We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Present stay . Average staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grand Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Grand Brighton
Ranked #9 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Present stay . Average staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

Stayed here for one night on my birthday . Present from father in law . Found the hotel a nice place to be enjoying cocktail in the bar . Had dinner in the gb1 with the family . 13 people food was amazing and waiter was 5* . We had breakfast in bed . But our toast was missing . So rung house keeping and was told that they knew and where bring it up .
( would of been nice if we where told this when food was delivered )
Other down fall was when we arrived our room was 45 mins late . We where not told what floor our room
Was on and had to ask . And was still not shown . Got to the room the key fob did not work . Went back to reception and where told I has never not worked before . Am
I doing it wrong . Which I have the same system at my work so know
How it works . After getting in the room was good clean . Went for a walk and saw a valet Parker from the hotel
Speeding in a customer car . . Over all hotel and restaurant amazing staff not so good . Better service at there sister hotel on Bournemouth .

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meacham1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Thank you very much for passing on your feedback following your recent stay with us. I hope you had a wonderful birthday, and thank you so much for spending it here at The Grand.

I am pleased to see that you enjoyed the hotel as a whole, and I will be sure to pass on your compliments to the Lounge and GB1 teams.

I am however disappointed to see that you encountered a number of issues while staying with us, and I will of course stress the importance of good service and prompt delivery of food to all my teams. I can also promise you that as a hotel we take the safety of all of our staff and guests extremely seriously, and as such I will be talking to all of my Concierge team about the importance of road safety.

Thank you once again, and I hope we will welcome you back into the hotel in the future, and be able to show you how right we can get it.

Warm Regards

Andrew Mosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,699 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,122
    1,897
    1,001
    457
    222
See reviews for
1,148
3,534
179
692
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,105)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
328 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

We stayed here for one night and enjoyed our stay, the room was newly decorated and well appointed, despite there being no view. The bar was really nice to hang out in before we went for dinner and I can imagine having a nice afternoon tea there. Breakfast was great with a really good selection on offer. I think that the price is fairly high but you are paying for the prestige of staying here.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesOwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to pass on your feedback following your visit to us here at The Grand.

The refurbishment project is nearly complete, and has taken the best part of a year, but hearing positive comments from guests such as yourself really does make it all worthwhile.

I will be sure to pass on your kind words to my Lounge team, and if you do ever want to experience Afternoon Tea here at The Grand, maybe on the Terrace on a sunny afternoon, please do not hesitate to contact us to make a booking. We have a new Afternoon Tea service launching later in the Summer, and I can promise you it is worth the trip!

I will also pass on your compliments to my Breakfast team, who work so hard to get our guests days off to such a great start.

Warm Regards, and I look forward to welcoming you into the hotel again soon.

Andrew Mosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

I stayed in this hotel just over a year ago and had a quite lengthy complaint which I took to the management on my return home. The Deputy Manager phoned me and emailed me to follow up and was very sympathetic to my complaint and eager to offer a solution to the problem.
My sister and I stayed for a night at the end of May in a Sea View deluxe room. It was wonderful, spacious, modern and very clean. We loved it and what a treat for us.
Breakfast was plentiful and well cooked. This is how I imagined the Grand should be.
I have read many bad reviews on here about the Grand and a year ago I would have added to them, but I gave the management chance to respond to my complaint first and they dealt with it very professionally and to a satisfactory conclusion. I wanted to wait until my second stay before I wrote a review.
Would I stay here again? Yes, but I would never be able to afford the room we have just stayed in even for 1 night. Would I recommend to others? Definitely and if you have a problem, let them know and give them a chance to put it right, you may be surprised.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Woo48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this review, 23 June 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your feedback following your recent stay with us here at The Grand.

While I am truly sorry that we made some errors during your first stay with us, I am so pleased to see that your return was a success, and we showed you how Grand we can be!

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future,

Warm Regards


Andrew Mosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

We got a really good deal for this hotel on trivago. The location is perfect and the hotel is as the it's name suggests very grand. The service was fab. The breakfast was great every thing you could wish for. The drinks in the bar were not as expensive as we expected. The only complaint would be they were having some work done so the view out of the window was scaffolding and also as other people have mentioned the room was uncomfortably hot. The bed was uncomfortable too but they are the only things I could fault. Would definitely stop here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KellyS930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Thank you very much for passing on your comments following your recent stay with us here at The Grand.

I am so pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us on the whole, and that my staff gave you such great service. It will be a pleasure to pass your feedback onto them so that they see their efforts are not going unnoticed.

I am however sorry to see that your room was too warm and that you had issues with your bed - I will be sure to discuss these matters with my Maintenance team immediately.

I hope to welcome you back into the hotel in the near future.

Warm Regards

Andrew Mosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

As a surprise for my 58th birthday, my fiancé secretly booked a break at the Grand Brighton, I have travelled extensively throughout my life but this turned out to be the best birthday I can remember. From the moment we arrived at the Grand, the welcome, staff, facilities and general ambience were perfect. our delightful room was one of those recently refurbished overlooking the beach. The restaurant offering at the spanking new GB1 was stunning to put it mildly, and the food to die for. As part of my special treat, the following morning after a superb breakfast, a trip to the Spa for a relaxing and invigorating massage. The location od the Grand was perfect for exploring the Lanes and a short walk to the pier, the marina being only a few minutes away.
The entire weekend was so very special and I believe everyone should try to take advantage of the fact we have such a magnificent hotel on our shores, it felt like an exotic holiday packed into a weekend break. Thank you so much/.

Room Tip: There is no substitute for a sea view when you wake up !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deziwoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Thank you so much for your recent review of The Grand on TripAdvisor - and Happy (belated!) Birthday. I am so truly pleased to see that my staff were able to make this such a special occasion for you.

We have spent considerable time and effort over the last year refurbishing the hotel, and making ourselves the best we can truly be, and reading comments like yours lets us know that it was all worthwhile. My team work incredibly hard to provide all of our guests and visitors with impeccable service at all times, and I will be sure to pass your feedback to all of my team.

I look forward to welcoming you back into the hotel again soon,

Warm Regards

Andrew Mosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

Visited the recently opened spa yesterday, from the moment we stepped into the hotel the service was fantastic; we were escorted down to the spa facilities which was a lovely first touch rather than just being pointed in the direction.
The receptionist was friendly and welcoming showing us around the amazing facilities, everything is so clean and fresh, the robes and towels fluffy and the treatments were the best we’ve had in a while. The therapists were great explaining the treatments taking such care and attention over them.
If you are looking for a relaxing spa experience in Brighton I would definitely recommend visiting here. We loved it so much that we’ve booked the same package again when we visit Brighton in a few weeks’ time, I can’t wait!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Windsorgal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this review, 23 June 2013
Thank you very much for your recent review of The Grand.

I am so pleased to see that you enjoyed your visit to our brand new Spa, we have been working on it for a long time, but couldn't be happier with the results! I will be sure to pass your feedback onto my Spa team, and they will be thrilled to see their hard work has been appreciated.

I hope to welcome yu back to the spa in the near future - We are currently running a number of special deals and opening offers for the spa, so be sure to have a look on the De Dere website for full details.

Thanks once again,

Warm Regards

Andrew Mosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

Stayed on the sixth room in standard room which was very large and comfortable apart from being hot (no air con) small bathroom but lots of hot water and great shower. Sea food restaurant was excellent as was the service, good breakfast as well. Bar area a little small when the hotel is busy but good service.

Room Tip: Rooms at rear nice and quiet but would be hot in the summer months
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMGMDGB, General Manager at The Grand Brighton, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Thank you for sharing your review of The Grand on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us.

I am so pleased to see you enjoyed your time with us, and will be sure to pass on your kind comments to all my staff - particularly my GB1 team.

However i am concerend to note your comments regarding your room being too warm, and I will of course address these with my Maintenance team.

I look forward to welcoming you back into the hotel in the near future,

Warm Regards

Andrew Mosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,354 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.8 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#14 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,997 reviews
0.7 mi away
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Drakes Hotel Brighton
#4 of 44 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#10 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Brighton

Property: The Grand Brighton
Address: 97-99 King's Road, Brighton BN1 2FW, England (Formerly The De Vere Grand Brighton)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Brighton
#3 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#4 Business Hotel in Brighton
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a truly remarkable hotel. An iconic Victorian building, it stands centre stage on the vibrant Brighton seafront and is a local landmark. Magnificent, imposing and the epitome of luxury. This is The Grand, Brighton. Following a recent extensive refurbishment, The Grand experience is one you will never forget. It's in the splendour of the 123 step sweeping staircase, the exquisite textures in the bedrooms, the delectable cuisine in GB1 restaurant and the sumptuous surroundings of The Spa at The Grand. It's in the stunning seaviews and the warmth with which you are welcomed. It's in its innate sense of style. The magnificent Grand is a popular location for films and television shows. Coronation Street, Eastenders and Only Fools and Horses have all shot episodes in the hotel. For the complete Brighton experience, it has to be The Grand, Brighton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Grand Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The De Vere Grand Brighton Hotel Brighton
De Vere Grand Brighton
De Vere Grand Hotel Brighton
Brighton Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing