We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No air conditioning”
Review of The Grand Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grand Brighton
Ranked #10 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Cranbrook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“No air conditioning”
Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

Friends stayed at this hotel for a few days, on the hottest weeks this year, they were given up upgrade, we'll it was meant to be, but had no (as other have stated) air conditioning. So be warned if it is a hot week, ask about this when booking. We had afternoon tea and scones, that were no better than any cream teas, I had, the jam tasted as if from a jar and the cream was runny and not that special, and this was a silly price. We sat in the front conservatory, and that was pleasant, but the rest of the bar area, was old fashioned, dark and dull. If going to Brighton, and you want to say you have stayed at The Grand, great, but there are better hotel's in Brighton now and cheaper.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank myscimitar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,384
    2,030
    1,049
    484
    229
See reviews for
1,235
3,793
195
742
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,134)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

When I come to Brighton for work usually I go to the Metropole or to the Thistle..less time to the Du Vin. I was always scared by the Grand at least for the fact that the cost x night is the double than the Thistle or one an a half vs the Metropole.
This time the others were fully booked so I got the Grand De Vere. I was wondering..ok it will cost the budget of two/three business trips but once in my life I will try it.
I must admit that 35 degrees in UK is unusual but I was wondering that for this cost per night I would have enjoyed the best conditioning in the world.....NOTHING.... "I am sorry but at the Grand we don't have conditioning..."..we can give you the last available coil (see picture) and if you ask every morning maybe one better coil will become available..." And then when I objected that the mini fridge in the room is broken the reception lady told "no...you're wrong..it is not a fridge but it is instead a cooler so it seems that it doesn't work but it is not supposed to make drinks fresh". When I told her that the cooler was not making any noise and water was hot she told "sorry we don't have anyone available to repair now" ask tomorrow morning.... The Grand has nobody available at late evening... Even the hotels on the motorway have it (and sorry for those hotels..I have nothing against them). What else could happen tomorrow at breakfast? Hot breakfast? But the lady t the reception has the solution..."don't worry....tomorrow it will be raining"!!! No comment. Unfortunately the others are still fully booked...I understand why the Grand has still rooms when the other lovely hotels are fully booked...

Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank dblazio74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The Grand looks a bit tired these days but I would still recommend it. We had a cheaper non-seaview room which was ok. It was clean and everything worked. All the staff were superb and service was excellent. Breakfast was very good and worth the little extra.

Location of the Grand is excellent for accessing the beach and all the bars without being too noisy. Parking is costly. Cheapest is to pre-book the NCP directly behind The Grand. Still a bit pricey though.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siasllaffh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at the Grand, it was perfect for a family weekend away with Granny. Every member of staff that we interacted with was extremely cheerful and helpful. The Grand is in a great location for accessing everything that Brighton has to offer. Only downside that affected us was the rooms were incredibly hot, no air con and the window could only be opened a tiny amount.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christmasroach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
98 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We stayed here in 2012 and it was good, but the room needed to be refurbished. This year we had a room that had just been refurbished.

The plus points - room was very nice and comfortable, staff were very helpful and breakfast was great.

Not really any negative points - we were the first people to stay in the room and at least one of the mains sockets did not work, but that had no real impact once we had worked out where to plug in the TV.

Planning to go back again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanG001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
263 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Booked a deal for 3 nights dinner bed and breakfast. Worth every penny. Whilst its a tad tired on the outside inside was great and still felt very appealing. We had room 222 which overlooks the sea and has a great balcony. It was just great. Staff were outstanding and all very helpful. Girls on reception and bar staff all friendly. Bed and pillows were also very good. Loved it.. Swimming pool being built so will be even better...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HampshireNat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

The Grand was very grand

My wife and I stayed in The Grand for one night on B&B rate in July. Check in was from 3pm, but we arrived at around 2.45, so thought we would see if our room was available. Unfortunately not, but the reception checked and thought it would only be 10-15 minutes, so the weather was hot outside, so we decided to relax and have a cold drink in the bar area. The staff were great, making sure we had everything we needed. They had plenty of daily newspapers on the Sunday to read.
After finishing our drinks, it was about 3.20, so we decided to try and check in again. For some reason our room was still not ready, so the reception person after our request, decided to check us into another room of the same type on the top floor.
The room had recently been refurbished, still having the fresh smell of paint, which was not an issue. The room was great, three windows over looking the front, with. sofa and two chairs, as well as a large bed.
There was a large selection of food at breakfast, providing fish if requested or fresh waffles. You will not starve, and the quality of the food was of high standard.
Brighton itself was good but very busy as expected. Parking is a pain and very expensive, so you may wish to think about getting local transport to save the hassle.
All in all, it was a good stay, and we would return.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank robins_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.8 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
1,144 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
2,076 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Brighton Metropole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Brighton

Property: The Grand Brighton
Address: 97-99 King's Road, Brighton BN1 2FW, England (Formerly The De Vere Grand Brighton)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Brighton
#4 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#4 Business Hotel in Brighton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a truly remarkable hotel. An iconic Victorian building, it stands centre stage on the vibrant Brighton seafront and is a local landmark. Magnificent, imposing and the epitome of luxury. This is The Grand, Brighton. Following a recent extensive refurbishment, The Grand experience is one you will never forget. It's in the splendour of the 123 step sweeping staircase, the exquisite textures in the bedrooms, the delectable cuisine in GB1 restaurant and the sumptuous surroundings of The Spa at The Grand. It's in the stunning seaviews and the warmth with which you are welcomed. It's in its innate sense of style. The magnificent Grand is a popular location for films and television shows. Coronation Street, Eastenders and Only Fools and Horses have all shot episodes in the hotel. For the complete Brighton experience, it has to be The Grand, Brighton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Grand Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The De Vere Grand Brighton Hotel Brighton
De Vere Grand Brighton
De Vere Grand Hotel Brighton
Brighton Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing