We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only thing Grand was the price”
Review of The Grand Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grand Brighton
Ranked #9 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Only thing Grand was the price”
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

I've stayed at the Grand about 15 times in the last 10 years and have seen it change hands and now finally be rooms have been refitted, but I feel it's been refitted on what feels like a very tight budget with most items being MDF construction. Don't get me wrong the view was stunning and the room was very clean and tidy but I don't think the service, facilities, and exterior provide great value for money for the rate I was paying in excess of £200, in the low season. If I was a visiting tourist looking for something Grand I would have been very disappointed thankfully I was only visiting for business.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank ACETT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,033 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,308
    1,989
    1,031
    477
    228
See reviews for
1,208
3,720
188
725
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,127)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We spent Christmas 2013 in tis hotel and I have to say we had a superb time.
The food was outstanding.
The wine flowed freely and I mean “freely” at lunches and dinners. This was unexpectedly included in the Christmas package. Also unexpected was the free car parking at the hotel and we were refunded the cost to park in the National car park at the rear of the hotel.
The bed was probably the most comfortable we have slept in away from home.
The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful.
We only had one matter to cause some dissatisfaction but this was dealt with in a manner which more than compensated us and this must be credited to the efficient management demonstrated by Andi Hirons the Deputy General Manager.
As it says on Andi Hirons’ business card
REFRESHINGLY UNIQUE
My thanks to all the staff who made this break singularly on e the best if not the best Christmas ever in a hotel
Bearod

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brigid G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

We loved our night's stay at The Grand. We arrived to a pianist playing in the lobby, which has the hugest chandelier I've ever seen! Our 6th floor room was spotless throughout and had a fantastic sea view from the balcony. Definitely well worth requesting a sea view near the top of the hotel. The bed was absolutely huge and very comfy! There was no fridge or mini bar, which we thought was unusual. After a meal out, the hotel bar was a relaxing venue for a nightcap. We had a lovely view of the promenade at breakfast the next day. What was on offer was fine but I've had better quality and more choice in many other 4 and 5 star establishments. This was really the only part of our stay that didn't wow us and we felt very well looked after throughout, by the brilliant hotel staff. We certainly wouldn't stay anywhere else in a Brighton!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank vanessa345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chester uk
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Was in Brighton on business and thought I would give this infamous hotel a try (infamous because of the IRA bombing of Margaret Thatcher in 1984). Great hotel with elegant furnishings and very pleasant bar…….perhaps a bit dark but there are sunrooms of the bar which have plenty of light. Room was large, very clean. Bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was huge. Great staff.....At £109 including breakfast it was a bargain, but that’s an off season price. The £26 to park your car for the night I expensive but that’s Brighton for you. I would strongly recommend this hotel, it’s excellent

Room Tip: only 5min walk from Brighton's "Lanes"
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michaelgould
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Stayed here for work conference. Bedrooms varied a lot in size and decor. I was happy with my room, nice size and large clean bathroom. Facilities in hotel were clean and presentable. Location of hotel was good for me, close to night life if you wanted it.

Only down side - my bedroom was too hot through the night, I didnt sleep very well at all, Opened window which unfortunately had no draft as overlooked a tiny courtyard area.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HunnyBunny2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We visited The Grand in 2013 to celebrate 10 years married. We took my two sons and so booked a large room. A suite is top end pricewise but with a sea view and private balcony, the rooms are good value. Right on the seafront and a five minute stroll from Palace Pier or the famous Lanes so great location. Staff are first rate.
Do Brighton in old skool style - go to The Grand.

Room Tip: Ensure you have a room with a seaview - worth the extra to watch the sun go down sitting on your bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Stayed 2 nights at the Grand as a 40th birthday treat, have wanted to stay there for ages as we often visit Brighton for the day from London. We have stayed at many hotels in Brighton over the years including several on the sea front such as the Thistle.

We had booked a sea view double and were given am excellent room, our balcony had the famous 'Grand' sign on it! rather than waffle here are my good and bad points:

good:
- great atmosphere in the bar (really great bar tender, who has a twin who works at the thistle). we really enjoyed spending time in the bar/lounge area with a cocktail or a late night glass of wine, excellent complementary snacks keep you thirsty!.
- GB1, very nice experience of dinner at GB1, good food and excellent service
- the room and decor, excellent really felt spoilt!
- the hotel and its decor = magnificent as expected from such a famous building. god only knows what the maintenance must cost to keep it at this standard
- service, i had an issue at breakfast and it was dealt with very well. so i wont mention it ;)

bad:
- road noise. unfortunately you cant have plastic triple glazed windows in a classic listed building and there is a major road just outside. not much to be done about it really. in future i would request a higher floor room as it probably helps
- breakfast buffet. poor choice and cramped, not a patch on an american style breakfast buffet. was disappointed and next time will not bother with breakfast here as loads of choice in brighton if you want it
- no fridge in room. its a bit annoying that you cant keep chilled water etc. wouldnt cost much to do
-no air con. classic listed building so no air con. it didnt really bother us because it was November!

so all in all a great time was had and we will definitely be staying again. I really hope when De Vere sell the Grand that the great atmosphere doesnt change!

Room Tip: Higher rooms will have less room noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ukrhinos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,459 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.8 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#16 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,047 reviews
0.7 mi away
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Drakes Hotel Brighton
#4 of 44 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Brighton

Property: The Grand Brighton
Address: 97-99 King's Road, Brighton BN1 2FW, England (Formerly The De Vere Grand Brighton)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Brighton
#3 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#4 Business Hotel in Brighton
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a truly remarkable hotel. An iconic Victorian building, it stands centre stage on the vibrant Brighton seafront and is a local landmark. Magnificent, imposing and the epitome of luxury. This is The Grand, Brighton. Following a recent extensive refurbishment, The Grand experience is one you will never forget. It's in the splendour of the 123 step sweeping staircase, the exquisite textures in the bedrooms, the delectable cuisine in GB1 restaurant and the sumptuous surroundings of The Spa at The Grand. It's in the stunning seaviews and the warmth with which you are welcomed. It's in its innate sense of style. The magnificent Grand is a popular location for films and television shows. Coronation Street, Eastenders and Only Fools and Horses have all shot episodes in the hotel. For the complete Brighton experience, it has to be The Grand, Brighton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The De Vere Grand Brighton Hotel Brighton
De Vere Grand Brighton
De Vere Grand Hotel Brighton
Brighton Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing