We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brighton in April”
Review of The Grand Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grand Brighton
Ranked #10 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We stayed here mid week for my 60th birthday celebrations. We had booked 3 rooms for dinner bed and breakfast at a very resonable price. Rooms were very nice and clean and beds very comfy. Restaurant meals very good although very small choice for vegetarians as both starter and mains were chesse based. We did query this and to be fair an alternative dish was offered. Staff very polite but distant. No attempt to be friendly was made by staff on reception or in the restaurant. We thought a bit more attention would have been paid to us because it was a special birthday.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaChichester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2012

Thank you for recent feedback following your stay at The Grand, Brighton.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the rooms and food in the restaurant. However, I am sorry that you felt the choice for vegetarians offered limited variety. When devising menus, our Executive Head Chef does aim to offer options suitable for all diets. In particular, this has been a focus for our new menu, which we have just launched (as at 1st May 2012). I am pleased to say, the new menu does include some unique and varied vegetarian options.

At The Grand, our key focus is to provide outstanding service for all guests and this is promoted to all staff through ongoing training. We are often praised for our service levels, so I was very disappointed to hear that the service you received wasn’t overly attentive and didn’t meet your expectations. This is something I will personally address and investigate as to why your special celebrations were not appropriately acknowledged.

I do hope that you will decide to visit us again in the future and we will have the opportunity to prove to you, our commitment towards offering exceptional levels of service.

Thanks again for your comments.

Andrew Mosley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,955)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7,153 - 7,159 of 7,957 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2012

We stayed here for my husband's 50th. It was for one night only. We were met with large group of young girl sitting on the carpet with their shopping bags and balloons for hen party. Not great start. Room was huge. Deluxe room which needed gutting. The furniture was torn and stained. The armchair and sofa from the 80's and impregnated with dust. The windows and doors onto balcony overlooking sea were rusty and did not shut. Curtains of the rials and hanging. Under bedside was a BA ticket from previous guest so room was not cleaned well. Bathroom old and bath chipped and dirty. One bathrobe for two guests. We would not stay here again. We did however eat in the King;s restaurant and it was excellent food. Good waiting staff and would definitely eat here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spaggia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2012

Thank you for your feedback further to your recent stay with us.

I am very sorry that the behaviour of other residents created a less than positive first impression of the hotel. This is certainly not something that we would condone and is an extremely rare happening. Unlike many of our competitors, we are not an obvious first choice for hen/stag parties. However, on occasions we still attract these types of groups typically those that choose us because they are looking for a more conservative style of celebration.

In regards to your comments on the room, we accept that some of our rooms are in need of updating but there are no excuses for lack of day to day maintenance and this is certainly not our usual standards. Your feedback has been investigated, raised with the relevant departments and has been addressed accordingly.

Finally thank you for your kind comments on The King’s Restaurant, the restaurant team will be very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food and service.

Regards


Andrew Mosley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed here on the Saturday and Sunday night around the 2012 Brighton Marathon. The room was on the 5th floor and perfectly acceptable. We had no sea view but as we were not here for a 'touristy' stay this did not trouble us.
We like to have the window open at night for natural air, and this would be the only downside for us here as the external noise from aircon units was quite loud. As this is our choice for natural air, there is no way I can mark the hotel down for this.
The bed was superb, and the extra rollaway bed for our daughter was comfortable.
Breakfast was a good spread. I had to stick with a pre-race breakfast of porridge and then toast and honey whereas my husband had eggs Benedict - this would have benefited from not having put under heat lamps while waiting to be bought to the table as the hollandaise was dried and nasty. Such a shame and I was very surprised that the waiter actually served it looking like that.
Colin the concierge was a saving grace - he valet parked the car for us, sorted bags and generally made an impression on us that carried through the weekend.
We had booked in for the 2 nights, but on the Sunday evening decided to head home early so forfeited the 2nd night (our choice and nothing to do with the standard of the hotel) - I would definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizzyPasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay overall and I hope that the marathon went well for you.

Please rest assured that I have picked up on the constructive criticism you have noted and will ensure these small points are addressed.

Thank you again for writing

Regards

Andrew Mosley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Fantastic hotel! We stayed midweek for a two night break. Our room had a lovely sea view , very clean. Service was great, the staff couldn't do enough for you.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louiseguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Thank you for your kind comments.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in one of our sea view rooms and I will pass on your compliments about the service to the team

Kind regards

Andrew Mosley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stayed here for a single saturday night in April, for which we were charged an eye watering £195 for the night (for a standard double). First impressions (apart from the front door with a crack in it, which was a sign of things to come) were positive - the Grand is a lovely old building, with nice public areas. Check-in was fine, although my room key failed to work first time and i had to come back down to reception from the 4th floor for a replacement. When I got into the room I was pretty underwhelmed - a small and shabby room (i would guess 150sq feet tops) which was rather stuffy and which had a view of the back of the hotel and air con units. To give some examples of the shabbiness - the windows have old net curtains on them (which like all old net curtains were a dirty grey colour), the window panes are old and chipped, the shower curtain was stained a sort of brown colour and there was no shower gel - only a thin bar of soap. The furnishings, like the unfortunate shower curtain, were brown and very dated - the piece de resistance being the 70s edition corby trouser press (seriously, who uses a trouser press these days?). The only nod to modernity was a flatscreen tv, which stuck out like a sore thumb in the sea of brown/grey shabbiness. The bed was hard, with cheap pillows - we didn't sleep that well because of the stuffiness/hard bed and general lack of comfort. Navigating to the bathroom at night was a challenge as well, because of a stray desk chair (which had no other home in the room other than the foot of the bed, because the room was so small).
As you can probably tell, we didn't like the room much... For just shy of 200 pounds a night, it was dreadful value for money. Something like a premier inn would have been cleaner and more comfortable (and when you start hankering for a premier inn, you know you are in a bad place, hotel wise). We were left feeling annoyed at de vere - the hotel is an well known institution (and we picked it for that reason, knowing the history and having never stayed there before) and the owner is essentially charging high prices and taking the profits, while spending no money at all on the rooms. I also read, and chuckled at, the manager's defence of the credit card surcharge - I can't honestly remember ever being charged a credit card fee in a hotel before. If 200 pounds a night for a room which hasn't been upgraded for 25 years isn't enough income to cover their costs and make a substantial return, they can't be running the hotel all that well - its terrible PR as well; "5 star" hotel acting like easy jet.
Final comment, and in the interests of balance, the public areas are pleasant, the breakfast buffet was fine and all the staff I came across were pleasant and friendly and happy to help. I would not go back however, not unless the ownership changed and the rooms had a complete upgrade.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CCHLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Thank you for your comments.

I am very sorry that you didn’t enjoy your stay at The Grand and felt that the room didn’t offer value for money. There are few excuses for the shortfalls in standards and, in particular, attention to details with our day to day maintenance and housekeeping standards. If you would like to communicate further about your complaint please contact me personally.

Thank you again for writing

Andrew Mosley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We stayed at The Grand for two nights and loved it. All the staff were friendly, polite and welcoming and our room was large and well-appointed. We had excellent service and particularly loved the convenience of the valet parking, after the bunfight of trying to get into the next-door Hilton's car-park last year.

We had drinks and a snack in the bar, which were good. The buffet breakfast was excellent, with really excellent quality ingredients.

Can't wait to return next year.

Room Tip: Don't be tempted by the sea-view, the drunken hen and stag parties going up and down the front w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elmrosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Thank you for your kind comments following your recent stay at The Grand Hotel

I am very pleased to hear that you had a great stay and the staff all looked after you so well. Valet parking is one of the additional services that we offer that we believe sets us apart from our competitors and makes it worth the price we charge which we accept is often slightly more expensive than them.

I am glad that you noticed the differences and we look forward to welcoming you back soon

regards

Andrew Mosley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Recently attended a conference and thought it was excellent, rooms were a bit dated but conference facilities were great. Kimberly the Conference coordinator was fantastic and a pleasure to work with.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Thank you very much for taking time to post your complimentary comment about Kimberly on Trip Advisor. I am sure she will feel very flattered and I will ensure she is thanked in a tangible way.

I am very glad that your conference was a success and would like to add my thanks for placing your business with us

Regards

Andrew Mosley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.3 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#17 of 43 in Brighton
2,312 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.8 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 43 in Brighton
2,322 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.6 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Brighton

Address: 97-99 King's Road, Brighton BN1 2FW, England (Formerly The De Vere Grand Brighton)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Brighton
#4 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#4 Business Hotel in Brighton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: £98 - £278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a truly remarkable hotel. An iconic Victorian building, it stands centre stage on the vibrant Brighton seafront and is a local landmark. Magnificent, imposing and the epitome of luxury. This is The Grand, Brighton. Following a recent extensive refurbishment, The Grand experience is one you will never forget. It's in the splendour of the 123 step sweeping staircase, the exquisite textures in the bedrooms, the delectable cuisine in GB1 restaurant and the sumptuous surroundings of The Spa at The Grand. It's in the stunning seaviews and the warmth with which you are welcomed. It's in its innate sense of style. The magnificent Grand is a popular location for films and television shows. Coronation Street, Eastenders and Only Fools and Horses have all shot episodes in the hotel. For the complete Brighton experience, it has to be The Grand, Brighton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The De Vere Grand Brighton Hotel Brighton
De Vere Grand Brighton
De Vere Grand Hotel Brighton
Brighton Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing