield House Hotel Brighton
Kempfield Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing