We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good for kids but overpriced - get a voucher”
Review of Sea Life Brighton

Sea Life Brighton
Book In Advance
More Info
US$21.30*
and up
SEA LIFE Brighton Admission Ticket
Ranked #14 of 175 things to do in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Two years running 2014 and 2015 winner of 'The Best Place to Visit in Brighton & Hove' - Brighton and Hove Business Awards 2014 & 2015 Visit the world's oldest operating aquarium, right here in Brighton! Based opposite the iconic pier, SEA LIFE Brighton was built in 1872 and features 3,500 memorising creatures including turtles and sharks. For an additional cost you can admire our resident giant Sea Turtles Gulliver and Lulu, sharks, turtles, rays and tropical fish as they swim under your feet on the UK's first indoor glass-bottom boat. Take a look at our Behind The Scenes on an interactive experience which will immerse you into our working world. See first-hand how we care for over 3,500 sea creatures. With over 40 other world class displays we can ensure you will have an amazing discovery throughout your underwater dive. Don't forget to keep an eye out on our website for events throughout the year. We are open daily from 10am, with last admission from 4pm depending on time of year.
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Great thing to do on a rainy day in Brighton This is unfortunately overpriced so get a voucher online before you go. Lovely Victorian building which is well kept and clean. The fish are well cared for and well displayed. Good educational descriptions. Café in the middle is a bit irritating and causes traffic jams but great for kids.
Don't bother going on the glass bottomed boat though - complete rip off and you get a better view from the top/side and underneath the tank!

Thank MadelineCrisp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Max L, General Manager at Sea Life Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Hello Madeline, Tyler here, thanks for leaving your review. Great advice about getting a voucher, but if you want a great discount why not book on line as that can sometimes be the cheapest way to come and see me and my friends. shame you did not enjoy the glass bottom boat ride. This is normally when I see the visitors to the aquarium enjoying themselves the most. I am pleased you said we were well cared for, the Sea Life staff really love us and keep us well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,807)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"glass bottom boat"
in 245 reviews
"behind the scenes"
in 130 reviews
"sealife centre"
in 104 reviews
"underwater tunnel"
in 46 reviews
"giant turtles"
in 38 reviews
"boat ride"
in 35 reviews
"star fish"
in 29 reviews
"rainy day"
in 56 reviews
"gift shop"
in 57 reviews
"old victorian"
in 17 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 63 reviews
"half term"
in 18 reviews
"few hours"
in 52 reviews
"great for kids"
in 19 reviews
"great attraction"
in 17 reviews
"beautiful building"
in 20 reviews
"tanks"
in 226 reviews
Filter

1,304 - 1,308 of 1,809 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2014

We took our nephew to Sealife because he was begging to go having seen your many posters, predominantly advertising the new rainforest adventure and picturing a snake quite close up to a little boy. Of course we presumed that the snake would be behind a glass screen. Little did we know that there was in fact no snake, but only a picture of a snake and instructions telling children to open their mouths as wide as the snake, or words to that effect. This image is what is advertising your Sealife and rainforest adventure. In my opinion this is extremely false advertising and very unfair to your visitors.

As other visitors have written, there were extra costs for example to go on a glass bottom boat, which we couldn't afford because it isn't a cheap attraction (31 pounds two adults one child with a voucher). So, all in all it was disappointing for such a short, expensive and not as exciting attraction as advertised.

We were in Rhodes last month, and that was far more interesting, informative and absolutely worth the much lower price of 5 euros per adult (about 4 pounds).

p.s. Mr Hamilton, as other guests have stated and you try to contradict, we were with a five year old who was very excited about seeing snakes (particularly the one pictured in your advertisement) and sharks which were best seen from the glass bottom boat which due to extra costs we didn't take, there really wasn't enough to hold his or our attention, therefore we were also in and out within 1 hour and 10 minutes included purchasing a very nice but expensive photo and a look around the toy shop.

2  Thank Gee_Zug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Max L, General Manager at Sea Life Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Hi folks, Tyler here! you had me worried for a minute because I thought the snake may have escaped and I didn't want to find an anaconda in the same water as me! You can rest assured however that having checked myself the 10 ft Anaconda is still where she should be at the start of the rainforest Adventure, I am only sorry that you missed her as you and your nephew walked around. The average visit to Sea Life Brighton is approaching 2 hours so if people walk around too quickly they are bound to miss some of my amazing friends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This is a beautiful aquarium with many different types of fishes and sea creatures you can see! It is a lovely place to visit with a toddler, our little one loved it here. However, it can get very busy and is easier to navigate around without a buggy, as there are many narrow corridors to pass along. That aside, this is a lovely place to visit for a couple of hours and very fascinating. All the children and grown ups enjoyed watching out for the 'Nemo' fish during our visit and the underwater glass walkway was fascinating!

Thank Gailywaily2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Max L, General Manager at Sea Life Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Hi Gail and family, as you found out we have lots to do for all ages here, so I am pleased your toddler enjoyed his Sea Life experience as well. Like you most people choose to leave the buggy in the designated areas, but as you discovered the staff are so easy going they don't mind if you take them with you. I have never needed a buggy because even as a baby I could find a comfortable SEA BED every where. boom boom!

Bye, Tyler the Turtle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

We thought sea life brighton was better than sealife London. The turtles were our favourite! Well worth a visit and we got a discount from our hotel. Thumbs up!

Thank Gabs1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Max L, General Manager at Sea Life Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Nice to be compared to London, but an even nicer compliment to say that you liked the turtles the best. The sharks, Seahorses and Octopus get jealous sometimes so don't forget to give them a mention when you tell your friends about us. Most hotels in Brighton sell our tickets and you get discounts and fast track with them as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We enjoyed our trip to the aquarium as part of a busy day ( there isn't enough to look at/do for it tot be the focus of a day). The architecture in the main hall is stunning and there are plenty of species to get your head around. The best part for us was shelling out the extra £3.50 each to go on the glass bottom boat above the shark tank with a guided talk. Worth a visit.

Thank Charley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Max L, General Manager at Sea Life Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Hello Charley, thanks for taking the time to review. Most of the people that come and see me stay for about 2 hours, so it dos not need a full day. I think I remember looking up at you through the glass in the boat, I could tell you were enjoying yourself!

See you soon

Tyler and friends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sea Life Brighton also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Sea Life Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing