We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GH1 restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grand Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Grand Brighton
Ranked #9 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
brighton Uk
Level Contributor
175 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“GH1 restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

This new restaurant in the Grand is a smart classy addition to the Brighton Restaurant scene.
After two visits for lunch on their incredible 'special' menu, I continue to be impressed by the presentation ,the quality and the welcome. A slight problem, noticed by a fussy friend is that the service staff seemed untrained and slow at the bill time.
But overall a great lunch experience and fantastic value . Choose to sit in the conservatory for lunch or at the bar in the evening for a glass of champagne and oysters.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sidonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,656 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,098
    1,884
    996
    457
    221
See reviews for
1,143
3,506
177
689
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,103)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redcar
Level Contributor
131 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

It's a while since I last used a hotel of this quality and stature and I had forgotten how good the experience could be. From the moment I walked through the door the quality of both the hotel and even more importantly the staff was outstanding.
The welcome was friendly and helpful nothing was too much trouble, the highest standards of professionalism. As I was on business the room was classed as a standard double but it was a good size with a large bathroom and immaculately clean. Nicely furnished with a very comfortable arm chair and a large comfy bed, new flat screen TV and a remote that worked!.
Drinks in the bar are eye wateringly expensive (for a Northerner!) however the ambience, comfortable seating areas and friendly attentive staff make it a pleasant experience.
Super breakfast with extensive choice of hot and cold dishes. Couldn't find fault and whoever the Manager is he or she should be congratulated your staff do you and your establishment credit.He only downside is the cost of parking however I suppose when the Grand was first built you would arrive in a carriage or chaufeur driven car but be warned parking is pricey.

Room Tip: My room 206 was a standard double with a view of a brick wall however as I was on business and only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

A classy hotel which has become affordable by offering special deals Lovely beds with new matresses and crisp cotton bed linen; Amazing English or continental breakfast with good service in the 'Champagne and Oyster Bar'; Spa treatments good though Spa area lacks atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivienne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pluckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

We attended a spa day on a Travel Zoo deal for my daughter's 16th birthday, together with my older daughter. The spa is newly opened and is absolutely beautifully finished. The therapists were friendly and professional and my massage and foot treatment were excellent, and the pedicures and manicure that I added to the original deal were very good value. The relaxation room was very peaceful, with lots of beds and loungers and soft cushions. Only slight gripe was that lunch was a little chaotic, and we ended up waiting some time, but when the food arrived, it was very good, and the staff were very apologetic for the delay. A few minor teething problems, but overall a lovely spa and will be even better when the pool is reinstated.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HolidayHounds44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

My husband and I have just stayed a night at the Grand whilst attending my husband's company Christmas party. We used the valet parking which was extremely efficient on arrival and departure. The reception staff were outstanding and made us feel very welcome. We had a standard double room which was clean and comfortable with a large luxury bed. We were located towards the back of the hotel so didn't have a view but it was very quiet enabling us to sleep really well.

Breakfast was excellent, everything you could possibly want. We were lucky to be seated with a view of the sea.


Without exception all the staff were excellent and made us feel like valued customers. We hope to visit again soon and not leave until the next Christmas party.

Room Tip: If you are staying for more than one night, you may want to pay a bit extra for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sharoneballam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

Booked last minute and got last remaining room. Staff were very welcoming and nothing too much trouble. Room service good. View from the room over looked the sea. Located next to the Brighton Centre which is great if going to a concert there (as we were). Bar has a nice atmosphere and was very busy. Great location if planning to shop in Brighton centre / the lanes. Rooms are a good size and you wouldn't need to book a suite, bathroom a good size with a lovely powerful shower. Would def stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snoopyandfrenchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

The last time I stayed at this hotel it was old and tired with terrible service and below average food.
What a transformation by de vere.
The renovation is sympathetic and classy. The general areas of the hotel are restored to their splendour. Our room was on the small side but it was a standard room. It was renovated to a high standard with a nice bathroom, very comfortable bed and pillows etc..
We had an evening meal with was very good and good value. Breakfast was excellent.
To complete the transformation the service was good , staff were attentive and the check in and out was smooth and quick. Did not use spa so cannot comment on the quality.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank doglock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,340 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.8 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#15 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,993 reviews
0.7 mi away
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Drakes Hotel Brighton
#4 of 44 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Brighton Metropole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Brighton

Property: The Grand Brighton
Address: 97-99 King's Road, Brighton BN1 2FW, England (Formerly The De Vere Grand Brighton)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#3 Family Hotel in Brighton
#4 Business Hotel in Brighton
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a truly remarkable hotel. An iconic Victorian building, it stands centre stage on the vibrant Brighton seafront and is a local landmark. Magnificent, imposing and the epitome of luxury. This is The Grand, Brighton. Following a recent extensive refurbishment, The Grand experience is one you will never forget. It's in the splendour of the 123 step sweeping staircase, the exquisite textures in the bedrooms, the delectable cuisine in GB1 restaurant and the sumptuous surroundings of The Spa at The Grand. It's in the stunning seaviews and the warmth with which you are welcomed. It's in its innate sense of style. The magnificent Grand is a popular location for films and television shows. Coronation Street, Eastenders and Only Fools and Horses have all shot episodes in the hotel. For the complete Brighton experience, it has to be The Grand, Brighton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Grand Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The De Vere Grand Brighton Hotel Brighton
De Vere Grand Brighton
De Vere Grand Hotel Brighton
Brighton Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing