We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, great price, great place!”
Review of The Grand Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grand Brighton
Ranked #9 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great service, great price, great place!”
Reviewed 31 December 2011

We stayed between Christmas and New Year 2012, having booked far in advance to secure a great deal. The sea view room was super (623) and the bed very comfortable. The complimentary mineral water, robes and slippers were very welcome. Nothing is too much trouble for the well-trained staff here.

Visitors need to be aware of the drawbacks of an iconic Victorian building like The Grand - rooms can be rather dim for reading, windows don't always open, which would make it hot in Summer.

The plus side includes lovely staff at all levels, incredible location, superb breakfasts and afternoon teas, great cocktails with complimentary nibbles.

Advantages definitely outweigh disadvantages for us, and I intend to return twice year, winter and summer as we have done for the last 5 or 6 years ! Love it!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne55England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this review, 3 January 2012
Thank you for your kind review posted on Trip Advisor

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your all compliments.

I think your stay just about typified a perfect leisure break at The Grand Hotel! Sea view room, great service, perfect location, afternoon tea and cocktails!

We look forward to seeing you back again soon

Regards

Andrew Mosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,591
    2,122
    1,080
    500
    237
See reviews for
1,323
3,964
206
785
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,143)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We stayed at a competitive rate in the "Twixmas" period for 2 nights.
We had a sea view room with balcony (224) from which the view of the sea and the pier could not be bettered, especially at sunrise.
In these days when you can hardly get a window open for reasons of so-called health and safety, it was great to be able to open the doors and look out or stand on the balcony.
The windows do not provide sound-proofing, but do provide some protection from the traffic noise.
The shower worked well, towels in good condition, beds comfortable, tea and coffee making facilities fine, and extra coffee and milk left for our second night when requested.
On both days the breakfast was superb. Haddock and poached eggs are not charged at a supplement, as so often happens, and the poached eggs are perfect. The variety of food, hot and cold, is as good as we have seen anywhere. We had a sea view table on both mornings, adding to the experience.
Staff are always friendly, courteous and helpful.
Be aware that the Russell Road NCP car park may have a reasonably competitive 24 hour rate, but if you stay over that time for 1 to 4 hours, the prices are £4, £8, £13 and £18. Seems a total rip-off to me.

Room Tip: Sea view is worth a bit extra. Certainly our half-price upgrade was worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fatoldman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this review, 3 January 2012
Thank you for your kind comments posted on Trip Advisor

It would seem that we got it right in pretty much every way for you so I am delighted. Thank you for your compliments about the food especially the breakfast, the staff and the service. I am also very glad you noticed the "small touches" which we endeavour to offer whenever we can.

I am also pleased that you enjoyed the deluxe sea view room you decided to upgrade to. Whilst these may not be the cheapest rooms in Brighton they are without question amongst the very best and time and again our guests tell us that they are well worth the extra money.

Thank you again for writing

Regards

Andrew Mosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We stayed at the Grand between Christmas and the new year. The deluxe room was fab, lovely bed, good housekeeping, and attentive staff. The decor was rather chipped and in some places tatty, but the cleanliness was great. Only drawback was the fact that the hotel claims to have a play station 3 in the room, but there was none. We asked to have one to keep our 10 year old occupied, but was told that they had none that worked. This was one of the usp for this choice of hotel, so that was disappointing.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babschap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this review, 3 January 2012
Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor

I am pleased that, overall, you had a good stay with us and thank you for your kind comments about the room, cleanliness and service

I am sorry about the Play Station. We recently upgraded all our televisions to large flat screen HD freeview sets. The old playstations are not compatible so they were disposed of when we made the changes. I will ensure that any marketing literature of which we are directly in control of is updated to reflect this.

Thank you again for your feedback and I hope we will see you again at The Grand Hotel soon

Regards

Andrew Mosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Having read the reviews here on Trip Advisor I was not expecting a really great experice. So I was pleased with the look of the room when I arrived. Large, spacious, clean. The staff were very pleaseant too. But later......I started to become aware of what other reviewers were upset with.
The constant noise from the traffic flowing by our seaview window, the cold draft blowing through the gaps in the window frame (it was December). Two old style radiators in the room, looked good, but one didn't work, the other worked well and kept us warm enough, thankfully.
I agree that the entrance, and hall ways are lovely and give a sense of Victorian workmanship, just the old and tired state of the rooms lets the "Grand" experience down.
The faded gradeur that was once a very great hotel is worth a visit but don't expect to be a return guest.

Room Tip: Sea view room good, with thick curtains, but take some gaffer tape to cover the drafty gaps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P-j-S-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

After hectic Christmas we were ready for some pampering. We were not disappointed. The staff at this hotel were spot on. Very attentive and nothing too much trouble. Lovely festive atmosphere. Also had dinner in king's restaurant which was delicious, hot and without a long wait. Breakfast was superb with enormous choice of hot and cold. Bedroom was very large with sea view but decor and furniture tired. All in all a revitalising break.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pootlepod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this review, 3 January 2012
Thank you for your kind comments about your stay between Christmas and New Year at The Grand Hotel.

Naturally I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your break. Thank you in particular for your lovely compliments about the staff and the service they provided. We spend a lot of time and money training our team so it is always very pleasing to hear that our efforts have been worthwhile. More importantly I will ensure that all the staff are made aware of how pleased you were with the job that they did.

Thank you also for your kind comments about the food quality. Again, we really focus on ensuring we get our food offering right and this was tangibly rewarded recently with the AA giving our Kitchen Team their first rosette of which we are very proud.

I am glad that you went away from the Grand feeling revitalised and wish you a very Happy New Year 2012.

With kind regards

Andrew Mosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

She's a real old girl from the Victorian times and the lobby will wow you. Rooms are big and old-fashioned. Service is very good.

Room Tip: Off topic - don't drive unless you have to. The hotel has limited spaces available and Brighton...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gibbsy14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this review, 29 December 2011
Thank you for posting your lovely comments on Trip Advisor

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and were impressed with the historic features of The Grand which are so synonymous with this iconic Hotel.

We are also passionate about the service we try and deliver as a team and endeavour to ensure this makes a real difference to our guests' experience as well as setting us apart from our competitors

Thank you again for writing and we hope to see you at the Grand again soon

Regards

Andrew Mosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Oh dear. I checked in to the Grand for a night of luxury--I live in Brighton so it's just down the road. The check-in was blisdsfully easy and the woman working reception was kind and upgraded us. You still get a sense of arrival--the recpetion is grand.

The rest of shabby.

What they don't say on check-in is that all the Air conduitioning has been decommisioned. So your romo is going to be roasting hot--superhot if it is summer. You open the windows and you get road noise mixed with sea waves (more road than sea, sadly). THey knew this when I checked in and when I called to copmplain they made it clear the fan buzzing ineffecutally in the corner would be all I would get. This is a hotel that knows it is going down and doesn't seem to care.

My bathroom was dirty, the tiles were chipped and the water went from boiling to freezing.

The curtains on window were paper thing and tacked up to cover a gap left by an old fitting that had been ripped donw. Honestly it was like student digs.

this hotel COULD be Grand but it's not. Right now it's very sad indeed.

Room Tip: i suppose the sea view rooms are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank scribbler1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this review, 31 December 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor

Overall I am very sorry that you were disappointed with your stay

However on a positive note thank you for the kind comments regarding our staff which I will pass on accordingly and congratulate them on a job well done. We encourage staff to go out of their way to “over deliver” so it was good to hear reception looked after you so well during your check in and the team also managed to organise a free upgrade for you – however this makes the fact that you were then disappointed even more frustrating.

It is always upsetting to be told by guests that general maintenance was lacking as this is something we strive to stay on top of even though the building is so old. I am therefore very sorry you felt compelled to complain about these shortcomings via Trip Advisor. If you would like to comment further please feel free to email me by using the address on the hotel’s web site. Or perhaps you would like to pop back to the Grand to meet me personally given that you live locally? I can then also take that opportunity to apologise to you in person and hopefully demonstrate to you that we genuinely do care.

Thank you again for writing

Regards

Andrew Mosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.3 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
2,157 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
1,184 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.6 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 44 in Brighton
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Brighton

Property: The Grand Brighton
Address: 97-99 King's Road, Brighton BN1 2FW, England (Formerly The De Vere Grand Brighton)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#3 Family Hotel in Brighton
#4 Business Hotel in Brighton
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a truly remarkable hotel. An iconic Victorian building, it stands centre stage on the vibrant Brighton seafront and is a local landmark. Magnificent, imposing and the epitome of luxury. This is The Grand, Brighton. Following a recent extensive refurbishment, The Grand experience is one you will never forget. It's in the splendour of the 123 step sweeping staircase, the exquisite textures in the bedrooms, the delectable cuisine in GB1 restaurant and the sumptuous surroundings of The Spa at The Grand. It's in the stunning seaviews and the warmth with which you are welcomed. It's in its innate sense of style. The magnificent Grand is a popular location for films and television shows. Coronation Street, Eastenders and Only Fools and Horses have all shot episodes in the hotel. For the complete Brighton experience, it has to be The Grand, Brighton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The De Vere Grand Brighton Hotel Brighton
De Vere Grand Brighton
De Vere Grand Hotel Brighton
Brighton Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing