We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, superb service, just love this place!”

Sabai Thai Gastrobar
Reserve a table
2
Thu, 4/15
20:00
Ranked #113 of 1,177 Restaurants in Brighton
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Sabai show's tremendous consistency having won a certificate of excellence award for the last 4 years running. The Thai word Sabai translates simply as relaxed, the perfect description of this Brighton gastrobar where the urban cool of London on Sea is matched to the ethnic charm of the Land of Smiles. Bringing a taste of Phuket's beach bars and Bangkok's most upmarket restaurants to the UK, Sabai is all about chilling out, South East Asian style a fact which is patently clear from the silk floor cushions, cocktail menu and warm, smiling welcome. The deep red and dark wood, gold and green interior is as beautiful as Sabai's freshly cooked, authentic food, MSG free and made using local ingredients where possible and imported Thai herbs and spices where essential. Because everything is made to order, special requests are welcomed.
Reviewed 9 June 2018

I got called in the afternoon to confirm my booking for 10, the call was so friendly and warm, which was the same reception we got when we arrived int he evening.

As I said there were 10 of us and the staff served us quickly/efficiently and with a smile!

All meals came out together and as always here, the food is amazing, The best Massaman Curry I've ever tasted!

If you love Thai go here, as far as I'm concerned it's the best for miles and the staff are amazing!

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Daren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (658)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 99 of 658 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2018

We were recommended in trying Sabai for a get together with two friends...wished I hadn’t bothered.7.30pm.
We were shown to our table and ordered our drinks we than waited for over half an hour to order our meals and starters.Our starters arrived 20 minutes later were swimming in grease.Tempura prawn and spring rolls.

We waited on near 45 minutes after our starters had been eaten for our main meals.Not what I expected taste less.

Waiting again for our ordered desserts.Only 2 desserts arrived so one of my friends shared our desserts.We asked for the bill with the charge of a third dessert! Mentioned that we hadn’t received all the desserts and it needed to come off the bill...

We came out of there in disbelief..not once did we get asked if the meal was ok,not an apology for the dessert that never arrived and very poor customer service.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Tilly4019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018 via mobile

We visited Friday night, 01.02.18 as a group of three. The restaurant was full, it isn’t very big so I assume it is often the case. The service was very slow from the outset, taking a fair while to get a drinks order sorted. It took a substantial amount of time to get food ordered too. The food arrived in ok time, a nice break between starter and main too. It was delicious which was great. It took ages to be asked if we wanted a dessert, when the menus arrived it took a further 10-15 minutes to put the order in. Two of the three puddings arrived but the third never did. No staff came over to check and stood talking at the counter. We went without the third dessert and requested the bill when we eventually managed to get the staffs attention. Low and behold all desserts were on there! We asked for it to be removed and explained, little to no apology for the mistake or slow service. Would not visit again based on this experience.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank CourtneyDarby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018

We ordered a delivery and the food was really lovely. Fragrant, tasty but not overpowering and really good sauces. We'll definitely be ordering again.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rachel7662016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018 via mobile

Ok, let me start by saying I’m not fussy or overly picky as a rule. And yes, I’ve eaten Thai food all over the world, including in Thailand. BUT I just spend nearly £30 on a starter, main and rice via Deliveroo and it wasn’t worth a third of that.

I picked this restaurant as it advertises gluten-free choices on its menu, which is fantastic and a big plus. I wanted delivery as a treat on my final night in Brighton.

The food did come within the allotted one-hour slot, but was really disappointing. The chicken satay was soggy and dull, and just three sticks for £6.50. The tamarind duck (ordered cos of rave reviews on here) was very meaty but somehow limp and unenjoyable - no crispy skin or fragrant juices. Maybe I should’ve got a curry.

The coconut rice seemed like a good idea, but in an attempt to eat it alone after I gave up on the meat dishes I was shocked to find it had TONNES of salt in, like as if there were huge salt crystals in each mouthful (and again, I’m not the sort of doofus who normally moans that takeaway food is too salty - this was something different).

So, overpriced, oversalty, unenjoyable. But a star for labelling the menu well and a star for... um... giving me an hour of thinking I was gonna have a lovely dinner while I waited for the delivery!

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank TeeBeeBee21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sabai Thai Gastrobar also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Sabai Thai Gastrobar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.