We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The grand”
Review of The Grand Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grand Brighton
Ranked #9 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The grand”
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We got a really good deal for this hotel on trivago. The location is perfect and the hotel is as the it's name suggests very grand. The service was fab. The breakfast was great every thing you could wish for. The drinks in the bar were not as expensive as we expected. The only complaint would be they were having some work done so the view out of the window was scaffolding and also as other people have mentioned the room was uncomfortably hot. The bed was uncomfortable too but they are the only things I could fault. Would definitely stop here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KellyS930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Thank you very much for passing on your comments following your recent stay with us here at The Grand.

I am so pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us on the whole, and that my staff gave you such great service. It will be a pleasure to pass your feedback onto them so that they see their efforts are not going unnoticed.

I am however sorry to see that your room was too warm and that you had issues with your bed - I will be sure to discuss these matters with my Maintenance team immediately.

I hope to welcome you back into the hotel in the near future.

Warm Regards

Andrew Mosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,033 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,308
    1,989
    1,031
    477
    228
See reviews for
1,208
3,720
188
725
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,127)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

As a surprise for my 58th birthday, my fiancé secretly booked a break at the Grand Brighton, I have travelled extensively throughout my life but this turned out to be the best birthday I can remember. From the moment we arrived at the Grand, the welcome, staff, facilities and general ambience were perfect. our delightful room was one of those recently refurbished overlooking the beach. The restaurant offering at the spanking new GB1 was stunning to put it mildly, and the food to die for. As part of my special treat, the following morning after a superb breakfast, a trip to the Spa for a relaxing and invigorating massage. The location od the Grand was perfect for exploring the Lanes and a short walk to the pier, the marina being only a few minutes away.
The entire weekend was so very special and I believe everyone should try to take advantage of the fact we have such a magnificent hotel on our shores, it felt like an exotic holiday packed into a weekend break. Thank you so much/.

Room Tip: There is no substitute for a sea view when you wake up !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deziwoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Thank you so much for your recent review of The Grand on TripAdvisor - and Happy (belated!) Birthday. I am so truly pleased to see that my staff were able to make this such a special occasion for you.

We have spent considerable time and effort over the last year refurbishing the hotel, and making ourselves the best we can truly be, and reading comments like yours lets us know that it was all worthwhile. My team work incredibly hard to provide all of our guests and visitors with impeccable service at all times, and I will be sure to pass your feedback to all of my team.

I look forward to welcoming you back into the hotel again soon,

Warm Regards

Andrew Mosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Visited the recently opened spa yesterday, from the moment we stepped into the hotel the service was fantastic; we were escorted down to the spa facilities which was a lovely first touch rather than just being pointed in the direction.
The receptionist was friendly and welcoming showing us around the amazing facilities, everything is so clean and fresh, the robes and towels fluffy and the treatments were the best we’ve had in a while. The therapists were great explaining the treatments taking such care and attention over them.
If you are looking for a relaxing spa experience in Brighton I would definitely recommend visiting here. We loved it so much that we’ve booked the same package again when we visit Brighton in a few weeks’ time, I can’t wait!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Windsorgal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this review, 23 June 2013
Thank you very much for your recent review of The Grand.

I am so pleased to see that you enjoyed your visit to our brand new Spa, we have been working on it for a long time, but couldn't be happier with the results! I will be sure to pass your feedback onto my Spa team, and they will be thrilled to see their hard work has been appreciated.

I hope to welcome yu back to the spa in the near future - We are currently running a number of special deals and opening offers for the spa, so be sure to have a look on the De Dere website for full details.

Thanks once again,

Warm Regards

Andrew Mosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Stayed on the sixth room in standard room which was very large and comfortable apart from being hot (no air con) small bathroom but lots of hot water and great shower. Sea food restaurant was excellent as was the service, good breakfast as well. Bar area a little small when the hotel is busy but good service.

Room Tip: Rooms at rear nice and quiet but would be hot in the summer months
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Thank you for sharing your review of The Grand on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us.

I am so pleased to see you enjoyed your time with us, and will be sure to pass on your kind comments to all my staff - particularly my GB1 team.

However i am concerend to note your comments regarding your room being too warm, and I will of course address these with my Maintenance team.

I look forward to welcoming you back into the hotel in the near future,

Warm Regards

Andrew Mosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Just returned from a night at the Grand- it was a thoroughly relaxing experience. The standard of everything was exceptional and the food 1st class. We had a great lunch in the GB1 restaurant and the room was so comfortable . We felt that attention had been paid to all the little details that make staying away special. Thank you to everyone. We cannot wait to book again despite only living 7 mile away...

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Thank you very much for aking the time to pass on your comments following your recent trip to us here at The Grand. It is always a delight to hear such wonderful feedback, be it from guests from far flung corners of the world, or just around the corner!

I will take great delight in passing on your ocmments to my team, especially the Chefs and waiting staff who have worked so hard to launch GB1 and make is the success it has been.

I look forward to welcoming you into the hotel in the near future, the De Vere website always lists our best prices and I am sure you could find yourself a summer bargain!

Thanks once again,

Warm Regards

Andrew Mosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skewen, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

I was in Brighton for a conference and ate in the Grand Hotel one evening, which hosted our conference dinner. The food and service were superb, although the wine list was slighly over priced. The quality of our meals was first class.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank IRoss896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review of The Grand following your recent stay with us.

Our new restaurant, GB1, has been a huge success since it opened and I am so pleased you enjoyed the combination of freshly caught produce and "food theatre". I will be sure to pass your kind words onto our chefs and waiters, who work so hard to deliver great service to all of our guests.

Thanks once again,

Warm Regards

Andrew Mosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Recently opened Spa is just amazing place! 2 excellent thermal rooms- Sauna and steam room, so clean, fresh and still can smell real wood fragrance. It's quite place, relaxing music, candles, Wonderful quality bathrobes and towels!
I had beck and shoulder massage and it was best experience I ever had! Then nail treatment and hand massage!
Staff is amazing, polite, professional and more than happy to assist you with every request!
The best place in Brighton for relaxing and peaceful day out.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helena J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this review, 2 June 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review of The Grand following your recent stay with us.

We are so very proud of our beautiful new Spa, and of how much hard work the Spa team have put into it to make it a success, so I will be delighted to pass on your comments to the team. They have undergone huge amounts of training prior to the opening, and it is so gratifying to see that their efforts re being appreciated by our guests.

Thank you once again, and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Warm Regards

Andrew Mosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,459 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.8 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,047 reviews
0.7 mi away
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Drakes Hotel Brighton
#4 of 44 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Brighton

Property: The Grand Brighton
Address: 97-99 King's Road, Brighton BN1 2FW, England (Formerly The De Vere Grand Brighton)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#3 Family Hotel in Brighton
#4 Business Hotel in Brighton
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a truly remarkable hotel. An iconic Victorian building, it stands centre stage on the vibrant Brighton seafront and is a local landmark. Magnificent, imposing and the epitome of luxury. This is The Grand, Brighton. Following a recent extensive refurbishment, The Grand experience is one you will never forget. It's in the splendour of the 123 step sweeping staircase, the exquisite textures in the bedrooms, the delectable cuisine in GB1 restaurant and the sumptuous surroundings of The Spa at The Grand. It's in the stunning seaviews and the warmth with which you are welcomed. It's in its innate sense of style. The magnificent Grand is a popular location for films and television shows. Coronation Street, Eastenders and Only Fools and Horses have all shot episodes in the hotel. For the complete Brighton experience, it has to be The Grand, Brighton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The De Vere Grand Brighton Hotel Brighton
De Vere Grand Brighton
De Vere Grand Hotel Brighton
Brighton Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing