We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Grand Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Grand Brighton
Ranked #9 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Very Comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

We went to Brighton for a concert so decided to stay for one night. We found a reasonable deal on Expedia which included breakfast. Location could not be better. Only about a 12 minute walk from the railway station and close to all amenities. On our arrival we were greeted in a friendly manner and everything clearly explained to us. We were given a room on the 6th floor. We had not booked a sea view but the room was very comfortable and reasonable size. Lovely bathroom and good shower. Great bed and had a good nights sleep. Also tea and coffee making facilities.

In the evening after our concert we had a drink in the downstairs bar. This was not as expensive as we expected for hotel of this standing. We found on entering the building it had a comfortable, traditional feeling .

Breakfast was very good with a selection of juices, fruits, cereals, hot and cold food. Eggs were done to perfection and service very prompt and friendly.

It was a real treat to stay here and would do so again. Certainly recommend if you want to treat yourself.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zoli18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,882 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,219
    1,953
    1,019
    464
    227
See reviews for
1,180
3,638
185
706
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,113)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harlow, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a Saturday night accommodation was very good and the bed was exceptionally comfortable. The music in the lounge was a little too loud and when we arrived there were no seats in the bar as afternoon teas were being served.
The breakfast was very good including freshly cooked waffles

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penelope B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at the Grand hotel ( Brighton ) on several occasions ' I always have a sea facing room at the front of the hotel.
I have not beet to the Grand for about ten months when I arrived all seemed to be normal the only thing that had changed was the restaurant
Which is now serving a lot more fresh seafood.
When I went to our room all was well, I looked out of the window and I noticed across the road on the beach esplanade that there was a three top teepee ( wigwam ) structure which had not been there before.
Little did I know then that this structure is being used as a music / dance venue, the noise level was incredible it continued till 1am and there was no way you could sleep with the melodic thump thump thump.
This happened on the Friday night 22/11/2013 and Saturday 23/11/2013
obviously this is not the fault the hotel but someone needs to tell the local authority because this is disturbing the peace and quiet of the guests in this lovely old hotel.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Clive M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Cave, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

Attended a conference here, staying 3 nights.
Staff were marvelously attentive, rooms were great. I slept really well.
Breakfast was super. Orange juice was exceptionally fresh and flavourful. (Don't the small things make a difference).
Would recommend for comfort and location.
Small downsides, drinks in the bar were just too expensive. So we tended to go out instead. Also, beyond breakfast, food was decidedly uninteresting.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bpundyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

The Grand.
Splendid Victorian decor and features. Lovely bar area.
Our standard room was spacious and very comfortable.
Only criticism the maid was continually knocking on our door one morning, until she decided to let herself in as I was coming out of the bathroom..... A lovely sight!! The newspaper untouched at our door was a bit of a giveaway!! She also played "hide and seek" with the kettle deciding to place it in ...... A Wardrobe!!!
Reception area gets a bit busy, check in/outs plus queues for breakfast.
I will return as had a great stay.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SippAble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

The hotel was dressed for Christmas and looked great.
The staff from the moment we booked in until we left were friendly and very helpful.
We had a sea view room including Bose Bluetooth speaker and full Sky HD recorder.
A nice touch is the espresso machine in the room.
Bathroom included bath and shower with good hot water and flow.
Breakfast was busy but very tasty with an excellent selection including waffles and maple syrup!
Cocktail bar was exceptionally busy due to a function, but highly recommended. As we had to wait a long time we were given a complimentary drink.
We used the the valet parking making the stay that little bit more special and only a few more pounds than the nearby NCP. Advice get there early they will park your car arrange for your bags to go to the room for when you check in later. We were blessed with a lovely day so went for a promenade and look in the Lovely Lanes before checking in.
After checking out we went for a walk and shopping at the nearby Shopping Mall returned to reception who then brought our car to the front with our bags already stowed away in the boot.
All very Grand!

Room Tip: Recommend sea room but you do get some traffic noise on the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juju149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

As a birthday treat for my daughter I purchased two vouchers for a spa day. On arrival we were greeted by concierge who directed us to the spa, we booked in and ordered lunch we then went to the steam rooms and relaxation rooms while waiting for our treatments. The relaxation rooms are a delight, lovely comfy couches to lounge on. The treatment was done by a French girl (forgot her name) and was very good the Espa facial is luxurious! Lunch was good I had a sussex cream tea it was fresh and well presented, my daughter had the fish lunch which was also nice. Altogether a lovely day just a shame there is no swimming pool otherwise I would have given 5 stars.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryF786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,420 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.8 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
0.7 mi away
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Drakes Hotel Brighton
#4 of 44 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Brighton

Property: The Grand Brighton
Address: 97-99 King's Road, Brighton BN1 2FW, England (Formerly The De Vere Grand Brighton)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#3 Family Hotel in Brighton
#4 Business Hotel in Brighton
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a truly remarkable hotel. An iconic Victorian building, it stands centre stage on the vibrant Brighton seafront and is a local landmark. Magnificent, imposing and the epitome of luxury. This is The Grand, Brighton. Following a recent extensive refurbishment, The Grand experience is one you will never forget. It's in the splendour of the 123 step sweeping staircase, the exquisite textures in the bedrooms, the delectable cuisine in GB1 restaurant and the sumptuous surroundings of The Spa at The Grand. It's in the stunning seaviews and the warmth with which you are welcomed. It's in its innate sense of style. The magnificent Grand is a popular location for films and television shows. Coronation Street, Eastenders and Only Fools and Horses have all shot episodes in the hotel. For the complete Brighton experience, it has to be The Grand, Brighton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The De Vere Grand Brighton Hotel Brighton
De Vere Grand Brighton
De Vere Grand Hotel Brighton
Brighton Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing