We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing food and service, a real find!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Coast Restaurant - CLOSED

The Coast Restaurant
Price range: US$6 - US$31
Cuisines: British, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: We are a small independent Steak House in the heart of Brighton - home of the slow roasted ribs and delicious freshly made meals to satisfy all cravings. All of our dishes are made in-house with ingredients sourced from local suppliers. Our steaks are seasoned for 24 hours in our secret seasoning then grilled to perfection and our ribs are served with our unique glazes - we guarantee you'll not find better ribs in Brighton. Great value set lunch menus (£7.95) And set evening set menus (£12.95 & £15.95) We are also open for breakfast weekend mornings. Coast is a perfect venue if you are looking for an independent restaurant offering great local fish dishes and steaks.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing food and service, a real find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

I came here for lunch today with a friend and was very pleasantly surprised indeed! We shared a few starters, whitebait and calamari, both fresh, hot and non-greasy, and spicy chicken wings which were massive and really meaty. Then I had a burger with blue cheese, chips and coleslaw, which was really really good, cooked perfectly and the bun was amazing, I think they must have made them there because they were really soft and fresh. I think it was the restaurant manager who served us and he was a lovely man, very friendly and patient with us being very indecisive!
This restuarant seems to have undergone a transformation recently and is well worth a visit.
I will definately be back!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahstar27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    63
    28
    24
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great steak”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Got the nicest seat in the restaraunt with views over the square .
Good music playing , local pictures on the wall , really nice setting .
Service was prompt , starters good , and the steaks were absolutely spot on .
Prices average for Brighton , and you certainly get enough portion wise .
My only complaint about the whole experience was the fact that they added service on to the bill at 10%
I always leave a tip , and in this case left to my own choice it would have been more than 10% as the meal was so good .
We will be back .

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dustyblue2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorking, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

I visit that Restaurant few days Ago and i didnt had much expectation about this place All i wanted it was good food and i was fully satisfied about that.I've ordered Sweet and spicy glazed pork ribs and it was really nice got to
Recommend that. Also it's situated in a nice place so I enjoyed my meal and time there.definitely coming back!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jarek J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“perfectly acceptable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Popped in for lunch on a rainy weekday, very quiet, service attentive but not intrusive. We sat upstairs with a view of the square. We had a rump steak and the Coast Burger, the steak was cooked as ordered and tasty, the burger delicious. Fries crispy and wine reasonably priced.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank laurent f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice setting ...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

But really needs to try harder. Service was slow because a member of staff hadn't turned up, so the waiter tried hard.
So main courses slightly lukewarm ...
Ribs were good , marinade was good , steak ok - nothing special taste wise - the steak sauce looked like it was straight from a packet !! Fries were chillier than they should have been.

In a small intimate restaurant service should never be an issue, mediocre doesn't really cut it these days ... and in Brighton, the choice is huge...

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Coast Restaurant also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing