We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No complaints at The Grand - third visit”
Review of The Grand Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Grand Brighton
Ranked #9 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
“No complaints at The Grand - third visit”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We enjoyed our third stay at the Grand last night and since the upgrading of the rooms the whole experience is far superior. Our room was a Standard Sea View Double and it was excellent - full sea view, refurbished comfortable room, huge bed, new furnishings and fittings, all first class. We asked for a quiet room and got one on the 6th floor.

Breakfast also improved as more tables available and a second buffet to take the strain off the main buffet area, we found the breakfast offerings top quality (fresh orange juice, nice bacon and sausages, patisserie good quality, yoghurts and compotes very nice).

The position of the hotel is great on the seafront, and so close to the centre.

So no complaints at the Grand, staff universally friendly and helpful, will return when we next visit Brighton.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank White-family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,485
    2,078
    1,068
    491
    233
See reviews for
1,274
3,875
199
771
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,141)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

This Victorian hotel has retained it's period atmosphere, having been built in the mid 19th Century. It has received very sympathetic refurbishement, The location on the sea front is magnificent, but a sea view room is needed to get the best from a stay there. It's Victorian design is worth a visit, apart from the many things to do in Brighton, with the fantastic Royal Pavilion only 10-15 minutes walk away along the sea front.
The staff throughout were extremely attentive, friendly and helpful.
The GB1 Restaurant is excellent. Big Hotel restaurants are often mediocre, but not this one ! We decided to eat in the restaurant on our first night, and to find a local restaurant in the City for our second night, but the food quality and presentation was so good, we ate in again on our second night. The Restaurant is principally seafood, but there are meat dishes to choose from , so we ate fish on one evening and meat on the other. All excellent.
The main negative for the hotel, is that in spite of double glazing, there is road noise from the traffic outside, for those rooms facing the sea

Room Tip: Book a sea-view room, in spite of the road noise. The double glazing keeps the noise down to a reaso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raypcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We stayed at the Grand for a "Christmas Do" dinner, drinks and accommodation for one night followed by breakfast the next morning.
Everything was superb - our room 116 stunning ,fab view huge bed lovely shower and bathroom all clean fresh and welcoming.
The meal was very good and the service impeccable ! Followed by a splendid breakfast the following morning where we all commented on the army of staff who must have worked so hard to prepare the room over night from the previous nights fun. Well done what a transformation !
A great night in a great hotel many thanks to Kimberly for all her help arranging the event it was all perfect.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathyscrystals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
1 review
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Good service, good food and convenient for shops attractions.
Staff friendly. Food was to a high standard and reasonably priced.
Seemed strange to have to ask for carpet slippers from housekeeping.
The decor is traditional and looked to be in a high state of repair. Secure parking is handy as parking can be a nightmare in Brighton.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

I was looking forward to staying in this hotel, but it was a disappointing stay. The location is wonderful, the building outside is fantastic and nice staircase. The room was large and pleasant with an entry hall and a bathroom. No view what so ever, to a dead wall with some metal mesh nets featuring a dead pigeon.
The hotel has 2 lifts, one of which was very slow and the other one was broken for the whole duration of my stay (3 days). Gym seemed brand new, but tiny sterile room without any views, so did not steer any desire to use it. I really looking forward to using hotel's new spa, but it turn out as a hotel guest you cannot use it without first paying for a treatment. This I found really disappointing and first time in a hotel!
Breakfast area was an old fashion and breakfast not really worth a 4-star.
Overall impression, rather old-fashion and somewhat rundown hotel. Such a shame, as it has such a great potential!

Room Tip: Of course a sea-side room would be the best if you can get it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank augusta_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
350 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Splendid hotel with excellent restaurant. Very friendly and warm staff. Refurbished rooms, clean and bright. Busy bar with piano music better later when the crowds have gone but still poorly arranged seating. Top class restaurant serving Michelin Star quality food. Limited well priced wine list. Very attentive and polite staff. Breakfast is not the best, only negative point really. Would recommend going to a butcher for the sausages. Very enjoyable stay, will certainly use again.

Room Tip: Enjoy a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chivesdiners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Well located seafront hotel. Very warm welcome and helpful front of house. Our room had been recently refurbished to the extent that the safe had yet to be installed, however this was attended to within 10 mins. Very busy bar, as focal meeting place for functions and dinner. Dinner in GB1 is really excellent. Billed as a fish brasserie the menu covers all tastes. Specials on the day well worth exploring, really yummy. Good wine list and very attentive staff. Piano or equivalent music in the bar very pleasing and by mid evening the bar returns to an oasis of calm. Seating is not well thought through and struggles with demand. Service again excellent. Breakfast not as good as the Metropole next door and the sausages a bit of a let down. No hash browns, how strange and the fried eggs were not good either. Only part that was disappointing during our stay really, however as we visit often to Brighton, I will certainly come to the Grand as a first choice.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view room. The hotel is a little too old for air-con so the sea air will do you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felicity P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.8 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
1,165 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#17 of 44 in Brighton
2,109 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.6 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 44 in Brighton
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Brighton

Property: The Grand Brighton
Address: 97-99 King's Road, Brighton BN1 2FW, England (Formerly The De Vere Grand Brighton)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Brighton
#3 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#4 Business Hotel in Brighton
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a truly remarkable hotel. An iconic Victorian building, it stands centre stage on the vibrant Brighton seafront and is a local landmark. Magnificent, imposing and the epitome of luxury. This is The Grand, Brighton. Following a recent extensive refurbishment, The Grand experience is one you will never forget. It's in the splendour of the 123 step sweeping staircase, the exquisite textures in the bedrooms, the delectable cuisine in GB1 restaurant and the sumptuous surroundings of The Spa at The Grand. It's in the stunning seaviews and the warmth with which you are welcomed. It's in its innate sense of style. The magnificent Grand is a popular location for films and television shows. Coronation Street, Eastenders and Only Fools and Horses have all shot episodes in the hotel. For the complete Brighton experience, it has to be The Grand, Brighton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The De Vere Grand Brighton Hotel Brighton
De Vere Grand Brighton
De Vere Grand Hotel Brighton
Brighton Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing