We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely, if fading allure in places”
Review of The Grand Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grand Brighton
Ranked #9 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely, if fading allure in places”
Reviewed 13 January 2012

We had my partners birthday here, with friends in the restaurant. We hired our own musician, which they allowed us to bring along and we were seated in the Grand conservatory, which is beautifully lit in blue. We had a window seat and made to feel welcome with very charming young waiters and waitresses from around the world.
Surprisingly good value food and our friends have been back for afternoon tea since.
I havnt tried the rooms yet so cannot comment.
I would add my only complaint is that I feel a little money could be spent on the cloakrooms and the bar area, which look like they havnt had a refurb for many years.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuildfordTravelBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
Thank you very much for your kind comments following your partners birthday.

I am delighted that you had a great time and managed to enjoy the wonderful surroundings of the Kings Terrace in our Kings restaurant . So many of our guests comment that they enjoy their time sitting watching the world go by and the views of the sea. I am also very pleased to hear that the staff looked after you.

We hope to welcome you back to The Grand Hotel soon and, in the meantime, I hope you will keep persuading your friends to come and try the Kings Restaurant and Victoria Lounge

Kind regards

Andrew Mosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,027 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,304
    1,989
    1,031
    475
    228
See reviews for
1,205
3,720
188
724
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,127)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Confolens, France
Level Contributor
240 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Had a good value break including breakfasts, and an evening meal. The meal was rather dissapointing we chose the lobster spring rolls which looked like they came from Icelands, and expensive for what they were. I had the fillet beef which was a round steak oddly cut into 3 pieces resulting it being dry and tasteless. The portions were small. The cheese course was very good.

The wine list was good with some good value choices.

The breakfast were good, but we did have to return our poached egg twice owing to it being undercooked then overlooked.


The room was clean, with a comfortable bed, but the room had no view at all, both windows were none see through, and outside below was a very loud air con system ( perhaps for the entire hotel?).

Room Tip: Ask location of room, and description, and what views?
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Onestewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
Thank you for your comments.

I am sorry that there were one or two negative aspects to your stay.

In terms of the food I can assure you that any comments we receive about menu are considered when we next make changes - normally every 3 months or so. Generally we receive very good feedback, underpinned by the team being awarded our first rosette at the end of last year, but we accept there is always room for improvement.

It is fair to say that room types do vary at The Grand most notably due to a sea view or an inland view - and of course this is reflected in quite significant prices differences. However I am pleased that the room was still cleaned to your satisfaction, the bed was comfortable and you considered your break to be good value for money.

Thank you again for writing

regards

Andrew Mosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We stayed here on their special, after Xmas and before New Year offer, and couldn't fault it. The hotel is lovely and comfortable, the staff friendly and the room nice and spacious with a proper size flat screen TV with digital channel choice! We even had a bottle of bubbly in our room on arrival, which was all part of the deal and very good value for money, and there were lovely Pecksniff smellies in the bathroom, which were a real treat. The breakfast was cooked really well, considering the amount of people they have to cater for, and there was plenty of choice. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barlaw33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Thank you for your kind comments posted on Trip Advisor

I am very pleased you had a great stay and enjoyed the small treats and room facilities which are standard to all our rooms eg the upgraded toiletries and the large HD freeview flat screen TV's which we have very recently installed.

Thank you also for your positive feedback about the breakfast which we work hard at to get right in order to not only leave a good final impression but also to try and ensure guests feel they have had good value for money

Regards

Andrew Mosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltdean
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Just returned from a 2 day stay and have only good things to say about the restaurant and the food.A particular mention and thank you to Matthew and Jose, who took care of all our requests.We could not wait,however, to escape from our cell,room 207.We saw no daylight for 2 days,got locked in toilet twice, because of faulty lock and the bath is a danger with no handles.The safe is not fixed and can just be lifted out of the cupboard with no problem.You can't even open the fridge,as the handle is wedged inside the unit.We also had problems eating in th restaurant and were told Sunday lunch had been booked for days,presumably by local residents.We did relay our comments to senior staff but to no avail.It really does need updating.

Room Tip: Try to get room 218 or a room at front of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saltdeancatlovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Thank you for your post on Trip Advisor

Firstly thank you very much for your kind comments about the restaurant, the food and particularly the staff - notably Matt and Jose who you mention specifically. I will ensure they are personally thanked and they get your comments. I am sorry you didn't get the chance to try Sunday lunch which we have recently updated and has been a huge success. If you plan to come back to Brighton I would suggest an advanced booking is made as it is very popular.

Secondly, I am sorry that you were disappointed with the room. However on your point about the lack of light I am a little confused as there are, of course, large windows in 207 albeit I accept that these overlook the back of the Hotel so don't get the amount of light that the larger sea view rooms on the front of the hotel enjoy. On the other issues you report in your room I will personally inspect the faults you highlight and ensure they are immediately corrected.

Thank you again for your valuable feedback

Regards

Andrew Mosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

The Grand Hotel looks lovely from the reception area and the bar is cosy with high backed traditional chairs and a real fire. However, the room we stayed in (room 109), was not great and although we didn't expect a great view as we were at the side rather than sea view, we had a view of a very mucky looking wall with gruesome looking pipes on it, which was about 2 feet from the window. The window hardly opened and we ended up propping it open with the teabag tin, just to get some air!
The bed looked fine but actually trying to sleep in it was like sleeping in a crisp bag as the bedding rustled a lot. It felt ok but was so noisy and on my husband's side of the bed, the mattress made a very strange noise when he moved!
The room itself was very small but not too uncomfortable (as long as my husband and I timed our movements around the room so that we didn't bump into each other!)
The fittings were very tired and old looking but not in a traditional and cosy way. The wardrobe door was hanging off it's runners and the rust stains in the bathroom were a little offputting.
Having said all of that, it was fine for one night as we really wern't there long but more than one night would have caused me to ask for a room change.
The reception staff were lovely and very efficient.
The house wine was awful and VERY expensive. We have had much nicer for half the price.

Parking is advertised as 'first come first served' with no entrance until 3pm or prebookng permitted. We arrived at 2.50pm but the concierge informed us that it was already full! - Not sure how that happened.
However, it does cost £30 for the night so perhaps this was a bonus. We parked in the NCP at the back which was still £25!

Breakfast was very average and the staff at breakfast service were not very happy to be there. Some Customer Service training wouldn't go a miss here.
My husband was unable to eat the sausages he chose as they smelt very dubious so that was disappointing and the 'Eggs Benedict' was only 1 egg so was actually 'Egg Benedict' - Such easy things to get right.

Finally, we were surprised to be asked pay a £2.50 surcharge for credit card payments. This is not what we expect from such a large organsiation. Very poor.

Overall, we didn't have a terrible time but we would not stay again

Room Tip: Ask about the room and it's location before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spaaddict67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Thank you for your extensive feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay.

I am naturally very sorry that it would appear you left The Grand feeling disappointed and I apologise for the shortfalls that you have highlighted. I will personally inspect the room and pick up with my team on the issues that you have reported. However I was also pleased to read that there were still some positive elements to your stay and the room still "worked" for you for your short stay in Brighton.

We accept that our "standard inland" rooms do not enjoy the views that those on the front of the Hotel do - which so often receive fantastic comments. However we do feel this is pointed out at the time of booking and is, of course, reflected in the price as you would expect. Given the fact that many of these rooms are several floors up we have to restrict window opening to ensure our guests safety (as is the case in so many hotels these days I'm afraid) as they obviously do not have balconies.

On some of the other points you raise, firstly our beds often get good reviews and we use fresh crisp linen so I am sorry if this wasn't to your satisfaction - again I will ensure the bed is inspected. The car park often gets busy and we have less than 50 spaces – so if there are lots of guests staying more than one night it can be full before arrivals for subsequent nights - but again, I am sorry you were frustrated by this.

Finally I can assure you that all our food is fresh and we set ourselves very high standards. Other reviews on this site will confirm that satisfaction at breakfast is very high overall.

I hope that this has answered some of your points but if you would like to correspond with me separately then please feel free to contact the hotel through the numbers and/or email address on our web site

Regards

Andrew Mosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Having stayed the previous year at the Royal Bath in Bournemouth, this year we once again took advantage of one of the De Vere New Year's Day deals at The Grand. Again, looking at some of the reviews here we didn't quite know what to expect but the truth is we were really happy with the room (a deluxe sea view on the 3rd floor), the staff (who couldn't have been more helpful and polite), the food (the eggs benedict at breakfast was superb) and the overall atmosphere.

To answer some of the critics, granted the car park isn't cheap, but it's very convenient. And, yes, there's an air of slightly faded opulence about the hotel, but that's what we like and in our opinion it's far better than some swanky, shiny & soulless place.

The Grand's main areas were buzzing and alive and obviously the hotel is super convenient for the beach and the town.

An enjoyable stay and we will return.

Room Tip: If you can, get a sea view room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mysteron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
107 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We stayed for one night on the 2nd of January.
Positives
The entrance to the hotel is impressive and the staff are very welcoming
The breakfast is great with lots of variety

Negatives
Fixtures and fittings in the bedrooms need updating. The window didn't close properly and the howling wind prevented us from sleeping.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxwellanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this review, 7 January 2012
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor

Naturally I was very pleased to read about the positive elements of your stay and I will ensure that your compliments are passed on to the whole team.

I am sorry however that you also found some negatives to report. The Grand is an old building and therefore does "creak" a bit at times particularly when we experience the gale force winds that lashed Brighton's sea front on the night of your stay. I am sorry if this disturbed your sleep but I am sure you would agree the weather was extraordinary.

We also accept that our bedroom fittings are not the most modern - but again feel that this adds to some of the character of this beautiful hotel.

In summary I hope this has not put you off returning to The Grand and we can look forward seeing you again soon

Regards

Andrew Mosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,457 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.8 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,047 reviews
0.7 mi away
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Drakes Hotel Brighton
#4 of 44 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Brighton

Property: The Grand Brighton
Address: 97-99 King's Road, Brighton BN1 2FW, England (Formerly The De Vere Grand Brighton)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#3 Family Hotel in Brighton
#4 Business Hotel in Brighton
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a truly remarkable hotel. An iconic Victorian building, it stands centre stage on the vibrant Brighton seafront and is a local landmark. Magnificent, imposing and the epitome of luxury. This is The Grand, Brighton. Following a recent extensive refurbishment, The Grand experience is one you will never forget. It's in the splendour of the 123 step sweeping staircase, the exquisite textures in the bedrooms, the delectable cuisine in GB1 restaurant and the sumptuous surroundings of The Spa at The Grand. It's in the stunning seaviews and the warmth with which you are welcomed. It's in its innate sense of style. The magnificent Grand is a popular location for films and television shows. Coronation Street, Eastenders and Only Fools and Horses have all shot episodes in the hotel. For the complete Brighton experience, it has to be The Grand, Brighton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The De Vere Grand Brighton Hotel Brighton
De Vere Grand Brighton
De Vere Grand Hotel Brighton
Brighton Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing