We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Food, Wonderful Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mediterraneo Restaurant

Mediterraneo Restaurant
Ranked #24 of 1,098 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$27 - US$31
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Mediterraneo Deli is a slice of Sicily specialising in regional Sicilian food. Restaurant by night, they also enjoy catering for all events, from lunch meetings to dinner parties and weddings. Friday & Saturday evenings, by reservation only. Mon to Thu Lunch/Dinner, by private hire only.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful Food, Wonderful Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We visited Mediterraneo on a Friday at the beginning of May after seeing some very good reviews in the Fiveways News. We weren't disappointed. When we first looked at the menu, it didn't seem that exciting but when we got the food - WOW. I had steamed cod with courgettes, capers, garlic, soya grains in white wine. It was beautiful. My husband had veal scallop rolls stuffed with ham, tomato, capers and mozzarella, coated in breadcrumbs. He said it was the best veal he's ever had. But it was the little things that made the evening. Giorgio was really friendly through the whole evening, always calling us by our names. He was very enthusiastic about his wines - we chose a white one to have with the meal. I tasted it and it seemed fine but Giorgio wasn't happy with the smell of the cork and insisted on getting us a new bottle. When we got our main courses, he came over with a complementary glass of red wine because he thought it matched the veal better than the white wine. The whole experience was wonderful. Looking at some of the other reviews, I would say that if you want cordon bleu food, then don't visit Mediterraneo. But if you want good honest, tasty home cooked food, you'll love it here. We will certainly be returning and have already recommended it to a number of people.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank TortoiseGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    315
    18
    11
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
106 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“The whole is greater than the sum of its parts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

WARNING : if you like the same old italian foods which you can get in any identi-town in the country with bland restaurant style service then this probably isn't the place for you and maybe you should look at Jamie's or Carluccio's rather than go here and then complain.

As per the title of my review, the whole is greater than the sum of its parts. What I mean by that is all the little things that make up a good night out just taken by themselves aren't fantastic but put them all altogether and it makes for an excellent dining experience and a worthy night out.

The restaurant is small and intimate, with only around 5 tables. For this reason it's hard to get a booking (rather than it being exclusive) in conjunction with not being open every night of the week or trying to turn tables for two sittings. The decor is interesting and the walls are covered with art by the cook (Giorgio's wife Sonya). Low light provided by candle create a nice atmosphere. It appears that once they ran a deli and started offering food and now the property and business is more concentrating of evening dining.

The food can be described as good home cooking. It's tasty rustic Italian. It's an important distinction to make, as most people's expectation of Italian food will be very different. As with most countries, different regions have different cooking styles and this is a long way from your Strada, Prezzo, Jamie, etc and it is more err'ing to the home style comfort food. The menu is short and for us was emailed beforehand although we didn't need to choose - I guess it is partly designed with what the cook fancies cooking and what produce is in season (cheap) at the time. If booking, you need to know you're not fussy and will generally eat anything happily.

The star of the show (because sadly we didn't get to meet Sonya) is Giorgio. Without him eating here would be only slightly above average. He greets you like an old friend, quickly learns your name and addresses you all night long with it and ultimately makes you feel very special. He'll discuss the menu in details and help go through the carefully selected wines he has available to match either your pallet or pair with the food you are ordering (if you are lucky, then both). You do feel you are like dining in a friends house and are slightly disappointed that a) he can't sit with you and share the meal and b) has to go off to other tables and do the same thing.

It was a thoroughly enjoyable night out and not too heavy on the pocket. Would happily recommend to anyone who wants a dining experience rather than just a meal out.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Chunkylover53__x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Exquisite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

I sent this email following my visit.
Dear Giorgio I felt I needed to email you to thank you for such an amazing evening. We genuinely have never ever felt so welcome and comfortable in any restaurant ever. The food and wine (inc price) service environment and music were 100%, utterly exquisite. Totally unforgettable. Thank you so so much

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Tarn62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unexpected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

What a fabulous find - tasty home cooked food and attentive service. Don't expect fast service as this little restaurant is run just by the owner and his wife, so you need to sit back, relax and just enjoy the food and wine! A great evening very much enjoyed by a group of friends.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisalooby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Hidden little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

This is a real hidden gem! Had dinner here with friends and it was superb. Food was excellent and the ambiance lovely. You have to be patience, because everything is freshly cooked and well worth the wait. Would definitely recommend a visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Diane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mediterraneo Restaurant also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Mediterraneo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing