We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well it was a Tuesday night in November!”
Review of IL Bistro

IL Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
IL Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #67 of 1,140 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$39
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Locally owned and locally loved, IL Bistro is the original bistro in the lanes. A family run steakhouse brasserie that specialises in the best available scotch steaks, prime cut meats and seafood dishes. IL Bistro has worked with local food suppliers since 1976 and prides itself on being one of the longest serving independent restaurants in Brighton. Set in a fisherman's cottage which dates back to the 18th century in the reign of George I the restaurant is situated in the heart of the lanes in Market street and is within walking distance from the beach, Churchill square, the Royal Pavilion and the Theatre Royal and is open for pre theatre dining, breakfast and lunches seven days a week.
Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Well it was a Tuesday night in November!”
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

Looked good from the outside, however, when we went in the atmosphere was rather, well.... Non existent!
Outside it was advertised as a steak house, in reality, they had less steaks on the menu than most pubs.
We ordered rib eyes, mine with a sauce. We were told that the steak came with nothing, potatoes, veg etc are all extra.
The meal arrived rather quickly, which was to be expected as we were the only customers in the place.
We were pleasantly surprised, the steak was excellent.
PLEASE BE WARNED: the drinks are very expensive, when you add the extras (such as chips) to your meal, the food is also expensive, to add to that, 10% is sneakily added to everything. All in all a very expensive meal.
We will not be going back

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    128
    55
    15
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Three of us visited on a Sunday evening. We chose the restaurant because of a tastecard deal. Two of us had muscles which were overcooked and cold. The sauce was pretty tasteless. The other had lamb which was ok but veg of the day was boiled plain cauliflower. The cheese and biscuits were the highlight of the meal. Some decent brie. Will not visit again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tgardenhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
539 reviews
432 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Good spot for lunch”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We wandered in while looking for a place to eat lunch. Our waiter was friendly and promptly seated us. We had a nice glass of wine each, hubby has the spinach & ricotta lasagne and I had the pork skewers. While the lasagne was a bit small, my meal was great. Good spot for a decent lunch.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank foodie_wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bitterly disappointing.. Just a complete and utter joke”
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

Down in Brighton with a friend and fancied a good lunch.. From the outside it looks lovely and some good deals advertised.. From the minute we sat down I did feel we should have a coke and go elsewhere but my friend wanted to eat there and then.. The atmosphere well what atmosphere just pathetic music, cheap grotty furniture and useless staff.. The tables too crammed in etc... Starter; white bait but far too much and again cheap frozen crap.. One I had tasted very odd.. Followed by the minute steak, (you would think impossible to bugger up), meat tasted slightly off and my friends rare steak was not rare it was a mess.. Wilting salad and the peppercorn sauce like urine.... Now I do too well but this was an utter disgrace yet they add 10% as standard just to rub salt in the wound.. Gets worse!!! Now one hour later my friend just vomited.. Thanks ill bistro pos!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank T8pex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Suffolk
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast in Brighton”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Fab breakfast, Great service. Value for money. Would recommend if you're looking for a good English breaky!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DonnaRow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed IL Bistro also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to IL Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing