We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of The Grand Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grand Brighton
Ranked #10 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Stayed here for work conference. Bedrooms varied a lot in size and decor. I was happy with my room, nice size and large clean bathroom. Facilities in hotel were clean and presentable. Location of hotel was good for me, close to night life if you wanted it.

Only down side - my bedroom was too hot through the night, I didnt sleep very well at all, Opened window which unfortunately had no draft as overlooked a tiny courtyard area.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HunnyBunny2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,384
    2,029
    1,049
    484
    229
See reviews for
1,235
3,792
195
742
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,134)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We visited The Grand in 2013 to celebrate 10 years married. We took my two sons and so booked a large room. A suite is top end pricewise but with a sea view and private balcony, the rooms are good value. Right on the seafront and a five minute stroll from Palace Pier or the famous Lanes so great location. Staff are first rate.
Do Brighton in old skool style - go to The Grand.

Room Tip: Ensure you have a room with a seaview - worth the extra to watch the sun go down sitting on your bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Stayed 2 nights at the Grand as a 40th birthday treat, have wanted to stay there for ages as we often visit Brighton for the day from London. We have stayed at many hotels in Brighton over the years including several on the sea front such as the Thistle.

We had booked a sea view double and were given am excellent room, our balcony had the famous 'Grand' sign on it! rather than waffle here are my good and bad points:

good:
- great atmosphere in the bar (really great bar tender, who has a twin who works at the thistle). we really enjoyed spending time in the bar/lounge area with a cocktail or a late night glass of wine, excellent complementary snacks keep you thirsty!.
- GB1, very nice experience of dinner at GB1, good food and excellent service
- the room and decor, excellent really felt spoilt!
- the hotel and its decor = magnificent as expected from such a famous building. god only knows what the maintenance must cost to keep it at this standard
- service, i had an issue at breakfast and it was dealt with very well. so i wont mention it ;)

bad:
- road noise. unfortunately you cant have plastic triple glazed windows in a classic listed building and there is a major road just outside. not much to be done about it really. in future i would request a higher floor room as it probably helps
- breakfast buffet. poor choice and cramped, not a patch on an american style breakfast buffet. was disappointed and next time will not bother with breakfast here as loads of choice in brighton if you want it
- no fridge in room. its a bit annoying that you cant keep chilled water etc. wouldnt cost much to do
-no air con. classic listed building so no air con. it didnt really bother us because it was November!

so all in all a great time was had and we will definitely be staying again. I really hope when De Vere sell the Grand that the great atmosphere doesnt change!

Room Tip: Higher rooms will have less room noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ukrhinos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teignmouth
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at the Grand Hotel for 2 nights. From the moment we checked in (concierge parking) the staff were friendly and helpful at all times. We really enjoyed the hotel and thought the restaurant GB1 was absolutely superb. We had dinner in the restaurant on both evenings and we also entertained some family members for lunch on one of the days. All the meals that we had were really wonderful with fresh produce and great service. We chose a room with a sea view. The bed was divine - super comfy.

Room Tip: Definitely worth getting a room with a view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank issyTeignmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichester
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

I was a day guest at a recent 3 day conference, so i can't really comment on the guest accommodation. As a conference venue though i must say I was impressed by the level of equipment and the ease with which everything worked. It was a complex programme involving 200 delegates, 8 rooms and scenery shifts at irregular intervals. All of that worked well, as did the arrival of coffee, tea and lunch so in reality you can't ask for much more. That said the Grand does rather rest on its reputation as the place where Margaret Thatcher was nearly blown up. You will have your own view of whether this was a good or bad thing, but the fact is that the IRA took out about 1/3d of the building, so the facade got a good rebuild. It's a pity that the rest wasn't done at the same time.
The biggest let down was the food (as always for the price). We paid for a conference dinner that was at best indifferent. You can eat much better for much less in Brighton. You may argue that that's not the point of a conference dinner, but a rather dreary pork chop main course is not my idea of £££'s worth - not to mention the offence given to a sizeable minority of Jewish and Muslim delegates

Room Tip: Brighton is a lively city so don't expect the seas-facing rooms to be quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iainby4sChichester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

What a Christmas present, two nights bed and breakfast at this delightful, historic hotel! The weather had been dreadful in the lead up to our stay but we made it and it was very worth while. A very warm check in welcome, help with our luggage to our wonderful. sea view room and what a room! Enormous, warm, comfortable, everything one could ask for. We even ventured out onto the 'Juliet' balcony to watch the sea crashing onto the beach, very exhilarating. An excellent breakfast spread and cocktails in the bar in the evening as we were having our meals with family, an experience to remember.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view room, well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Stayed here for 3-day conference. Had amazing freshly renovated room with espresso maker, what more does a girl want. Very good breakfast, staff competent rather than amazingly welcoming, but this should not detract. Gym is tiny and very stuffy, so go for a run if you are into fitness like me. Close to all amenities, and you can walk down from train station, so very central. Bar is pricy, but plenty of good pubs nearby. The conference food etc was very good, and the staff, especially the technicians amazing in supporting our event - nothing was too much for them!

Room Tip: you need a sea view room to make the most of it - some don't even have windows?
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Almuth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.8 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
1,144 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
2,076 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Brighton Metropole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Brighton

Property: The Grand Brighton
Address: 97-99 King's Road, Brighton BN1 2FW, England (Formerly The De Vere Grand Brighton)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Brighton
#4 Business Hotel in Brighton
#4 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a truly remarkable hotel. An iconic Victorian building, it stands centre stage on the vibrant Brighton seafront and is a local landmark. Magnificent, imposing and the epitome of luxury. This is The Grand, Brighton. Following a recent extensive refurbishment, The Grand experience is one you will never forget. It's in the splendour of the 123 step sweeping staircase, the exquisite textures in the bedrooms, the delectable cuisine in GB1 restaurant and the sumptuous surroundings of The Spa at The Grand. It's in the stunning seaviews and the warmth with which you are welcomed. It's in its innate sense of style. The magnificent Grand is a popular location for films and television shows. Coronation Street, Eastenders and Only Fools and Horses have all shot episodes in the hotel. For the complete Brighton experience, it has to be The Grand, Brighton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Grand Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The De Vere Grand Brighton Hotel Brighton
De Vere Grand Brighton
De Vere Grand Hotel Brighton
Brighton Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing