We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good fun”

Ghost Walk of the Lanes
Ranked #5 of 42 Tours in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Excellent fun for all ages and/all company. Great before dinner. Great sense if humour and a good/way to spend an evening.

2  Thank JKahlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boooooob, Owner at Ghost Walk of the Lanes, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for your kind and positive review; most appreciated. It's interesting that you should mention the ghost walk is good pre-dinner entertainment as i shall soon be starting a ghost walk & dinner at the the Cricketers pub, Black Lion Street. The Cricketers is said to be one of our most haunted taverns with a Jack the Ripper connection. Thank you again.

Kind regards,

Rob (Silas)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 145 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

We have seen ghost walks advertised all over but as we had 2 nights and not many plans we decided to go for it to try something different. Our tour guide was charismatic and fun. The tour lasted about 1 hour and 15 and walked through the lanes down to the steine and back through the lanes. Lots of history and spooky tales even one about jack the ripper! The only thing that would make it better would be to go in darkness but then thats our fault for picking a nice light evening!

1  Thank lcstreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boooooob, Owner at Ghost Walk of the Lanes, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Hi there! Thank you for the kind review. I'm so pleased you both enjoyed the Ghost Walk of the Lanes. Unfortunately we run at 7.30 P.M. all year, which means it's not always in darkness. However, we like to feel that we are entertaining enough, and informative enough, about Brighton's history to compensate during the summer months. Why not come back in deepest December. Although you might find it a bit to shivery and chilly then. Thank you once again.

Kind regards,

Rob (Silas)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My husband and I attended the Ghost Walk of the Lanes, last night, and found it to be great fun. The guide was very inclusive, and ensured everyone was equally welcome.
We saw parts of The Lanes that we might have ordinarily overlooked, and it definitely made sure we looked a little closer to some of the amazingly architecture and interesting buildings smuggled away.
Great fun, and we loved that the guide made an extra special effort with Millie, who was our youngest 'ghost-walker' within our group.

Thank PollyPocketRocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boooooob, Owner at Ghost Walk of the Lanes, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thank you for your kind review. I'm pleased that, along with the ghost walk itself, you enjoyed learning about some of the history of Brighton and its architecture . Regards to my young ghost walker, Millie.

Kind regards,

Rob (Silas)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Having been on similar walks in other cities thought it would be a good idea. The guide, Jasper, did his best but the walk was all but ruined by a couple of people on the tour who butted in were loud and disruptive. Something Jasper tried to ignore, address with jokes all to no avail. At one point we considered leaving as it just wasn't worth the walk. Difficult to review when the tour was hijacked by people in the group.

Thank 1Sussexgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boooooob, Owner at Ghost Walk of the Lanes, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Hello there!

I'm very sorry to hear that the walk was spoiled for you due to the inconsiderate and unruly behaviour of a few senseless people . I have to say this sort of behaviour is something we rarely encounter.. However, Jasper (Andrew) did inform over what happened. Please email me and I will arrange a complete refund: robmarksbrighton@gmail.com.

Kind regards,

Rob
(Owner - Ghost Walk of the Lanes)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I went on the ghost tour on a busy saturday night in Brighton, I am a local and so know the lanes quite well and so didn't really know what to expect. The tour guide was fantastic, he kept everyone engaged and entertained as well as being very well informed, we were taken around some historic sites in the lanes and were told wonderful stories about its past. It was brilliant and very interesting, definitely worth the money and i would recommend it to anyone visiting Brighton or to locals who haven't yet been on the tour.

1  Thank Jade A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boooooob, Owner at Ghost Walk of the Lanes, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review. I'm absolutely delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the show. I like to think the Ghost Walk of the Lanes as more street theatre than a just a guided tour.Interestingly, we have a good many locals come along who, not only enjoyed the entertainment, but discover much about local history withing the tales of ghostly goings on. Thank you once again.

Kind regards,

Rob (Silas)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ghost Walk of the Lanes also viewed

 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Ghost Walk of the Lanes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing