We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Was expecting better...”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Planet India

Planet India
Ranked #86 of 1,112 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Was expecting better...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

I had heard the hype and was excited to visit. I was expecting big things.

The service was great and the decor was vibrant and reminded me of places I have stayed in India so when the food arrived I was ready to be wowed. I ordered the spiciest curry they had!

It was a great size but was almost completely dry, with all the rice I had to keep washing it down with water. It was hot but had absolutely no flavor. I tasted my boyfriends curry and although it had more sauce and a little more flavor (due to the coconut milk) it was still a little bland.

Such a shame as all the reviews looked so promising. I may give it another shot but I won't be holding my breath...

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Caz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    60
    17
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Hot n Spicey!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

Blimey, Planet India must be doing something right then?

We stopped by for an inpromptu dinner on a recent Saturday, arrived at 6pm as the doors opened, to met wth a smile and "have you booked" ? we said no, just stopped by chance, and they told us every table was booked twice over tonight! - but if we could vacate by no later than 7 then we'd be ok. So we took up the chance!

Have to say what a personable guy the FoH chap is, really friendly, one of the bare foot brigade! ;)

Had a lovely meal, kind of homely authentic cooking, quirky, eclectic, hippie, veggie & vegan friendly, fits Brighton to a T, no fuss or finese for sure, but very tasty, and boy it was spicey HOT, we were sweating cobs :). Defo would return. Dinner for 2 for 20quid, come on.....

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bojangles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent takeaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

Had always heard great things about Planet India and I'm kicking myself for not ordering sooner.

The food is superb and extremely delicious. I don't order a lot of Indian but I will from now on.

Highly recommended!

Helpful?
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great veggie food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Don't be put off by the appearance of the place. Very friendly, welcoming staff. Very good choice of authentic vegetarian Indian food. Varying levels of "hotness" - beware of the black chickpeas if you don't like it too hot!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank teddysaunty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Amazing vegetarian real Indian Cousine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

Please book a table in advance for weekend evening as you may not find space to sit.
Interior is very Indian, homely, has a great vibe and is very colorful. It is always very warm inside, so don't worry about what to wear, you will be fine.
Staff is amazing, friendly and you feel welcome immediately.
Food us served in the middle and everyone gets a clean plate, so it us definitely food to share. Food is delicious and healthy. It is also very filling.
They serve alcohol, including wine, beer etc of a very nice quality.
If you fancy nice food in a happy surrounding it us worth trying.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Natalia_Brighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Planet India also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Planet India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing