We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Resolutely un-trendy and all the better for it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Florentina - CLOSED

La Florentina
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Resolutely un-trendy and all the better for it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

We live nearby and have been going here for years, it's our 'go-to' for any special occasion. The owners are friendly and charming without being all over you. The decor is retro in a completely non-ironic way. If you want modern and trendy, this is NOT for you. But if you want large portions of well-cooked, excellent quality food that's not been messed about with, go now. It's not cheap but you get what you pay for and the quality is consistently good. I've never had enough room for the sherry trifle but it's my husband's fave and is just like my Mum used to make at Christmas. A lovely place.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Kate J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    4
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“La Florentina, Norfolk Square, Brighton”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

I took my Bride to this restaurant. I grew up with this place and it has always been good. There are good restaurants and bad restaurants. La Florentina is the best. They do the best fish and the best Brandy Mel. Their spaghetti is very good indeed also. First class.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurence M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Find some where else”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Food is bland, the menu and restaurant is dated. Good wine, and the fish is fresh, thats about all. There is a reason that we were the only ones in there on a Friday night!

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The best in Brighton”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

My wife and I have been coming to this restaurant for almost 30 years and every time the food is absolutely first class. We have brought friends here who were also very impressed. Madaleine's saute potatoes are the best I have tasted anywhere in the world. Jose is a wonderful and attentive host.We will keep coming here as long as this lovely couple are here!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jack_gilling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

The food was incredible!! Fresh, tasty, excellent service, reasonable price given the quantity and quality. Lovely cosy atmosphere would definately reccomend a visit for amazingly fresh, locally sourced, delicious cuisine!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank juliette9061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Florentina also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing