We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel but with one big flaw...”
Review of The Grand Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grand Brighton
Ranked #10 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel but with one big flaw...”
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

The grand is certainly very grand but sadly we feel a bit let down. We booked a standard room as we knew we would be spending lots of time out and about so the view wasn't important the major problem with that is your placed in rooms by the generators which are unbearably loud I was very disappointed so called reception who advised that they are switched off at 10:30 which is true however one obviously isn't and literally hums all night :-/ I complained again to reception who did compensate us but in all honesty you should be made aware of this before you book! I ended up managing four hours sleep then shoving cotton wool in my ears to muffle the sound :-( such a shame as the rooms are lovely beds comfy and the staff a credit.

We stayed in room 501.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank LauraH-TRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,386
    2,031
    1,049
    484
    229
See reviews for
1,235
3,795
195
743
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,134)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, Surrey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

What a lovely hotel! Beautiful refurbishment last year I believe, and it has retained all of its elegance, yet is bang up to date. We upgraded to a King Deluxe sea view room, and we got one of the corner suites with the most panoramic semi-circular views of the seafront. A real WOW moment. Loved it!!

Okay, now for the reasons why it did not get 5*.

Despite the glorious refurb, the HUGE bathroom had the most pathetic shower cubicle I have seen in years. TINY! I am a regular sized 6' tall guy, and I was banging my elbows every few seconds trying to shower. Just thoughtless planning.

Second. No room turn down service. Weird omission in a 5* luxury hotel.

The GB1 restaurant serves fabulous seafood, but get a table at 8pm of after, as before that there is zero atmosphere. Food was flawless and beautiful though.

Staff throughout the hotel were extremely friendly and helpful - sometimes their youth and subsequent lack of experience showed, but they remedied everything quickly and with good humour, so no complaints at all.

We would DEFINITELY go back :)

Room Tip: If it's romance you want, get a sea view room in one of the towers - FABULOUS!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjg247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Stayed here for one night and booked a standard double room, which I thought would be fine - checked into the hotel which is most impressive and has been beautifully refurbished.
went to the allocated room which was room 110, well what a complete disappointment, small room and very clean etc but we looked onto a brick wall with a large ducting pipe !!!!!!! rang reception and they said all the standard rooms were the same and would have the same outlook!!!!! I did not expect sea view but even a view of the dustbins would have been better than the brick wall.

changed room to a chamber unique room which was beautiful and so very different. As they say its all about location, location!!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandbanks00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking
Level Contributor
190 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

This has always been the best placed hotel in Brighton but now that the rooms have had a lick of paint, new tv's etc. it is much better. Still far from a five star room finish but when on offer, a great stay for business or pleasure. The hotel communal areas offer much character and the service is very good. My only slight bad pints are: buffet breakfast which when busy runs out of stuff quickly and is not always replenished as quickly as it should be. If you are planning a breakfast at 10ish on a Saturday, expect a wait for a table. The only other negative is how can the hotel car park cost £26 per day during the week, which is already rather expensive, for that only to increase to £30 at weekends! Mini bars in rooms would also be a nice tuch. Still, a great hotel option if you are coming to Brighton.

Room Tip: The bigger the better so well worth paying more f you can as the entry level double rooms are small!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominik L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
86 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

I stopped here on business for one night. The rooms and hotel in general were very good and servkce as good as you would expect. I parked in a NCP car park at the rear of the hotel which was expensive ( as all parking appears to be in Brighton ) the highlight for me was the lobster burger in the hotel restaurant which was excellent ( see photo )

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank RichSarahHolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Love it here! - The service, the sea views, comfortable stylish bedroom with luxury linens, fabulous bathroom with bath & power shower & tea/coffee tray. Breakfast buffet is excellent. Great Spa facilities. Bar & dining with traditional afternoon tea. This legendary Hotel has it all.

Room Tip: Chambre unique
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AStylishTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

Last stayed at the grand 6 years ago and we stayed here for 1 night in a "chamber unique room". The service was very good especially from the door man who was very polite & friendly. The recent refurbishment was much needed and was done beautifully, our room was huge with a large balcony, lovely decor, the only small detail it missed was a mini fridge! Regrettably I did not pre book a reservation at the hotels GB1 restaurant which was full, it looked amazing ( especially the famous lobster burger!) it was very busy at the hotel which I was not expecting & we had a hard time finding a reservation at local restaurants that night as they were either full or only had very late reservations available but luckily my husband remembered one we had seen earlier in the day called Havanas which turned out to be a beautiful restaurant where I had one of the most fantastic meals I've had in a long time! Will make sure next time we stay at the Grand, that we use the spa as it looks lovely but we decided to shop ( again!) lovely stay at the grand, look forward to the next visit

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaybluesEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.8 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
1,144 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
2,079 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Brighton Metropole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Brighton

Property: The Grand Brighton
Address: 97-99 King's Road, Brighton BN1 2FW, England (Formerly The De Vere Grand Brighton)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Brighton
#4 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#4 Business Hotel in Brighton
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a truly remarkable hotel. An iconic Victorian building, it stands centre stage on the vibrant Brighton seafront and is a local landmark. Magnificent, imposing and the epitome of luxury. This is The Grand, Brighton. Following a recent extensive refurbishment, The Grand experience is one you will never forget. It's in the splendour of the 123 step sweeping staircase, the exquisite textures in the bedrooms, the delectable cuisine in GB1 restaurant and the sumptuous surroundings of The Spa at The Grand. It's in the stunning seaviews and the warmth with which you are welcomed. It's in its innate sense of style. The magnificent Grand is a popular location for films and television shows. Coronation Street, Eastenders and Only Fools and Horses have all shot episodes in the hotel. For the complete Brighton experience, it has to be The Grand, Brighton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The De Vere Grand Brighton Hotel Brighton
De Vere Grand Brighton
De Vere Grand Hotel Brighton
Brighton Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing