We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, really go above and beyond. Refurbed rooms are lovely too!”
Review of The Grand Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grand Brighton
Ranked #10 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great service, really go above and beyond. Refurbed rooms are lovely too!”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

I stayed here the night before my wedding in April, and I can't praise this hotel enough. The newly refurbed room was stunning, still keeping the "seaside theme" but with lovely muted greys and pinks in the colour scheme, really comfy beds and gorgeous view over to the Palace and West pier.

We had dinner in the bar downstairs as the weather was terrible, and the food was great, nice gastro pub style burgers and fish and chips, with great service.

The hotel threw in a few little extras as it was my wedding the next day, and the room service breakfast was lush! The hotel even were kind enough to post back my dress which I accidentally left in the room.

Special thanks to Alice one of the managers, who is really friendly and made sure our stay was extra special! You definitely get what you pay for and this hotel is beautiful. I didn't get to try the spa but will be back! And have since for afternoon tea which I would also recommend!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank auditmunki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,383
    2,029
    1,049
    484
    229
See reviews for
1,235
3,792
195
742
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,134)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Grand recently and enjoyed it immensely. It has a lovely ambience and the position makes it an ideal hotel for a weekend break. The staff were helpful and knowledgeable and the food was excellent.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SJS1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Booked a table for a breakfast meeting and I won't be repeating the experience again any time soon.
A very limited choice of cooked breakfast items, lukewarm coffee,cold bacon and unattentive staff made this an occassion best forgotten.
Very disappointing to say the least.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2housty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brighton Uk
Level Contributor
174 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

This new restaurant in the Grand is a smart classy addition to the Brighton Restaurant scene.
After two visits for lunch on their incredible 'special' menu, I continue to be impressed by the presentation ,the quality and the welcome. A slight problem, noticed by a fussy friend is that the service staff seemed untrained and slow at the bill time.
But overall a great lunch experience and fantastic value . Choose to sit in the conservatory for lunch or at the bar in the evening for a glass of champagne and oysters.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sidonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redcar
Level Contributor
139 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

It's a while since I last used a hotel of this quality and stature and I had forgotten how good the experience could be. From the moment I walked through the door the quality of both the hotel and even more importantly the staff was outstanding.
The welcome was friendly and helpful nothing was too much trouble, the highest standards of professionalism. As I was on business the room was classed as a standard double but it was a good size with a large bathroom and immaculately clean. Nicely furnished with a very comfortable arm chair and a large comfy bed, new flat screen TV and a remote that worked!.
Drinks in the bar are eye wateringly expensive (for a Northerner!) however the ambience, comfortable seating areas and friendly attentive staff make it a pleasant experience.
Super breakfast with extensive choice of hot and cold dishes. Couldn't find fault and whoever the Manager is he or she should be congratulated your staff do you and your establishment credit.He only downside is the cost of parking however I suppose when the Grand was first built you would arrive in a carriage or chaufeur driven car but be warned parking is pricey.

Room Tip: My room 206 was a standard double with a view of a brick wall however as I was on business and only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 December 2013

A classy hotel which has become affordable by offering special deals Lovely beds with new matresses and crisp cotton bed linen; Amazing English or continental breakfast with good service in the 'Champagne and Oyster Bar'; Spa treatments good though Spa area lacks atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivienne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pluckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We attended a spa day on a Travel Zoo deal for my daughter's 16th birthday, together with my older daughter. The spa is newly opened and is absolutely beautifully finished. The therapists were friendly and professional and my massage and foot treatment were excellent, and the pedicures and manicure that I added to the original deal were very good value. The relaxation room was very peaceful, with lots of beds and loungers and soft cushions. Only slight gripe was that lunch was a little chaotic, and we ended up waiting some time, but when the food arrived, it was very good, and the staff were very apologetic for the delay. A few minor teething problems, but overall a lovely spa and will be even better when the pool is reinstated.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HolidayHounds44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.8 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
1,144 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
2,075 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Brighton Metropole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Brighton

Property: The Grand Brighton
Address: 97-99 King's Road, Brighton BN1 2FW, England (Formerly The De Vere Grand Brighton)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Brighton
#4 Business Hotel in Brighton
#4 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a truly remarkable hotel. An iconic Victorian building, it stands centre stage on the vibrant Brighton seafront and is a local landmark. Magnificent, imposing and the epitome of luxury. This is The Grand, Brighton. Following a recent extensive refurbishment, The Grand experience is one you will never forget. It's in the splendour of the 123 step sweeping staircase, the exquisite textures in the bedrooms, the delectable cuisine in GB1 restaurant and the sumptuous surroundings of The Spa at The Grand. It's in the stunning seaviews and the warmth with which you are welcomed. It's in its innate sense of style. The magnificent Grand is a popular location for films and television shows. Coronation Street, Eastenders and Only Fools and Horses have all shot episodes in the hotel. For the complete Brighton experience, it has to be The Grand, Brighton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Grand Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The De Vere Grand Brighton Hotel Brighton
De Vere Grand Brighton
De Vere Grand Hotel Brighton
Brighton Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing