We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap & Clean.No frills but a perfect location!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Willows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Willows
Ranked #89 of 97 Brighton B&B and Inns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cheap & Clean.No frills but a perfect location!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

Me and 2 girlfriends on a nigh out in Brighton just wanted a cheap, clean room to put our heads down, and that's exactly what we got. Very happy and good value. We even had parking for £5 a night right outside the hotel! Plus a perfect view of Brighton pier. Can't understand what others are moaning about. If they wanted more they should have dug deeper in their pockets! Would defo come again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmagroves13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    28
    30
    19
    107
See reviews for
19
53
18
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guemene-sur-Scorff, France
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

Room very basic, TV and en-suite shower. This is not luxury, this is a place that is cheap and safe if you get caught out and need a place to stay. I found it to be very quiet, staff member very helpful. If you are used to Jury Inn, or Travel Lodges this is not anything like them, but at £20 for a double room, who can argue? I travel a lot and I got some sleep and was in the warm. Kettle in room, but no breakfast available on site, however just adjacent there is a fabulous cafe, open at 8am (sorry can't remember the name of it!). Parking could be an issue outside, but there are spaces on the sea front where you have overnight for free, until 9am anyway, do some research for that.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 6, a double room and got no traffic noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

If you're a builder who gets up at 4.30am, and willing to share a deathtrap cupboard of a room with two noisy mates, then this is for you. Please note, no parking, no breakfast and no hot water.
You will however get traffic noise and police sirens throughout the night. Enjoy.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davey208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hungerford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013 via mobile

We paid £35 late checkout. Clean and tidy room no problem with shower at all. Basic clean very friendly staff. Got lost they stayed on longer to let us in. Only bad thing bed was 2 singles moved together. However it was very fun nonetheless ;-)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyPandora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

After reading the reviews on this hotel we were not expecting much for our one night stay. On arrival we were pleasantly surprised, it was in a great location, everything was clean, everything in the room worked and staff were friendly, allowing us to leave our bags the next day until we were moving on later. The only small complaint was that the rooms got far too hot overnight!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

I read the, frankly racist, reviews on here AFTER I had made a booking for New Years Eve, so I was dreading it really, but I couldn't cancel. First of all the staff, who I found helpful and friendly. Yes, they're Eastern European, what's that got to do with anything?

One of the reviews on here criticised the carpets and cleanliness. I don't know if they've had a refurb but my room was spotless with laminate flooring. Very small though with no storage, so ideal to crash out after New Years Eve but I wouldn't want to stay more than a couple of nights. The shower took about 3 minutes to generate a cold trickle.

Location is superb, although parking is a bit of a problem and expensive on the sea front. It's within staggering distance of the lovely Black Dove pub in Kemp Town, worth checking out for the Brooklyn beer alone.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bber22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

After coming to Brighton for 5 days on business over the christmas period, not wanting to spend a fortune i choose to stay here! I read some reviews on here and expected the worst... On arrival i was greeted by a friendly Polish man who was polite and well mannered, i proceeded to the room, (which was a double) not bad at all, cant understand what people are saying on here about carpets as my room was laminated..! the bed was a little small and a little tired but it was clean and didnt bother me! If you want a budget hotel (£40 is about as budget as it gets in brighton) then this hotel is ideal, more for groups than couples. I would say best used as a base instead of the focus! Before i turned up here i was staying at drakes around the corner absolutely amazing but at £275 a night this is more my style, great location, close to everything though sometimes a little rowdy on a saturday night!

Room Tip: if you want luxury this isn't for you, but if you want a cheap base for an active weekend.. Amaz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank will h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
1.0 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#21 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,506 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waynes Place
Waynes Place
#54 of 97 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.1 mi away
Westbourne Hotel
Westbourne Hotel
#47 of 97 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
New Madeira Hotel
New Madeira Hotel
#70 of 97 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.1 mi away
Strawberry Fields
Strawberry Fields
#27 of 97 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.2 mi away
Istanbul EV Guest House
Istanbul EV Guest House
#66 of 97 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Willows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Willows

Property: The Willows
Address: 27 Lower Rock Gardens, Brighton BN2 1PG, England (Formerly Sandalwood Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Willows 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Willows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing