We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid Victorian decor”
Review of The Grand Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Grand Brighton
Ranked #10 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

The Grand.
Splendid Victorian decor and features. Lovely bar area.
Our standard room was spacious and very comfortable.
Only criticism the maid was continually knocking on our door one morning, until she decided to let herself in as I was coming out of the bathroom..... A lovely sight!! The newspaper untouched at our door was a bit of a giveaway!! She also played "hide and seek" with the kettle deciding to place it in ...... A Wardrobe!!!
Reception area gets a bit busy, check in/outs plus queues for breakfast.
I will return as had a great stay.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank SippAble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (8,219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6,612 - 6,618 of 8,219 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2013

The hotel was dressed for Christmas and looked great.
The staff from the moment we booked in until we left were friendly and very helpful.
We had a sea view room including Bose Bluetooth speaker and full Sky HD recorder.
A nice touch is the espresso machine in the room.
Bathroom included bath and shower with good hot water and flow.
Breakfast was busy but very tasty with an excellent selection including waffles and maple syrup!
Cocktail bar was exceptionally busy due to a function, but highly recommended. As we had to wait a long time we were given a complimentary drink.
We used the the valet parking making the stay that little bit more special and only a few more pounds than the nearby NCP. Advice get there early they will park your car arrange for your bags to go to the room for when you check in later. We were blessed with a lovely day so went for a promenade and look in the Lovely Lanes before checking in.
After checking out we went for a walk and shopping at the nearby Shopping Mall returned to reception who then brought our car to the front with our bags already stowed away in the boot.
All very Grand!

Room Tip: Recommend sea room but you do get some traffic noise on the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juju149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

As a birthday treat for my daughter I purchased two vouchers for a spa day. On arrival we were greeted by concierge who directed us to the spa, we booked in and ordered lunch we then went to the steam rooms and relaxation rooms while waiting for our treatments. The relaxation rooms are a delight, lovely comfy couches to lounge on. The treatment was done by a French girl (forgot her name) and was very good the Espa facial is luxurious! Lunch was good I had a sussex cream tea it was fresh and well presented, my daughter had the fish lunch which was also nice. Altogether a lovely day just a shame there is no swimming pool otherwise I would have given 5 stars.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryF786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Our weekend was a R&R weekend away from work and the kids and a chance for my partner to recuperate after not being well. We booked it a while ago and had been looking forward to it for ages.

The hotel didn't disappoint, we had a charming room with a sea view which was lovely and the bed's were as comfortable as the ones we have at home. No suite but just the ticket for our stay. Until the live band started up in the teepee over the road when we got back from dinner. The music, which would normally be right up our street, was so loud we had trouble hearing the TV and we certainly had no chance of getting any sleep.

The hotel's duty manager was very good and about 11pm after there was no obvious finish time coming any time soon, they moved us to a room at the rear of the hotel. But we didn't get to wake up to our sea view in our lovely room on Sat am. Sooo sad :0)

The staff were helpful (esp the restaurant staff at breakfast). And we were very grateful to be moved.

Room Tip: Definitely a room with a sea view is the thing - but definitely try to avoid the band !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fledge64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Lovely hotel, great staff, good atmosphere, enjoyed a couple of drinks in the bar after we had been out - great fun. We had a lovely time.
Very help concierge car parking service, even if it did cost £30 -very similar to local public car parks.

Room Tip: We had a room with a view of another building ... bit disappointing and made the room quite dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthamptonBundys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

My wife and I had an overnight stay in Brighton for our 10th anniversary. "Grand" pretty much summed up everything from the facia to the staircase to our wonderfully spacious room overlooking the rather skeletal West Pier. We were in a standard double room (623) that was clean and spacious with a large comfortable bed. Breakfast in bed was first class. In fact, my only slight criticism of the whole experience would be that the bar cocktails are a little on the tame side. Great wines though. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Waga75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

2 night stay here as a conference delegate, and wasn't disappointed. Recently redecorated room but retaining an elegant note. Staff polite and efficient. Would definitely consider returning here for a special occasion.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GH-york
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.8 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,249 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Brighton Metropole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#12 of 43 in Brighton
1,420 reviews
2.1 mi away
Malmaison Brighton
Malmaison Brighton
#14 of 43 in Brighton
1,568 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Brighton

Address: 97-99 King's Road, Brighton BN1 2FW, England (Formerly The De Vere Grand Brighton)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Brighton
#4 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#4 Business Hotel in Brighton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: £90 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a truly remarkable hotel. An iconic Victorian building, it stands centre stage on the vibrant Brighton seafront and is a local landmark. Magnificent, imposing and the epitome of luxury. This is The Grand, Brighton. Following a recent extensive refurbishment, The Grand experience is one you will never forget. It's in the splendour of the 123 step sweeping staircase, the exquisite textures in the bedrooms, the delectable cuisine in GB1 restaurant and the sumptuous surroundings of The Spa at The Grand. It's in the stunning seaviews and the warmth with which you are welcomed. It's in its innate sense of style. The magnificent Grand is a popular location for films and television shows. Coronation Street, Eastenders and Only Fools and Horses have all shot episodes in the hotel. For the complete Brighton experience, it has to be The Grand, Brighton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Grand Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The De Vere Grand Brighton Hotel Brighton
De Vere Grand Brighton
De Vere Grand Hotel Brighton
Brighton Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing