We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would visit again”
Review of Good Friends

Good Friends
Ranked #244 of 1,133 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Would visit again”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Service was excellent, food came very quickly and was very nice.
Not too badly priced considering city location and how close to the seafront it was.
Only downside really was the 'atmosphere'. Restaurant was very quiet as it was a Monday evening, some background music would have made it feel a little livelier.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    48
    10
    2
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, England
Level Contributor
86 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Poor food, terrible service - go to China China instead!”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Three of us ate here last week because our usual Chinese restaurant in Preston Street, China China, was shut. Oh how I wish we hadn't bothered. We last ate in this restaurant about 3 years ago and wasn't that impressed then.

The place was nearly empty. We were shown to our seat and given a menu. I say 'a menu' rather than both menus because they have two menu's, a more expensive one and a cheaper Express Menu. Of course we were only offer the expensive menu, we had to ask for the cheaper one which was presented without a smile.

We ordered two starters from the a'la carte menu, chilli squid and pork dumplings. The squid came up quite quickly and it was ok, no deep fried shallots on top though, we had to ask for the dumplings twice which came up some time later after we had finished the squid, they were greasy and rather unpleasant.

Then one main course was delivered, roast duck and pork on rice. There was about half the amount of meat than you get at China China (about 4 pieces of duck), and the pork was completely dried out like beef jerky. Our friend who came with us then had to wait over 10 minutes for his sweet and sour prawns. We kept asking and they kept saying it's coming it's coming. We had finished ours by the time his came up. It was ridiculously sweet with no hint of sour at all, just some large chunks of peppers with a few battered prawns in a sugar syrup basically.

Now bear in mind there were just two other tables with customers and they were under no stress whatsoever. Oh yes, and we ordered two beers, £3.20 each, and they came up draught in two small half pint glasses - not even bottles.

When the boss/manager presented the bill I told him I wasn't going to pay the service charge. He couldn't care less, no apology, no asking what the problem was, he just took the money saying he didn't want any argument.

£33 for that? Total rip-off for bad food and staff that really couldn't care less. Please, if you want reasonably priced Chinese in Preston Street go to China China but avoid Tuesdays!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stylusman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Don't bother - try China China instead”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

So disappointing. Have eaten here before, but won't bother again.

Food was delayed twice. One starter came out quickly, the other five minutes later. No good if you want to share. I then waited 15 minutes longer for my main course than my companions, despite repeated 'it's coming, it's coming' assurances from the staff, when that simply wasn't the case. Food was below average, and no apology for messing us around; and we had to make them take the service charge off.

Just awful. Next time we'll go to China China, which had been our original plan but it was closed.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Benjiburner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
336 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Cheap, cheerful, and very quick”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

So it isn't the best Chinese meal in Brighton, but if you are in a hurry it is perfect. What more can one say?

Actually, the food is quite reasonable anyway.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great food.....Great Restaurant”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

All I can say is, the meal I had with my family was one of best we've ever had in a Chinese restaurant. Lovely food and good friendly service from our waiter. It was so busy, we had to join a queue and wait for a table to become available.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Good Friends also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Hove, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Good Friends? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing