We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special”
Review of Jamie's Italian

Jamie's Italian
Ranked #179 of 1,124 Restaurants in Brighton
Price range: US$19 - US$32
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: JAMIE'S ITALIAN BRIGHTON A partnership between Jamie Oliver and his Italian mentor, chef Gennaro Contaldo, Jamie's Italian has won thousands of fans for its delicious and affordable food since launching their first restaurant in Oxford in May 2008. The Jamie's Italian menu is based on dishes you'd find people eating all over Italy, made with care but delivered without fuss. The family-friendly restaurants are all about serving up rustic, Italian food made using the best possible ingredients, plus fresh pasta that's made on-site every day, and an award-winning children's menu, too. The lovely Brighton restaurant is located on Black Lion Street, a stone's throw from the seafront, nestled within Brighton's famous Lanes. The rooftop terrace is a great spot to enjoy a drink and a bowl of our freshly made pasta or a burger after a trip to the beach, or relax in one of the cosy booths and watch the chefs at work in their beautiful open kitchen. There's something for everyone here, whatever the occasion - a quick bite with friends or a big family dinner - come in and soak up the atmosphere while you tuck into some delicious Italian food.
N Ireland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Stopped off for a quick lunchtime bite to eat.
Ordered a pizza which was quite difficult to cut, so even more difficult to chew.
The staff never asked me once if the meal was ok, even when I was paying!
Wouldn't return & wouldn't recommend.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryK-NI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    702
    659
    486
    299
    191
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
breakers, grand cayman
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

We always visit Jamie Italian when in Brighton, and we never had a bad experience. The menu has great choices for all to enjoy, the food is well prepared and presented, the service is always great. This is a busy place, make a reservation. Great restaurant for families, they now have pizza. You must try this restaurant.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank captaing13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Went tonight with my wife and daughter, were on a break to Brighton and have never been Jamies Italian before and thought we would give it a go. We had a shared starter of the bread and it was satisfactory. I had a special of the lamb and ricotta ravioli and that too was ok. My wife was disappointed with her main, she had a rump steak which was ok but there was it was served with fried which were over cooked and very crunchy and some were burnt. It also came with what they called a slaw, which was coleslaw it was totally covered in lemon juice and no one could eat it as it was very bitter, other plates around us also had left this on their plates. My daughter had the chicken lolly pops, they were ok, but it was served with wedges instead of chips which seems a strange choice for kids as most are quite fussy. Overall it was ok but wouldn't go again and have had far better for the cost.

Helpful?
Thank neil5133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unimpressed”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I have been to the Jamie Oliver franchise in Oxford which was a good experience. Service and friendliness low key. Food expensive and uninspiring.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kathryn p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food and atmosphere...”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Enjoyable meal out at lunchtime. Burgers were nice as was the steak and fried squid! Portions looked a little small on the pasta dishes so we dodged them.

Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jamie's Italian also viewed

Crawley, West Sussex
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Jamie's Italian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing