We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good renovation of fabulous old building”
Review of The Grand Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Grand Brighton
Ranked #10 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 December 2013

The last time I stayed at this hotel it was old and tired with terrible service and below average food.
What a transformation by de vere.
The renovation is sympathetic and classy. The general areas of the hotel are restored to their splendour. Our room was on the small side but it was a standard room. It was renovated to a high standard with a nice bathroom, very comfortable bed and pillows etc..
We had an evening meal with was very good and good value. Breakfast was excellent.
To complete the transformation the service was good , staff were attentive and the check in and out was smooth and quick. Did not use spa so cannot comment on the quality.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doglock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (8,096)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6,463 - 6,469 of 8,096 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2013

We enjoyed our third stay at the Grand last night and since the upgrading of the rooms the whole experience is far superior. Our room was a Standard Sea View Double and it was excellent - full sea view, refurbished comfortable room, huge bed, new furnishings and fittings, all first class. We asked for a quiet room and got one on the 6th floor.

Breakfast also improved as more tables available and a second buffet to take the strain off the main buffet area, we found the breakfast offerings top quality (fresh orange juice, nice bacon and sausages, patisserie good quality, yoghurts and compotes very nice).

The position of the hotel is great on the seafront, and so close to the centre.

So no complaints at the Grand, staff universally friendly and helpful, will return when we next visit Brighton.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank White-family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

This Victorian hotel has retained it's period atmosphere, having been built in the mid 19th Century. It has received very sympathetic refurbishement, The location on the sea front is magnificent, but a sea view room is needed to get the best from a stay there. It's Victorian design is worth a visit, apart from the many things to do in Brighton, with the fantastic Royal Pavilion only 10-15 minutes walk away along the sea front.
The staff throughout were extremely attentive, friendly and helpful.
The GB1 Restaurant is excellent. Big Hotel restaurants are often mediocre, but not this one ! We decided to eat in the restaurant on our first night, and to find a local restaurant in the City for our second night, but the food quality and presentation was so good, we ate in again on our second night. The Restaurant is principally seafood, but there are meat dishes to choose from , so we ate fish on one evening and meat on the other. All excellent.
The main negative for the hotel, is that in spite of double glazing, there is road noise from the traffic outside, for those rooms facing the sea

Room Tip: Book a sea-view room, in spite of the road noise. The double glazing keeps the noise down to a reaso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raypcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We stayed at the Grand for a "Christmas Do" dinner, drinks and accommodation for one night followed by breakfast the next morning.
Everything was superb - our room 116 stunning ,fab view huge bed lovely shower and bathroom all clean fresh and welcoming.
The meal was very good and the service impeccable ! Followed by a splendid breakfast the following morning where we all commented on the army of staff who must have worked so hard to prepare the room over night from the previous nights fun. Well done what a transformation !
A great night in a great hotel many thanks to Kimberly for all her help arranging the event it was all perfect.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathyscrystals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Good service, good food and convenient for shops attractions.
Staff friendly. Food was to a high standard and reasonably priced.
Seemed strange to have to ask for carpet slippers from housekeeping.
The decor is traditional and looked to be in a high state of repair. Secure parking is handy as parking can be a nightmare in Brighton.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

I was looking forward to staying in this hotel, but it was a disappointing stay. The location is wonderful, the building outside is fantastic and nice staircase. The room was large and pleasant with an entry hall and a bathroom. No view what so ever, to a dead wall with some metal mesh nets featuring a dead pigeon.
The hotel has 2 lifts, one of which was very slow and the other one was broken for the whole duration of my stay (3 days). Gym seemed brand new, but tiny sterile room without any views, so did not steer any desire to use it. I really looking forward to using hotel's new spa, but it turn out as a hotel guest you cannot use it without first paying for a treatment. This I found really disappointing and first time in a hotel!
Breakfast area was an old fashion and breakfast not really worth a 4-star.
Overall impression, rather old-fashion and somewhat rundown hotel. Such a shame, as it has such a great potential!

Room Tip: Of course a sea-side room would be the best if you can get it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank augusta_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Splendid hotel with excellent restaurant. Very friendly and warm staff. Refurbished rooms, clean and bright. Busy bar with piano music better later when the crowds have gone but still poorly arranged seating. Top class restaurant serving Michelin Star quality food. Limited well priced wine list. Very attentive and polite staff. Breakfast is not the best, only negative point really. Would recommend going to a butcher for the sausages. Very enjoyable stay, will certainly use again.

Room Tip: Enjoy a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chivesdiners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.8 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,236 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.3 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#18 of 43 in Brighton
2,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#11 of 43 in Brighton
1,404 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 43 in Brighton
2,360 reviews
2.1 mi away
Malmaison Brighton
Malmaison Brighton
#14 of 43 in Brighton
1,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Brighton

Address: 97-99 King's Road, Brighton BN1 2FW, England (Formerly The De Vere Grand Brighton)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Brighton
#4 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#4 Business Hotel in Brighton
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: £98 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a truly remarkable hotel. An iconic Victorian building, it stands centre stage on the vibrant Brighton seafront and is a local landmark. Magnificent, imposing and the epitome of luxury. This is The Grand, Brighton. Following a recent extensive refurbishment, The Grand experience is one you will never forget. It's in the splendour of the 123 step sweeping staircase, the exquisite textures in the bedrooms, the delectable cuisine in GB1 restaurant and the sumptuous surroundings of The Spa at The Grand. It's in the stunning seaviews and the warmth with which you are welcomed. It's in its innate sense of style. The magnificent Grand is a popular location for films and television shows. Coronation Street, Eastenders and Only Fools and Horses have all shot episodes in the hotel. For the complete Brighton experience, it has to be The Grand, Brighton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The De Vere Grand Brighton Hotel Brighton
De Vere Grand Brighton
De Vere Grand Hotel Brighton
Brighton Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing