We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Grand Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Grand Brighton
Ranked #9 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Chichester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Birthday treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

My wife took me to the Grand for a couple of days in Febuary to celebrate my birthday, everything about the hotel was top notch. The room was wonderful, the bed was massive and the breakfast was the best I have ever eaten. The staff were all attentive without ever being in your face and it is close to all of the attractions.

Room Tip: We did not have a room overlooking the water and in the better weather it would be good to sit on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chiwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,902 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,231
    1,959
    1,019
    466
    227
See reviews for
1,184
3,650
186
707
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,115)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford England
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

Whoever is behind staff recruitment and training at this hotel should be applauded. The service seemed genuinely friendly and helpful and this is so refreshing. The welcome from door staff was outstanding. They sorted out our car parking and luggage with good humour and efficiency. Other reviews have mentioned Colin at the door and they were not exaggerating.The staff are a huge asset to this hotel. It also helped that we took advantage of a very good offer from the De Vere website.

We had a sea facing room although sadly it was not a refurbished room and it is very evident that these rooms are more than ready for a makeover. We also had a minor issue with the housekeeping but considering the reasonable price of the break overall I am not inclined to focus on that.

The foyer area, bars and restaurant are very attractive and beautifully restored and maintained. We enjoyed our food in the evening and at breakfast. The manager that night in the restaurant was charming and helpful as were the other staff. The restaurant is newly opened and we ate in the veranda area. I would definitely eat here again. At breakfast I was pleased to be offered some items to order as well as the usual buffet spread. Although they did not offer omelettes on this menu, when I asked for one especially, they were happy to oblige. The buffet itself offered good variety and quality.

In summary we had a lovely break at The Grand and are looking to return in the future.

Room Tip: worth paying extra for sea facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lou37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

We have just returned from a 3 day mini -break and were a little apprehensive based on the mixed reviews -we needn't have been! At the time of booking we sent an e-mail request to the hotel asking if we could have a re-furbished room and when we checked in we were pleased we had been allocated a lovely room on the 6th floor with a fantastic sea view (we did book a sea-view). Everything in the hotel was excellent from the friendly and efficient staff to the afternoon coffee to the evening cocktails in the lounge/bar..Breakfast was very good and on the occasion we ordered in our room it was on time and excellent.
The hotel I believe has a re-furbishing programme until the end of July and whilst there were workmen on areas of our floor, noise level was absent and no evidence of work affecting the hotel and the guys we came across were all pleasant and polite,
This is only the 2nd review we have ever written, but feel its the least we can do.

Room Tip: We found room 623 perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

stayed here back in April last on a deal, we have stayed here on a few occasions over the last few years on our own and with our children. Love the old building and well mannered staff, you feel like you are being a little spoilt, love the breakfast a very good selection. Only thing some of the rooms we have stayed in have been a little tired, but always clean. I suppose it is a very old hotel and takes a lot of up keeping. Hope to have a night there soon, love Brighton.

Room Tip: you can get some good deals here in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammygirl360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

Stayed on a winter promotion deal Monday to Wednesday (2 nights )Dinner bed & breakfast.
Very easy check in , cases carried to room by porter and all details explained at check in.
We had refurbished room 304 which was comfortable and clean , it did look out onto a brick wall but we didn't book the room for the view but merely as a base.
There is a happy hour on selected cocktails which we took advantage off , bar area very comfortable and friendly knowledgable staff. Breakfast very good and excellent choice , the best bacon and black pudding we have ever eaten.
GB1 the restaurant has only just reopened and the decor is lovely. We ate on our first night out in the terrace area which was quite chilly but the staff did put on the heating when requested by another table. The food is lovely and we chose from the al a carte menu on both evenings. If you are on the DBB rate you have a £27 allowance on your food per person so you only pay any extra on top for your food chosen but this allowance is not towards any drinks. On our 2nd evening we had oysters , garlic prawns and the lamb and steak plus excellent deserts.
The only fault I can give the restaurant is the time it takes to get the food or indeed to have your order taken. The staff were working exceptionally hard and the restaurant was full both nights but it does seem that they do not have enough waiting staff at present. We were sat down at 8pm on both nights and I would say that each waiter had at least 10 tables they were dealing with at any time. On our 2nd evening we put in our order (which was taken after we had waited 15 minutes for the waiter to come back) and then waited 45 minutes for our oysters to arrive which was really not good enough as we had by that time been seated or an hour. Our next 2 courses came along at reasonable intervals and then we were asked if we would like to see the desert menu , we said yes and then waited 15 minutes to get the menus given to us ( this was only after the maitre d had come past and asked if we were still waiting for anything) . We had timed this wait as we were by now getting a little frustrated with the time spent sitting around . The food eaten was good quality and we enjoyed it very much but they need to get their act together and employ more waiting staff when it is busy. I know the restaurant has only been reopened for a couple of weeks so this I am sure will get better but it spoiled slightly our stay.
Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would definitely visit the Grand again and would recommend it , especially the promotions they have.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunny47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
61 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on a Saturday night in February.

The refurbished lounge, staircase and restaurant are stunning and I presume that the refurbished rooms are also good.

We had an old room on the back. It was clean and functional but definitely neither 4 or 5 star. De Vere shouldn't really have delayed investment for so long, lovely as a 1980's gold and blue colour scheme may be!!

As other reviewers have noted, staff are excellent, however reception are clearly embarrassed by some of De Vere's tricks! For example, at check-in why is the first thing a guest sees but a sign stating we will charge you a supplement if you pay by credit card? Likewise at check-out, if you booked a DBB rate, why does a service charge get added which isn't included in the rate which you booked?

We would probably stay here again and staff are great, it's senior management that need to up their game. It could be a proper grand hotel like the Grand at Eastbourne!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JADLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thamestrader
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

Andrew Mosley, General Manager, proudly states that an AA rating is unnecessary for their clientele. Kellie Rixon MBE head of 'People Development' (Institute of Hospitality) clearly agrees and so do Trip Adviser reviewers and the vast TA corporation as The Grand has a 'certificate of excellence'. if your idea of a top hotel is that everybody says hello to you like they have known you for years then this is your ideal stay. If however you want a hotel that has working bath plugs, doesn't need supplementary heating on a mild February day, has a handle on the lavatory chain off the main foyer, delivers boiled eggs in egg cups and coffee when required then you should go elsewhere. This is a beautiful building managed by idiots but they are very, very, friendly. The (rather portly) customers don't know what an egg cup is so everything is OK. To paraphrase Jonny Rotten 'ever felt you bin cheated?'

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thamestrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,424 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.8 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,023 reviews
0.7 mi away
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Drakes Hotel Brighton
#4 of 44 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Brighton

Property: The Grand Brighton
Address: 97-99 King's Road, Brighton BN1 2FW, England (Formerly The De Vere Grand Brighton)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#3 Family Hotel in Brighton
#4 Business Hotel in Brighton
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a truly remarkable hotel. An iconic Victorian building, it stands centre stage on the vibrant Brighton seafront and is a local landmark. Magnificent, imposing and the epitome of luxury. This is The Grand, Brighton. Following a recent extensive refurbishment, The Grand experience is one you will never forget. It's in the splendour of the 123 step sweeping staircase, the exquisite textures in the bedrooms, the delectable cuisine in GB1 restaurant and the sumptuous surroundings of The Spa at The Grand. It's in the stunning seaviews and the warmth with which you are welcomed. It's in its innate sense of style. The magnificent Grand is a popular location for films and television shows. Coronation Street, Eastenders and Only Fools and Horses have all shot episodes in the hotel. For the complete Brighton experience, it has to be The Grand, Brighton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The De Vere Grand Brighton Hotel Brighton
De Vere Grand Brighton
De Vere Grand Hotel Brighton
Brighton Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing