We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel”
Review of The Grand Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Grand Brighton
Ranked #9 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Westbury
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“excellent hotel”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

A good hotel with old fashioned ideas of service a bit expensive but worth it.
however the sea view room was ordered with a balcony.
Their idea of a balcony and mine are completely different.
I was expecting a balcony you two of you could stand on at the very least.
the Grand's idea is a metal frame outside the patio doors with no area at all.
The room was wonderful, very clean and well appointed.
Unfortunately due to the traffic on the road outside moving 24/7 with Police and Ambulances having to use their sirens to clear a path you can`t sleep with the windows open and there is no Air Con (we picked the first real warm weekend to go down there). There was a ceiling fan which was faulty (They fixed it the next day) and they provided an air cooler within an hour of our complaint. As I said their service is excellent. we thought that the bar prices were steep until we went into town to find town pub prices only slightly cheaper.
The breakfast is very good as well and plenty of it. S
Some of the seating at the front of the hotel is reserved from 2 o'clock in the afternoon for cream teas. So if you want a quiet drink you are relegated to the bar area which is a bit dark we noticed that this also happened in the evening.
When you are spending this sort of money you don`t expect to find outsiders taking the better seats. overall a very good hotel with a few areas which need attending too. Would recommend it just for the service.

Room Tip: pick a room away from the roads if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,457
    2,068
    1,065
    490
    233
See reviews for
1,261
3,853
197
769
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,140)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a three night stay at the hotel and we were very pleased by our experience. We were able to get a great deal through a 'Secret Escape' package which afforded us quite a big saving . We were offered a free sea view upgrade room which was most welcome to complement our experience. Our room ( as with most areas of the hotel) were we believe, quite recently refurbished to a high standard of finish and comfort. Hotel staff were warm, friendly and highly professional and despite the hotel being very busy, we did not have to wait long to receive service when we needed it. Although we did not eat a main meal in the restaurant, the breakfasts were very good with plenty of choice, only at odd times running low on a few items when it was very busy.
Whilst we were staying, there were conferences being run daily at the Hotel, which did tend to over crowd the reception and public areas a little. Also during the evenings, seating in the public areas were rather crowded. As the hotel does not have any outside seating areas, we found there were surprisingly few places to sit and enjoy the hotel experience, However we did enjoy our room which made up for this. One thing we didn't expect was to pay £28 per night car parking with the hotel which seemed very expensive. Local parking however was very little cheaper so maybe this is an issues for hotel guests in general who stay on the sea front in Brighton. Give a similar deal we would certainly stay again at the Grand which is a high class hotel worthy of it's reputation.

Room Tip: if possible ask for a free sea view room upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davepitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

I booked two double rooms at the Grand for myself, husband, daughter and granddaughter who had flown in from the US a few days previously. This booking was made and confirmed in early April, we had paid for train tickets and made complicated arrangements for this visit. Two days before our stay the hotel rang and said they only had the rooms for one night and then we would need to move to another hotel of inferior quality, apparently the hotel had a conference who had block booked???? absolute tosh.
I managed at the very last moment to secure the last two rooms at the Thistle Hotel we enjoyed our stay enormously, although the hotel was more expensive we had important family business in Brighton so not prepared to cancel our trip.
The attitude of the Grand and the person that rang us is absolutely appalling, and De Vere Hotels should be ashamed of themselves, we were loyal customers of many years standing, certainly not any more.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank greenfingers36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Classy, beautiful, elegant. This hotel is all of those.
Right from the friendly welcome at the door from the doorman, to Terri on reception who seems to have a tape recorder in her head so good is she at remembering the details that matter when you arrive, to the stunning view from our room when we walked in to our bedroom.
The room (524) was lovely. Sufficiently large with a huge and comfortable bed with the most divine pillows. You just sink into them.Lovely decor.
All the things that make a trip enjoyable were provided: hairdryer, iron, ironing board, hospitality tray well stocked. The usual toiletries in the spotless bathroom. Room quiet with an unusual addition: a door bell. This is actually a good idea as when room service arrived there were no worries about not being able to hear them knocking and if a guest ordered room service late in the evening other guests would not be disturbed by the knocking on a guest's door.
We had drinks in the bar before dinner. The bar is romantic and comfortable and service is fantastic. Try their cocktails. They are terrific.
Dinner was just great. I am vegetarian and very much enjoyed my meal. As did my partner who is not a vegetarian. Drinks were served quickly and the staff just couldn't do enough for us.
This is such a well run hotel. We were very very impressed by the staff. Efficient, friendly and definitely no fawning, something both my partner and I abhor.
Room service breakfast - on time - and again served by a very friendly staff member. Just bliss sitting by the window eating the lovely breakfast and gazing out to sea enjoying the changing colours of the water and the seagulls swooping and wheeling past our window.
We honestly felt sad at leaving our room and this beautiful hotel. We do very much hope that we can return at some time in the future. Thank you all for making our little break so wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex UK
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

It's a splendid looking hotel and the staff are 100% attentive at reception etc. went to the bar and ordered 2 latte, got 2 warm milky coffees after a 15 min wait for £7.50, Food in the new restaurant was ok but not very well cooked. Fish pie was was only warm, steak was mostly fat, chips were hard and not cooked through. Expensive for what it was. The chairs in the dining room are like high chairs and you feel that you are going to slide off them. When we first arrived we had lunch in the bar, 2 Caesar salads and two bowls of chips, one of the bowls had 4 grim looking chips in it making them over a £1,00 each
Rooms are ok and clean but hot and stuffy, no air con and one of the windows screwed shut. The other only opens a couple of inches but let in the hideous drone of noisy extractor fans which made it difficult to sleep

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ridleyville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Only stayed for the one night, treat whilst in Brighton to see Weller at the Dome. Had to stay because of the history - room nice, but expensive, and not sea view as couldn't afford one! Very comfortable mattress & memory foam pillows. Breakfast a lot better than expected judging previous reviews, plenty to choose from and very tasty.
All staff very conscientious and helpful -

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyBristow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

There is much improvement since our last visit , now that the refurbishment is almost complete.
Our Bedroom had been recently refurbished to an exceptional standard. The Reception and Entrance areas with all the hustle and bustle put us in mind of this Hotel 25 years ago. Nothing seemed too much trouble for the Staff.
The only negative comment would be the Service at Dinner which we found slightly pushy regarding extra cost additions to the Menu. This is probably due to the design and content of Menu showing many extras.
However, cannot wait for our next visit.

Room Tip: Try for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kentslattery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.8 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
1,162 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
2,099 reviews
0.6 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 44 in Brighton
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Brighton

Property: The Grand Brighton
Address: 97-99 King's Road, Brighton BN1 2FW, England (Formerly The De Vere Grand Brighton)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Brighton
#3 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#4 Business Hotel in Brighton
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a truly remarkable hotel. An iconic Victorian building, it stands centre stage on the vibrant Brighton seafront and is a local landmark. Magnificent, imposing and the epitome of luxury. This is The Grand, Brighton. Following a recent extensive refurbishment, The Grand experience is one you will never forget. It's in the splendour of the 123 step sweeping staircase, the exquisite textures in the bedrooms, the delectable cuisine in GB1 restaurant and the sumptuous surroundings of The Spa at The Grand. It's in the stunning seaviews and the warmth with which you are welcomed. It's in its innate sense of style. The magnificent Grand is a popular location for films and television shows. Coronation Street, Eastenders and Only Fools and Horses have all shot episodes in the hotel. For the complete Brighton experience, it has to be The Grand, Brighton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Grand Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The De Vere Grand Brighton Hotel Brighton
De Vere Grand Brighton
De Vere Grand Hotel Brighton
Brighton Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing